We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I take it all back”

Les Pres Gaillardou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$31
Cuisines: French, International, Healthy, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We, Carlyse and Olivier have been established in this quant restored stone farm house with its exposed beams and open fire place since 2014. In appropriate weather, you can enjoy your gourmet meal in our flowered landscaped garden terrace. Our philosophy is to use only local and fresh products selected with the upmost care in order to provide the best quality possible. Our cooking is inspired entirely by seasonal products of the moment. Carlyse the chief, self-educated concentrates on the essential, the taste and the products to share with you, a cooking of heart. Olivier, with an experience of 30 years and graduated of the Ferrandi school in Paris, will advise you on his selection of wines, mainly in organic or organic-dynamie. Looking forward to hosting you, Carlyse & Olivier
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I take it all back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I wrote a good review for this restaurant after we visited last September when we had a wonderful meal. I could not wait to go back but, unfortunately, the restaurant changed hands in January and tonight we had an appalling meal. I went for the same starter which had a very dry tart and burnt toast - what a mistake. For our main course my husband had a steak which was very poor quality with a lot of gristle and I had Magret de Canard which was overcooked and came with a pile of greasy and mostly undercooked sauté type potatoes. Desert, which I avoided, was a dry and overcooked Tarte aux Pommes. What a total let down, we will certainly not be visiting again. My stomach is still rebelling!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank noranokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    67
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mantes-la-Jolie, France
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just what I expected . Typically french. Good meals.foie gras is incredible! Try a bergerac red wine with beef rossini . A very good spot, no risk of disappointment !!!!! Go go

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Remy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great riverside cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

While we were waiting for our boat tour down the Dordogne River we decided to try this well-placed, riverside cafe with a covered outdoor terrace. The river is a great place to be on a hot summer's day. The restaurant provided a great view of the boats and we were pleasantly surprised to find that it had great service and very good food as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our salads, and, typical of salads in the area, they were huge and filled with great local cheeses and duck. The prices were reasonable for a high traffic, tourist area. Roque Gageac, itself, is a great town to walk in and make sure you drop in on the shops lining the riverside road, or traipse on up to the high points of this cliff-side town with views to be had. We found the shopkeepers to be extremely friendly. Between their bits of English and my bits of French, we conversed quite productively. By the way, the boat tour down the river toward Chateau Castelnaud was worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I would highly recommend this very pleasant restaurant. In fact, I cannot wait to go back again next year in the hope that they will still have the duo of foie gras on the menu. A delicious starter followed by an equally delicious main course and dessert. We took some friends there for dinner and they said it was one of the best meals they had ever eaten - can't say better than that. Roll on next April!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noranokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was one of the more delightful restaurants we found in the Sarlat/Domme area. Simple, country restaurant that really knows how to do it. Food was excellent. Ambience, service and price were hard to beat. Liked it so much we are going back for our last night in the Perigord. We had a pork dish and duo de canard as part of the gastronome prix fee. All the courses were beautifully presented. A real find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPB472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Pres Gaillardou also viewed

La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
 
Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
 

Been to Les Pres Gaillardou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing