We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay”
Review of La Plume d'Oie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Plume d'Oie
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
CLE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An amazing stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2010

After being kicked out of our hotel down the street to make room for the owner's friends, we were thrilled to find this place. It was amazing. The owners were some of the most friendly we met on our trip. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the room was fairly large. The food was absolutely amazing. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimCle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2010

I had always promised myself that I would sample this chefs food and it came up to expectations, the best on the vacation. His wife died last year and he has the lovely Rebecca running the business and supporting him. The rooms are comfortable and clean with perfect views of the river running past the door. I will definately go back the next time I am in France

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We have stayed at La Plume once, and eaten there twice. The food is the real reason to go or stay there, as they acknowledge. The food was incredible, from the best duck we've ever had, to great opening dishes, to wonderful deserts and fresh homemade croissants. The room was simple with narrow windows but a great view of the Dordogne. Even if you don't stay there, be sure to dine there if you're anywhere in the region

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pynchonrimbaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

When we travel in Europe we carry a Michelin Red Guide and we look for the starred restaurants. We've dined at many of the world's greatest restaurants including El Bulli and Arzak in Spain, Troisgros and Michel Guerard in France, etc.

One of the very best meals we've ever enjoyed was at La Plume d Oie. This small restaurant is truly superb.

You might considerf the hostess to be a bit pushy. Get over it. She's just a perfectionist who wants you to have the best possible dining experience. Lean back and enjoy.

We've booked another trip to France this Fall. La Plume d Oie is at the top of our list.

Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank davesmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Mark & Hiddy gave us the best foodie experience we had in a gluttony of amazing food experiences across France including out-ranking two of Paris' best restaurants. This must become a key stop of every person looking for amazing dishes in SW France - and probably most of France. Big call but worthy of it. Even the breakfast blew us away with the truffled scrambled eggs served in a hollowed out egg shell to their bread and gorgeous fruit.
Mark was very helpful with our bikes in the hotel which was clean, comfortable and great views.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKGOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We had the great good pleasure of having a meal at this wonderful restaurant. We were charmed by our hostess, Hiddy, and Mark, the chef, served us one of the most fabulous meals you can imagine. From the amuse bouche of a pumpkin/chestnut soup to the most wonderful poached pear combination for dessert, the meal was a complete success.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BrentPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2008

My husband and I stayed at this small and charming auberge during a tour of the Dordogne region. La Roque-Gageac's beauty is well documented and deservedly so. A Green river with golden reflections explored by boat trip from the village produced a peaceful, contented feeling which was only enhanced by the comfortable room with pretty little balconette giving a view onto the lovely river.

But this is a restaurant with rooms rather than a hotel and to stay here and not dine would be a serious mistake. Gordon Ramsey eat your heart out! Marc Walker is the real deal. We are both vegetarians - in France most restauranteurs seem to view this as a personal insult! We gave a few days advance notice and Marc produced a fabulous meal for us. The apperitif was chilled white wine with a floral scent - elderflower cordial made in house was added - and it really hit the spot. Dinner was several courses of a delightful blend of flavours and textures - showing that vegetarian cuisine can be every bit as exciting in the hands of a master chef. All ingedients were fresh and perfectly cooked. The dishes were lovely to look at too. The best meal of the holiday was enjoyed here. The restaurant itself is very pretty with a lovely view onto the river. It is a comfortable and charming place to sit and we lingered over coffee.

We slept well in the comfortable and tastfully furnished simple room and the bill was very reasonable given the quality of the food we had enjoyed.

Marc and Hiddly Walker were friendly and we certainly look forward to staying there again when we return to the lovely Dordogne River.

  • Liked — Wonderful vegetarian haute cuisine
  • Disliked — parking for the car a short walk away
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ApartHotel-Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roque-Gageac
3.1 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Perigord
Hotel Le Perigord
#2 of 4 in La Roque-Gageac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel l'Esplanade
Hotel l'Esplanade
#1 of 3 in Domme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pontet
Hotel Pontet
#1 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
4.8 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Plume d'Oie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plume d'Oie

Property: La Plume d'Oie
Address: Main Street, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our charming inn , facing the Dordogne, in La Roque- Gageac , we welcome you all year for a night's rest , a stay of discovery or a lunch to dinner . The chef, Sebastian Bickel , realizes an original kitchen, modern, dynamic & only fresh produce. Discover the map on our website or our Facebook page. A meeting between our knowledge & your desires. Our motto : " A kitchen Men & their passionate desire to please " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Plume d'Oie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plume D'Oie La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing