We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back - Fantastic or should that be fantastique!!!”
Review of Hotel Le Perigord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Perigord
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just got in the door from the trip home - Went and stayed there as a bike tour, 8 of us in total and none of us could fault this lovely location, plenty of parking, lovely clean fresh rooms, amazing food and friendly first class staff.

I've stayed in a variety of hotels but Hotel Le Perigord will stand out for me as a perfectly sited hotel, with enough space to feel like you aren't on top of other guests, but that you are valued by the staff also.
Someone on another review suggested the chef deserves his own recommendation - maybe so, but the entire culinary team truly sell the place, fantastic raw ingredients and the appropriate amount of time and care translate into perfect dishes.

I was truly sorry to leave, but I shall be back, and I'll be recommending this place to a number of friends also.

Room Tip: Balconies are at the front of the hotel and catch the evening sun - rooms at the rear have a wonderf...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Perigord
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We hesitated booking at Le Perigord due to its two star classification, but took a gamble as the facilities looked great on Tripadvisor and the location perfect to discover the beautiful Dordogne and delightful towns and castles of Domme, Le Roque Gageac and Sarlat. Our Swiss/French hosts Raphaella and Patrick were delightful, hosting us throughout our stay. We had a newly renovated room with a delightful balcony on the first floor, excellent bathroom and a wonderful firm bed. The only thing missing was a fridge, to be expected. We loved the restaurant, the food is excellent. I had duck, my partner lamb in filo pastry, wonderful desserts with a very enjoyable 2010 vin rouge Domaine lAncienne Cure e L'abbaye. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for the next two nights, but we did dine at Le Bistro de l'Octroi in Sarlat which we enjoyed immensely. We played pool and walked the gardens. There's tennis, a lovely pool and plenty of outside tables and chairs. Oh, I almost forgot to mention Raphaella's buffet breakfast is the best we have had in France! We wish them prosperous times ahead and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stumbled across this place by accident for a Saturday lunch and the food was excellent. The chef has his own original take on traditional local dishes, the portions were perfect (we often find them too big) and beautifully presented. Especially "les mythiques du Perigord" are well worth a try. It was very quiet though and we therefore suspect the restaurant of this hotel may suffer from a lack of attention from casual passerby's which is both a real pity and unjustified ...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank PJdeJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We chose La Roque-Gageac for a return trip to the Dordogne and we're thrilled to have selected Hotel Perigord. The owners were so helpful and friendly - always a smile and suggestion for another site or adventure. Nice patio for relaxing at; the pool is outstanding. And, the restraraunt is so good we ate each night - feasting on the "Market Basket" - a fixed price daily special. Beautifully prepared and enthusiastically served.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigerPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

June 2013.
Having passed this hotel 4 times per year whilst travelling back and forth to Spain, we were always saddened that this hotel was not in the right location for our overnight stops, as it always looks so wonderfully inviting. This year was an exception, we had travelled up from Agen with our daughter and son in law, and Hotel le Perigord was now perfect sited for our stay.
The grounds are vast and well kept, with the sun shining, the tables set outside the restaurant looked inviting for a leisurely drink outside.
We were greeted by the owner, a lovely warm friendly lady, who took great delight in welcoming us and offering us the choice of 4 rooms to select from. We were delighted with them all, but Madam, had to be sure we had correctly selected our two rooms,If only all hotel receptionists the world over, were so genuine and welcoming.
We enjoyed aperitif drinks outside in the garden with all the delightful smells from the abundant flowers, also admiring the swimming pool just adjacent. The dinner that evening was five courses and Madam also had no problem with our requesting a substitute for one course, The food was absolutely delicious, course by course. The Main was duck casserole, but unlike what I have tasted before, coming in an a serving dish for two people, with a lovely pie crust. It was absolutely delicious, were unable to fully appreciate the casserole due to the other excellent previous courses and had to decline the cheese course. All the staff serving us were extremely keen and helpful, as our French is extremely limited.
Try the Domme vin rouge, from atop the hill at the rear of the Hotel. It has little way to travel to the palate and was a remarkable find.!!
The bedroom and bathroom were of a modern theme, with extremely comfortable beds. The Hotel is situated off a quiet road and one of the best hotel,night's sleep was enjoyed, before sampling the continental breakfast. We would have loved to stay longer in this hotel and region as there is much to do and see.
We will most definitely be returning to this hotel, we will modify our route to Spain in order to do so.
Congratulations Madam !!! Also thank you Chef ,for the excellent meal.
A. Huxley. (sadly not the author)

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms would give an excellent nights sleep as there is no busy road for noisy traf...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at Le Perigord for 3 nights in mid May. We were in a family group of 7. The hotel its self is set in beautiful spacious grounds and offers a very inviting atmosphere. We found the owners very helpful and informative about local places to go ect. Once home i realised i had left half of my clothes hanging in the wardrobe!!! I emailed the hotel & told them my situation. they were fantastic....they posted all my clothes back to the Uk!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I tried to book a week's holiday for four people, but could not do so as they won't accept a deposit by credit-card, only by bank transfer - more or less impossible from the UK. I went somewhere else and this hotel lost four guests for five nights because of this policy.

J'ai essayer de réserver deux chambres pour quatre personnes en septembre 2013. Impossible parce que: « pour des raisons de sécurité nous (l'hôtel) n'acceptons que les virements bancaires »

On est allée ailleurs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Nordland37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roque-Gageac
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
1.6 mi away
Hotel L'auberge des Platanes
Hotel L'auberge des Platanes
#4 of 4 in La Roque-Gageac
117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel L'Oustal de Vezac
5.7 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Esplanade
Hotel l'Esplanade
#1 of 3 in Domme
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Perigord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Perigord

Address: Port de Domme | D 703, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Price Range: £80 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Perigord 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a park of 2 hectares, offering the comfort of a modern and convivial establishment, The Perigord offers 39 rooms equipped, with shower or bathroom, WC, bidet, television and direct dialling telephone. The restaurant awaits you for your meals from breakfast to the dinner, for a meal of festivals or a moment of relaxation between friends. The conference rooms propose to you an ideal environment for reflexion far from the concern of the everyday life. The banquets room offers a space to accommodate up to 200 guests and the place to dance until the early morning. A swimming pool and a tennis court supplement this equipment for your pleasure and the exercise. The reception holds all information necessary to your favourite activities, excursions, canoe kayak, ludic or cultural visit, discovered of an inheritance going back to prehistory. Easy of access, located on D703, a car park is at your disposal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Perigord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Perigord La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing