We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply gorgeous! Location, house, owners, really...”
other travellers have booked this property
Le Coin Tranquille
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Coin Tranquille
Le Coin Tranquille Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Le Coin Tranquille
Le Coin Tranquille
Kitchen
'Bon Appetite'
'Chilled Out'
'Ring and Relax'
'WoW' what a view!
Terrace
'Live and Dine'
'Live and Dine'
'zzzzzzzzz'
'zzzzzzzz'
'zzzzzzz'
Twin Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
En Suite
En Suite
'River Views'
Views Behind Le Coin Tranquille
La Roque Gageac
'Tranquille'
Garden Terrace
Le Coin Tranquille
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
claire s
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply gorgeous! Location, house, owners, really perfect for a group of 6.”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

La Coin Tranquille could not have been a more perfect setting for the 6 of us celebrating a special birthday. La Roque Gageac is just beautiful with the river running through it and a fabulous selection of bars and restaurants. We enjoyed the most wonderful weather and were able to swim in the river every day. The Hictons have made their house utterly gorgeous and have thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. There is a pretty loggia over looking the river which is the ideal place for a cool drink in the evening, and their garden is stunning, catching the sun all day long. The house has been restored with exquisite good taste. We would certainly go again - thank you John and Tina!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard09...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A delightful Cottage in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The whole experience was perfect. Tina met us on arrival and was available to answer any questions without being intrusive. The cottage was a short walk from the centre of La Roque Gageac, so for the most part there was no need to use the car. Beware, the lane and the path are narrow and steep. The Cottage is utterly charming and beautifully decorated. The views are amazing. We would certainly return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelAde...
Balhannah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and comfortable, well-equipped accommodation”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Sheila made us very welcome and we enjoyed the market hamper with homemade jam she provided. The house is large and very comfortable and the kitchen is well-equipped.
The views from the upstairs windows and from the glorious terrace are spectacular.
We thoroughly enjoyed the eight days we spent at La Roque Gageac and would definitely recommend it to a family or two couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelbug...
France
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Incredible setting”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely house! The owners have only very recently finished renovating and they have done a superb job- they thought of everything. The house looks beautiful and it is very comfortable inside. The views are also stunning from the windows but even more so from the top terrace. The road up is narrow and in a wide car it is essential to pull in the mirrors but once parked it is much easier to walk up and down into the village. A lovely place to stay.

Visit was for: Leisure
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathR392
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly Situated, Perfectly Equipped.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Le Coin Tranquille is one of those places you review at your own peril. By telling the world what I really think of this place, I'm lessening the chance that I'll ever get in to visit again. And, I'd like to visit again. As soon as I'm done writing this review wouldn't be too soon.

Though the pictures on the website are lovely, they don't do this home justice. Le Coin Tranquille is impeccably and newly refinished, an old home updated with all the comforts of this age and all the charm of the ones that came before.

The house is spacious and very comfortable from beds to towels to chairs. We visited with our two teenage sons who delighted in having their own spaces to sprawl out into. The kitchen is gorgeous and works very well. In the evening, if you're not on the porch overlooking the town and river, the living room is also a delightful place to sit. The house sits up on the hill, and though the narrow streets make for some exciting driving, the benefits are the view and the breeze.

Le Coin Tranquille is on the main walking path that connects throughout the town, a veritable treasure trove of historical and botanical delights. Truly, we were all smitten with the house, the town and the entire river valley. No wonder prehistoric man settled in local caves, the whole area evokes a Garden of Eden of sorts.

This area of France is chock full of soaring cliffs topped with castles teetering on the edge of the sky. Chateaus spring up around, it seems, every curve in the roads that follow the rivers. Cave dwellings of early man can be seen on every cliff face. The vegetation in summer is lush with oleanders and jasmine and various and sundry that I couldn't identify. The food? Of course it's good. The wine too.

And, if all of that weren't enough, the hosts, John and Tina are kind, funny, warm, knowledgeable souls. They're the kind of people you'd like to be related to but probably aren't.

Would we go again? Yes, in a heartbeat and for much longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarynRoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Le coin tranquille is an absolute gem, beautifully situated with stunning views over the Dordogne, most relaxing!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this newly renovated house for a week in June. Le coin has been beautifully renovated to a high standard with wonderful chateau style beds and furniture. The terrace area is a place of utter tranquility, from sitting with a pot of coffee and a fresh croissant from the nearby bakery watching the early morning hot air balloons rising into the sky to playing a game of cards with a glass of the local walnut liqueur, listening to the extremely vocal frogs in the evening! This place is an utter delight! John and Tina, who own this place gave us some fabulous tips on places to visit and where to eat ( you must try 'The Man in the Woods!)
You can rent the whole property, which is extremely well equipped, or rent one or two of the double en suite rooms downstairs. We had a most relaxing week in this rather unique area, we have already booked our next stay as this newly presented place will book up very quickly. P.S canoeing is an absolute must! Take a picnic!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing