We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT WINE COUNTRY EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucinda's Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lucinda's Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fair Play B&B and Inns
rosevile, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT WINE COUNTRY EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have made multiple visits to Lucinda's, reserving the whole house for our group. We found the B&B to be a lovely, comfortable, upscale facility with a complete breakfast served and wonderful hospitality. Our group has been amazed with the fabulous activities arranged for us. These include in-house wine tasting, with delicious appetizers before dinner; and wine tasting tours with great catered lunches. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stays & highly recommend Lucinda's B&B for a terrific get-a-way. It may be the best-kept secret in the area. John & Gerri Mattson

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrim431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
56
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

My husband and I were searching for a little get away from the everyday life of the city. We decided after lots of searching to go to Fairplay to Lucinda's. We arrived and we were greeted by Lucinda (Cindy) whom then Darryl came out it was a nice surprise the hospitality and family atmosphere. Cindy showed us to the cottage. We settled in and went back to the main house. We sat and chatted over a glass of wine. My husband and I went to the pub for a bite to eat. Came back to the beautiful room fireplace going. The nice bed and the softest sheets I have ever laid on. In the morning we woke to breakfast ready and might I say it was wonderful. We strolled around the property a bit. I didn't ever wanna leave. It was so peaceful and beautiful. I would recommend Lucinda's anytime to anyone. Thank you Darryl and Cindy. We will return.
Krissy and Ken Krause.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowgirltuff94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We were visiting with some people who were staying at Lucinda's. After dinner, they invited us o ver to see the place, as we were staying about 20 minutes away, and were looking for a new place. We walked in to the common area, went and saw their room, and returned to the common area. At that point, the male owner came roaring down the hall, yelling at us that this was not a party house and for the whole bunch of us to leave, including the paying guests. In shock, we helped them pack up and leave. The interesting thing was, there were no other guests staying there, and if he thought we were being too noisy (which I didn't believe we were), couldn't he have just come out and asked us to quiet down? I would never recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Be ware of grouchy hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FanFromFairPlay, Owner at Lucinda's Country Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Our guests were checked into our Inn by Lucinda about 4pm. They were inebriated when they arrived. Then they were shown around and she asked Lucinda about having a couple of friends come by after dinner to look at the place. Lucinda said no, because it will be late and she will not give them a tour that late when the guests return from dinner. When they did return from dinner about 10pm Daryl met them in the hall as they entered the reception area. He introduced himself and asked their names. All 5 people were extremely inebriated and barely able to carry on a conversation. The uninvited third male started to ask why Daryl needed the names of everyone. Daryl told them if something happens he needed to be able to account for everyone, then started a casual conversation about Lucinda’s Country Inn when the male guest asked about the SF 49ers. Daryl was wearing a 49ers shirt. Daryl explained he had taped the game & didn’t want to talk about because he hadn’t seen it yet. During that conversation the female drop-in wanted to know why they could NOT look around. She did that a couple of times then demanded an answer. Daryl explained he was answering the guys’ questions & comments. Daryl then directly spoke to the lady saying they could not tour the Inn because they might fall using the stairs to and from the lower level. Shortly after that she said let’s get out here if we can’t see the place and started to leave. Our guests wanted to know why they couldn’t show them around the Inn. I reminded her that Lucinda said no guests as they would not be able to tour the Inn late at night. I pointed out that our guests brought their friends even after our guests were informed not to do that. From there it went downhill. Drunks think they are completely reasonable with sober people trying to explain to them they can’t do something.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Lucinda's Country Inn was a wonderful place to stay for the night. Close to the El Dorado wineries and fairly close to Apple Hill. Cindy and Daryl were so nice and attentive. Nice wine and snacks at 5:30pm. Got to meet and visit with the other guests. We stayed in the cabin which is nice and big and has jet tub, fireplace, refrigerator, micro, TV (have to watch movies as no cable to cabin) and a nice front deck. Breakfast was good and served buffett style.

Room Tip: I was told the rooms in the main house are "themed rooms". The cabin is not "themed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim7626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were referred to Lucinda's B&B by a one of the wineries in FairPlay. What a treat! Complimentary appetizers and wine in great you when you arrive. The rooms are tastefully appointed. What make this amazing is Cindy and Carl the owners. They are excellant hosts, and the attention to details make this remarkable. They will even make you a gourmet dinner, for a nominal price if you give them notice.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walnut creek, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Lucinda's was a last-minute choice and we were delighted at what fate dealt us.
Lucinda herself is warm and welcoming. The facility (built as a B&B) is well thought-out and very gemütlich (look that up in your Funk and Wagnalls). Lucinda puts out good (local) wine and snacks late afternoon, and breakfast was more than enough and very tasty. But the rooms - oh the rooms! They're actually suites! Nice comfortable beds and fancy baths/showers. Quite a fine experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterb190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

A touch of paradise awaits you in the foothills of the Sierras, located between Sacramento and Lake Tahoe, Lucinda’s Country Inn.
The entire experience is one to cherish, the unique rooms, the wonderful breakfasts prepared by Lucinda and Daryl, the breath-taking setting, the wine country and gold towns close by make this visit a must. It is an experience that everyone should have when you visit this wonderful area.
Although it is many miles from Florida both my wife and I will return to Lucinda’s Country Inn, Fair Play, California.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vineyard suite with it's private balcony, fireplace visable through to bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fair Play
10.1 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
12.4 mi away
Rest Hotel Plymouth
Rest Hotel Plymouth
#1 of 7 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
10.4 mi away
North Canyon Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
15.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#1 of 1 in Amador City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Foxes Inn
The Foxes Inn
#1 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucinda's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucinda's Country Inn

Property: Lucinda's Country Inn
Address: 6701 Perry Creek Rd., Fair Play, CA 95684
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fair Play
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fair Play
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lucinda's Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR ONLINE reservation system will get you a suite at Lucinda's Country Inn that provides a special quiet seductively secluded splendor experience. Nestled in the woods of the California Gold Country in the Fair Play Wine Region, Lucinda's is a perfect spot for your getaway. Plan your next trip for a relaxing stay in the country. We offer four exquisite suites and a cottage for your enjoyment. We have private decks, a front and rear deck and a great room for you and your friends to gather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lucinda's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Fair Play
Fair Play Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing