We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel L'auberge des Platanes
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Perigord(La Roque-Gageac)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon(Vitrac)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance(Vitrac)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Chateau(Beynac-et-Cazenac)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel l'Esplanade(Domme)(Great Value!)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Belle Etoile(La Roque-Gageac)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Plume d'Oie(La Roque-Gageac)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Treille(Vitrac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
8
40
22
18
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
40
22
18
31
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Great location on the River, parking next to the bar and very inexpensive rooms. That said, when they saw our disappointment with the room they had selected for us, they offered to upgrade us for a reasonable price...the result was a very spacious room with a great balcony overlooking the river (see pic). The bar and restaurant downstairs were convenient and provided a comfortable place to relax, but with the balcony and a bottle of wine I didn't spend much time downstairs. We originally tried to book a room at the Hotel La Belle Etoile...unfortunately, they were full (this two months before we left the states). But we did manage to have one dinner there, and it was a wonderful experience..one of the best meals of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byoung3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is just a review of the restaurant. We stopped for lunch on a canoeing trip & liked the look of the terrace. We hadn't checked the menu though & after we'd sat down found that there wasn't much that appealed to any of us.

The waiters were friendly but the food was awful! The only completely dud meal we experienced on this trip.

We all picked salads apart from my son who had a steak with salardaise potatoes. The steak was fine but the potatoes were cooked in old oil & were soggy & unpleasant.

I had a Gesier salad & really didn't want to eat it when it arrived just from looking at it. The gesiers had been ladled onto the lettuce with a dollop of grease that had congealed underneath. The salad ingedients were all old & bruised. My daughter's smoked salmon salad smelled of fish & not in a nice way. My wife had a salad Nicoise which should have been a safe bet but was again poor with a mean portion of tuna & chewy watery rice.

Not cheap either - yet it was packed! I'd always understood that the French wouldn't put up with this sort of thing too.

Don't go here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank sidneycarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We arrived to find a friendly waiter immediately help us put our bicycles away - we were on a cycling holiday of the area. Our room was a little lacking - the light bulb in the toilet didn't work, the wall paper is peeling off the wall in places and the bed covers were old with ripped stitching, but it was clean. The first meal we had wasn't very pleasant - it was only a salad but it was 'watery' with poorly drained rice in a salad nicoise which shouldn't have rice. The next evening we did rather better with a set menu of 3 courses. I enjoyed the walnut cake but expect it was not made on site. The waitress each morning was very pleasant with a smile and always wanting to help.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southener57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I'm only reviewing the restaurant because we didn't stay at the hotel. We ate here every day when we stayed for a week in June, and thought it was fab. The food was great - we had quite a variety off the menu, eg the confit de canard, salad perigoud, delicious omlettes plus some of the yummy deserts (strawberry tart for example) and we enjoyed every mouthfull. It was a lovely place to eat too just overlooking the river, and the service was great. We had a very nice waiter who served us all week, and the staff (including monsieur le patron) were friendly and really welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank juliaread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This review is only for the restaurant.....DO NOT EAT HERE! Rude service; the food was literally not edible.....canned peas and carrots that were coated with a sugary sauce and meat that I could not chew and had to spit back out on my plate. No refund was given.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews