We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully situated along the Dordogne”
Review of La Plume d'Oie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Roque-Gageac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Plume d'Oie
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse
2 reviews
“Beautifully situated along the Dordogne”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

La Plume d'Oie is a wonderful place to stay. I have enjoyed this small hotel (just 4 or 5 rooms) many times over the years with my husband, family and friends from the U.S. and we have never been disappointed. Mark is a warm, knowledgable, discreet host, and amazing chef for your evening meals (by reservation) and breakfasts. Rooms are comfortable and views exquisite. Quiet, mysterious, walks through the little village at night are wonderful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. A great base station when visiting the area, centrally located yet away from the tourist traps.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USwoman-in-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After spending 3 nights in Paris and a few nights in Beynac, we kept waiting to have a dining experience that would speak to the French people's love of good food, but were sadly disappointed up until our night dining at this restaurant. The chef is a marvel and obviously loves what he does here, because it comes across in his food. The dining room is also just lovely, very elegant without being overly formal. The lady who seated us and waited on us was very pleasant and also spoke English, which helped us tremendously because we are Canadian. We were seated without a reservation a few nights ago, which was incredible given the quality of the dining experience. We both ordered the 3 course menu for 33 Euros, which was amazing value considering the quality of the food. The meal started with an amuse bouche of red pepper jelly with a shrimp mousse, I believe, that was delicious. We then had the most melt in your mouth mushroom/truffle lasagne, with the noodles so thin and delicate....oh my god, we both died and went to heaven! We followed that by the filet of beef for my fiancé and the cod with saffron for myself and both were outstanding. You could cut the beef with a fish knife, it was that tender! Dessert was a poached pear with homemade vanilla ice cream for my fiancé and chocolate mousse with the most amazing dark chocolate ice cream for myself. An outstanding meal from beginning to end and thank you to the patrons of this restaurant for giving us a taste of fine french dining at last! The cost for all of this was a reasonable 102 euros, that also included a half bottle of a lovely red Syrah. Well worth it and I would highly recommend this place for a special dinner out in the Dordogne region. It will be very hard to top that is for sure!

Room Tip: Ignore the sleep quality as I hit that button by accident. We only ate dinner at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our B&B owners (Balcon en Foret) booked us a reservation at one of their favorite one star Michelin restaurants called Le Plume d’Oie. It was the cutest little French country restaurant where the husband was the chef and the wife was the waitress (seemingly only waitress). Before our meal was served they brought out some mashed potato concoction with a shrimp on top and it was really good. I ordered shrimp and scallops and my husband ordered sole. We shared some chocolate on top of chocolate with chocolate ice cream that was highly recommended.
The meal was expensive but it was exactly how I had always imagined a dinner in France would be. The ambiance was fabulous and we really enjoyed our dinner there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento, ca
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The restaurant was recommended and has good reviews, but we found it lacking in a few important ways. We asked our server about wine recommendations. She wasn't knowledgeable at all though she did split the vin doux for us so we could both have a little with the fois gras. Presentation was another problem. The fois gras looked as if it had been plopped out of a can onto the plate. The garnish was minimal and unexciting. We ordered the pintade, it had to be for two, unexceptional and under-seasoned. My dessert, the poached pear, looked and tasted bland. My husband made a better choice. The ambiance is lovely, but there are other places on the river that in my opinion, serve better food. There weren't many customers. Is that a clue?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chatfemme7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Two brief descriptions: The best in French cuisine at an extremely slow pace. We were seated at 8:30 and walked out near midnight - but what happened in between was unparalled French five-course gastronomie. Each meal is individually prepared from scratch after ordering. The mushroom ravioli was tender; duck and lamb main dishes were outstanding; the pear dessert was sweet. Prices are not cheap but at least 50% less than one would find anywhere else the world. Just don't go if you are in a rush.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BruininEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

La Plume d'oie is beautifully situated right on the Dordogne River but best of all the food Mark prepares is beyond comparison. An accomodating host who prepares the most delicious food! Worth going out of your way for the food alone!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandJSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Like most other reviewers on this site, we found La Plume d'Oie to be an exquisite auberge.

We stayed in the Tichodrome and Martin-Pecheur rooms which have unencumbered views up and down the River Dordogne. The location is centre-town and perfect for touring the considerable number of "Plus Beaux Villes", chateaux and formal gardens in the local area. As a further outstanding feature, owner/chef Marc Walker offers cuisine at both dinner and breakfast that is imaginative, tasty and well-presented which, in our experience, is an unusual combination for many eating establishments in France.

Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roque-Gageac
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Perigord
Hotel Le Perigord
#2 of 4 in La Roque-Gageac
157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
2.2 mi away
Hotel l'Esplanade
Hotel l'Esplanade
#1 of 3 in Domme
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Relais des Cinq Chateaux
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Oustal de Vezac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Plume d'Oie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plume d'Oie

Property: La Plume d'Oie
Address: Main Street, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our charming inn , facing the Dordogne, in La Roque- Gageac , we welcome you all year for a night's rest , a stay of discovery or a lunch to dinner . The chef, Sebastian Bickel , realizes an original kitchen, modern, dynamic & only fresh produce. Discover the map on our website or our Facebook page. A meeting between our knowledge & your desires. Our motto : " A kitchen Men & their passionate desire to please " ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Plume D'Oie La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing