We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lucinda's Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fair Play B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed two nights and cannot lavish sufficient praise. The room (Beate suite) was spacious and well laid out. Everything you could possibly want was provided: fireplace, balcony, deep tub, huge shower stall, plenty of seating, enormous tub with bubble bath and (electronic) candle, lashings of hot water, bath robes, coffee maker, coffee, cream, bottled water, soda, snacks, DVD player and (a rarity today) plenty of lighting when you wanted it.

There are only five rooms on the property, which is set far enough from the (quiet) road that you hear nothing. The common room is equipped with a fireplace, a jigsaw puzzle to work on and a large assortment of books, games and DVDs. Snacks and wine served at 5:30 provided a perfect opportunity to socialize with our hosts and the other guests.

Breakfast was fantastic. Home-made breads and casseroles highlighted the meal which, because there can only be a maximum of five tables, was convivial and intimate.

Lucinda knows the area well and was always happy to recommend wineries and restaurants in the area. We visited several of her recommendations and were never disappointed.

All in all, this was a perfect get-away. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have booked for New Year's eve. Lucinda is offering an irresistible package that includes accommodation, dinner and a murder mystery!

Their website doesn't do justice to the ambiance or the hospitality.

Room Tip: We liked the Beate suite and the Country suite the best. The former has a living area that is comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

We were traveing with 2 other couples for a Poker Run wine tasting weekend. Great common area to visit and relax after a long day of tasting and eating. Rooms were very large, very comfortable and wonderful beds. Breakfast was delicious, great way to start the day. I would highly recommend staying whether it be one night or a week. Great location for wine tasting.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiree508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My friend and I were fortunate to find accommodation (at the last minute) at Lucinda's. After a lovely drive through the countryside we arrived and were shown to a perfect cottage with a porch, kitchen, sitting area, separate bedroom and huge bathroom with a fireplace. Lucinda and her husband were the best of hosts, friendly and helpful with advice on site seeing and restaurants. We were greeted with a plate of cheeses and snacks with wine.... Lucinda also told us about the Day lilly farm nearby which we absolutely loved! I now boast a new garden filled with amazing varieties of Day lillies! Numerous wineries are nearby as well.
I highly recommend this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dornesdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Our trip was an overnight getaway. We were welcomed by Cindy, slept like babies on the most divine sheets and enjoyed a delicious breakfast that kept us going through an afternoon of wine tastings. Highly, highly recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longlocks65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

On a recent trip to San Francisco and wine country, we had the remarkable pleasure to stay at Lucinda's Country Inn. The rooms were actually suites with lots of room. There was a very nice common area as well, with many amenities. Lucinda and Daryl were great hosts, with excellent food and great insight into wine. I give them my highest recommendation, a must for lodging in the Fairplay area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amiller10715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Great host, super clean, huge rooms. This inn is worth every cent of their rate. We loved their common areas inside and out to visit and unwind. A for sure repeat for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmarsh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We loved the room with its bright colors and ocean them. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets the softest we have ever slept on. Our room had a fireplace and large flat-screen TV with the choice of MANY movies in the library to choose from (although we didn't use the TV) We really enjoyed walking around the grounds seeing the wild turkeys and deer. The breakfast was excellent and made to order. There are numerous winery's in the area where you can sample the local wines. This is a B&B that we WILL DEFINITELY stay at again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue33130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fair Play
10.2 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
265 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
16.1 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
North Canyon Inn Bed & Breakfast
16.5 mi away
Eden Vale Inn
Eden Vale Inn
#1 of 7 in Placerville
267 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Stagecoach Inn
Best Western Stagecoach Inn
#1 of 2 in Pollock Pines
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucinda's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucinda's Country Inn

Address: 6701 Perry Creek Rd., Fair Play, CA 95684
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fair Play
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fair Play
Price Range: £130 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lucinda's Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR ONLINE reservation system will get you a suite at Lucinda's Country Inn that provides a special quiet seductively secluded splendor experience. Nestled in the woods of the California Gold Country in the Fair Play Wine Region, Lucinda's is a perfect spot for your getaway. Plan your next trip for a relaxing stay in the country. We offer four exquisite suites and a cottage for your enjoyment. We have private decks, a front and rear deck and a great room for you and your friends to gather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Lucinda's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Fair Play
Fair Play Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing