We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great table in a wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Plume d'Oie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Plume d'Oie
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
france
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great table in a wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

I've been through the Dordogne twice before and love it. Our latest trip brought us to the lovely town of Roque Gageac. We had the good fortune to stay 2 nights in La Plume D'oie. Nice rooms, moderately priced, helpful staff (english spoken was a plus for us) and the food was extraordinary. In fact, we ate at the restaurant both nights, which was not the original plan. I think we both recommend highly :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank textibule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Excellent town, excellent location. I found it from a referral from another hotel. The first hotel “La Belle E’Toile” was closed because of issues with the cliff behind the hotel. Very nice staff. Chef is a British ex-pat if you need a dose of english. Large enough room and bathroom. A bit odd of a configuration in the bath, but sitting in a comfortable wicker chair looking out the open balcony door at the Dordogne river more than made up for it. No air conditioning needed with a fan and the cool night air from the river. The town can be busy with day trippers but becomes really lovely with just the locals after about 5:00pm. I found several great places to eat. The restaurant one door "downstream" from the hotel is off the charts AWESOME.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay_In_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

After being kicked out of our hotel down the street to make room for the owner's friends, we were thrilled to find this place. It was amazing. The owners were some of the most friendly we met on our trip. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the room was fairly large. The food was absolutely amazing. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swimCle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

I had always promised myself that I would sample this chefs food and it came up to expectations, the best on the vacation. His wife died last year and he has the lovely Rebecca running the business and supporting him. The rooms are comfortable and clean with perfect views of the river running past the door. I will definately go back the next time I am in France

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

We have stayed at La Plume once, and eaten there twice. The food is the real reason to go or stay there, as they acknowledge. The food was incredible, from the best duck we've ever had, to great opening dishes, to wonderful deserts and fresh homemade croissants. The room was simple with narrow windows but a great view of the Dordogne. Even if you don't stay there, be sure to dine there if you're anywhere in the region

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pynchonrimbaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

When we travel in Europe we carry a Michelin Red Guide and we look for the starred restaurants. We've dined at many of the world's greatest restaurants including El Bulli and Arzak in Spain, Troisgros and Michel Guerard in France, etc.

One of the very best meals we've ever enjoyed was at La Plume d Oie. This small restaurant is truly superb.

You might considerf the hostess to be a bit pushy. Get over it. She's just a perfectionist who wants you to have the best possible dining experience. Lean back and enjoy.

We've booked another trip to France this Fall. La Plume d Oie is at the top of our list.

Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank davesmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

Mark & Hiddy gave us the best foodie experience we had in a gluttony of amazing food experiences across France including out-ranking two of Paris' best restaurants. This must become a key stop of every person looking for amazing dishes in SW France - and probably most of France. Big call but worthy of it. Even the breakfast blew us away with the truffled scrambled eggs served in a hollowed out egg shell to their bread and gorgeous fruit.
Mark was very helpful with our bikes in the hotel which was clean, comfortable and great views.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKGOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roque-Gageac
3.1 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel l'Esplanade
Hotel l'Esplanade
#1 of 3 in Domme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pontet
Hotel Pontet
#1 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Perigord
Hotel Le Perigord
#2 of 4 in La Roque-Gageac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Plume d'Oie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plume d'Oie

Property: La Plume d'Oie
Address: Main Street, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our charming inn , facing the Dordogne, in La Roque- Gageac , we welcome you all year for a night's rest , a stay of discovery or a lunch to dinner . The chef, Sebastian Bickel , realizes an original kitchen, modern, dynamic & only fresh produce. Discover the map on our website or our Facebook page. A meeting between our knowledge & your desires. Our motto : " A kitchen Men & their passionate desire to please " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Plume d'Oie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plume D'Oie La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing