We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lucinda's Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fair Play B&B and Inns
Placentia, California, United States
1 review
“Love this Inn”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have now stayed at Lucinda's several times. Love the wine and appetizer hour Friday and Saturday. They pour local wines and the opportunity to meet and talk with all the other guests is wonderful.
Food is good and the view is outstanding.
I would not stay anywhere else when in the Placerville area.
Just stay once. You will know what I am talking about.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
57
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Valley, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Lucinda's Country Inn is the absolute perfect place to stay for an El Dorado County getaway! We loved the extremely comfortable bed, the amazing shower and ample amenities in the Vineyard Suite (the bathrobes are luxurious)! With a lovely fresh breakfast every morning and excellent proximity to fabulous Fair Play wineries, Apple Hill and Black Chasm Cave in Volcano, Lucinda's is THE PLACE to stay for your El Dorado County getaway!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vineyard Suite, which was exquisitie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Each room is different. The room was comfortable and felt like a little apartment. Great place to relax. The owners have thought of everything you could possibly want or need for a great stay.
The owners also have some serious skills in the kitchen. (gourmet breakfast is included) They will accommodate any dietary restrictions and still make the food absolutely tasty. You will not find a better breakfast in the area. They will also offer a gourmet dinner, if you let them know in advance. We were new to the area and the catered dinner was a nice touch after a long day. I will be back. Thank you

Room Tip: Decide whether you need a tub or not. We had a corner room with a balcony and windows everywhere. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmonsgottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosevile, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have made multiple visits to Lucinda's, reserving the whole house for our group. We found the B&B to be a lovely, comfortable, upscale facility with a complete breakfast served and wonderful hospitality. Our group has been amazed with the fabulous activities arranged for us. These include in-house wine tasting, with delicious appetizers before dinner; and wine tasting tours with great catered lunches. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stays & highly recommend Lucinda's B&B for a terrific get-a-way. It may be the best-kept secret in the area. John & Gerri Mattson

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrim431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My husband and I were searching for a little get away from the everyday life of the city. We decided after lots of searching to go to Fairplay to Lucinda's. We arrived and we were greeted by Lucinda (Cindy) whom then Darryl came out it was a nice surprise the hospitality and family atmosphere. Cindy showed us to the cottage. We settled in and went back to the main house. We sat and chatted over a glass of wine. My husband and I went to the pub for a bite to eat. Came back to the beautiful room fireplace going. The nice bed and the softest sheets I have ever laid on. In the morning we woke to breakfast ready and might I say it was wonderful. We strolled around the property a bit. I didn't ever wanna leave. It was so peaceful and beautiful. I would recommend Lucinda's anytime to anyone. Thank you Darryl and Cindy. We will return.
Krissy and Ken Krause.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowgirltuff94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We were visiting with some people who were staying at Lucinda's. After dinner, they invited us o ver to see the place, as we were staying about 20 minutes away, and were looking for a new place. We walked in to the common area, went and saw their room, and returned to the common area. At that point, the male owner came roaring down the hall, yelling at us that this was not a party house and for the whole bunch of us to leave, including the paying guests. In shock, we helped them pack up and leave. The interesting thing was, there were no other guests staying there, and if he thought we were being too noisy (which I didn't believe we were), couldn't he have just come out and asked us to quiet down? I would never recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Be ware of grouchy hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FanFromFairPlay, Owner at Lucinda's Country Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Our guests were checked into our Inn by Lucinda about 4pm. They were inebriated when they arrived. Then they were shown around and she asked Lucinda about having a couple of friends come by after dinner to look at the place. Lucinda said no, because it will be late and she will not give them a tour that late when the guests return from dinner. When they did return from dinner about 10pm Daryl met them in the hall as they entered the reception area. He introduced himself and asked their names. All 5 people were extremely inebriated and barely able to carry on a conversation. The uninvited third male started to ask why Daryl needed the names of everyone. Daryl told them if something happens he needed to be able to account for everyone, then started a casual conversation about Lucinda’s Country Inn when the male guest asked about the SF 49ers. Daryl was wearing a 49ers shirt. Daryl explained he had taped the game & didn’t want to talk about because he hadn’t seen it yet. During that conversation the female drop-in wanted to know why they could NOT look around. She did that a couple of times then demanded an answer. Daryl explained he was answering the guys’ questions & comments. Daryl then directly spoke to the lady saying they could not tour the Inn because they might fall using the stairs to and from the lower level. Shortly after that she said let’s get out here if we can’t see the place and started to leave. Our guests wanted to know why they couldn’t show them around the Inn. I reminded her that Lucinda said no guests as they would not be able to tour the Inn late at night. I pointed out that our guests brought their friends even after our guests were informed not to do that. From there it went downhill. Drunks think they are completely reasonable with sober people trying to explain to them they can’t do something.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Lucinda's Country Inn was a wonderful place to stay for the night. Close to the El Dorado wineries and fairly close to Apple Hill. Cindy and Daryl were so nice and attentive. Nice wine and snacks at 5:30pm. Got to meet and visit with the other guests. We stayed in the cabin which is nice and big and has jet tub, fireplace, refrigerator, micro, TV (have to watch movies as no cable to cabin) and a nice front deck. Breakfast was good and served buffett style.

Room Tip: I was told the rooms in the main house are "themed rooms". The cabin is not "themed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim7626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fair Play
10.2 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
241 reviews
16.1 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
560 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
16.2 mi away
Grey Gables Inn
Grey Gables Inn
#2 of 6 in Sutter Creek
278 reviews
12.3 mi away
Plymouth House Inn
Plymouth House Inn
#3 of 7 in Plymouth
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucinda's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucinda's Country Inn

Property: Lucinda's Country Inn
Address: 6701 Perry Creek Rd., Fair Play, CA 95684
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fair Play
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fair Play
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lucinda's Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR ONLINE reservation system will get you a suite at Lucinda's Country Inn that provides a special quiet seductively secluded splendor experience. Nestled in the woods of the California Gold Country in the Fair Play Wine Region, Lucinda's is a perfect spot for your getaway. Plan your next trip for a relaxing stay in the country. We offer four exquisite suites and a cottage for your enjoyment. We have private decks, a front and rear deck and a great room for you and your friends to gather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lucinda's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Fair Play
Fair Play Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing