We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality restaurant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Roque-Gageac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Belle Etoile
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We were recommended this restaurant and it didn't disappoint. Located on a main road in a picturesque village this 2star family owned hotel and restaurant is well worth a visit. The dining room is quite stunning and window tables overlook the Dordogne river. Food was well presented and of excellent quality, served by attentive and friendly waiting staff. There is a good varied menu which includes the regional traditional dish of foie gras (goose liver) available virtually everywhere in the Dordogne. Can definitely recommend for a special evening with great food in a tastefully elegant decor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed three days in {2003} and ate there in {2006}, .
The food is a master work, staff are superb,views from the terrace in the morning and at night makes ya want to win huge money and buy it.
100% the business.

Room Tip: Just do not miss it if you are within 100KM
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The restaurant of this lovely hotel overlooking the Dordogne River has a great menu specializing in liver pate dishes specific to the region. The owner is the chef, who greets guests passing by the kitchen with a friendly 'bonjour'. We arrived late in the evening shortly before the dining room was to close, but they happily seated us for a delicious meal. La Roque Gageac and the beautiful surrounding villages have a unique history and Belle Etoile is a great location from which to explore. The receptionist was genuinely helpful and friendly, to the point that she hugged and kissed us in the traditional French manner when we checked out!
We would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit the Dordogne region.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This hotel has everything going for it - it's in the center of the cute little town of la roque gagneac, perfect starting point to explore the region, the food is amazing, although a little pricey, and the rooms are comfortable and have great views. Bathtub is deep and great for a nice long soak (especially after being on a bike all day!) the breakfast was pretty disappointing for me as I have celiac disease and can't eat any sort of bread. Breakfast was breads, croissants and jams.

Great things to do nearby, I just wish I'd had more time here!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank BostonBiker365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Our room was clean and cute with a great window overlooking the river. While a bit pricey, the restaurant serves a delicious meal, and I would recommend it for a splurge if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: I liked my river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johannam_collier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Spent two nights in Hotel La Belle Etoile in early June 2012. Area is remarkably beautiful. We stayed in a suite overlooking the river so we were very satisfied with the room. The restaurant has genuinely excellent cooking. It is at a far higher level than anywhere within miles. All staff we encountered were genuinely helpful and polite. Many were local which is amazing considering the tiny size of the area. We have no criticism of this hotel--excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quick--Jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The area is beautiful, the hotel staff are friendly and the hotel lobby and restaurant looked nice but our room stunk! Literally. At the time of booking we had two choices - a city view room or a river view room. The river view room was 20 euros more per night and since we don't tend to spend much time in our room except to sleep at night, we thought we'd opt for the less expensive room. This was a big mistake.

Our city view room was the furthest room from the lobby and so not only did we need to take all our stuff through the entire hotel, we also had to hike it up a huge staircase to get to our room. The room was nicely decorated but it smelled. It smelled old and very musty. Also, the bathtub had a shower attachment on it but no shower curtain so water flew all over the entire bathroom when you tried to shower. Also, the water did not get hot. At best, the water was room temperature coming out of the taps no matter how much you turned the hot water on.

Seeing all the good reviews on trip advisor of this place makes me think that the river view rooms must be nicer and likely don't smell. I guess just as long as you don't get a city view room you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Don't cheap out and get the city view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leannemoore78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roque-Gageac
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'auberge des Platanes
Hotel L'auberge des Platanes
#4 of 4 in La Roque-Gageac
118 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Perigord
Hotel Le Perigord
#2 of 4 in La Roque-Gageac
174 reviews
4.8 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
272 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Belle Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Belle Etoile

Address: le Bourg, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Belle Etoile 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
La Belle Etoile Hotel
Hotel La Belle Etoile La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing