We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lucinda's Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fair Play B&B and Inns
CA
1 review
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Quaint country inn with very spacious rooms. We stayed in the cottage and we felt like we were alone in the wilderness. Perfect end to a perfect day wine tasting in Fairplay. Wonderful breakfast! Next time we will hang out there more on the nice deck by the outdoor fireplace!

  • Liked — The private atmosphere
  • Disliked — No restraunts in the area
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j9kirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
57
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, CA, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Absolutely the best B&B, we have ever stayed at. The owners, make sure that you have anything and everything you might need. Special attention to every detail. The breakfast is homemade and delicious. We stay here every time we go to Fairplay for wine tasting and relaxation.

  • Liked — The friendly owners
  • Disliked — What's not to like (love)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank togamerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

My husband and I recently stayed here for our anniversary and we had a really relaxing time. We were in the Beate suite (which isn't pronounced like the veggie... I can't remember how they said it but whatever). First things first - the BED was COMFORTABLE. This is very important to us! So many places splurge on some fixings to attract customers but forget the bed and then the whole stay sucks - not the case with Lucinda's! It was very relaxing and we didn't even use our own pillows that we packed in the car because we are paranoid like that.

There's a roman bath and shower that are both clean and comfortable. The bath takes awhile to fill though so plan ahead for that. :) Felt like heaven though once it was full. Careful getting in and out though - it's slippery!

I think they're still in renovations as our room was missing some finishing touches like floor boards and door frames but those rank very low on my list of Needed Things (#1 as we've established is a comfortable bed!).

Lucinda and her husband are very nice and hospitable. They can recommend some great wineries to go to and they put out a nice appetizer plate in the early evening with a local wine. Fairplay the town has two excellent restaurants that we enjoyed delicious meals at - one was a Grille and one was an Italian restaurant.

Overall a great weekend away!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank icedancer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2008

In early April, the El Dorado county wineries, in El Dorado county, California, hold what they refer to as their "Passport Weekend". About 25 of the local wimneries participate; holding tastings, food pairings, sales, entertainment, etc. My girlfried and I attended for the first time, this year, and were fortunate enough to get a lovely room at Lucinda's Country Inn. It is located in the small town of Fair Play, right in the heart of the Fair Play wineries.. (For those who follow such things, Fair Play is a distinct viticultural zone). Upon arriving we were greeted warmly, like old friends really, by Daryl and Lucinda, the owners. A glass of wine and a comfortable chair later, we were being introduced around to the other guests. Truly a far cry from, "Credit card, please? Here's your room key... NEXT!"
Fair Play is hilly wine country, and the views from all of the windows at Lucinda's were gorgeous. We were particularly taken with the view from the breakfast room, where we watched a family of deer have their breakfast, while we did the same.
Our room was delightful, with a see-through fireplace between the bedroom and the sitting room. The refrigerator had soft drinks, water and cream in it. A coffee pot, ( with coffee), and a microwave were nice additions. The snack basket had enough goodies to ward off hunger pangs. While my girlfriend luxuriated in the whirlpool bath, I made good use of the enormous shower: particularly nice as I have a prosthetic leg, and moving around in tight quarters can be challenging. The bed was exceedingly comfortable, as were the chairs.
In anticipation of a long day of wine tasting and walking hilly country, we were looking forward to a hearty breakfast, and Lucinda delivered. Fresh fruits, juices and coffee served to complement the homemade waffles, fresh baked muffins and sausages on Saturday, while Sunday began with a fresh baked coffee cake, more fresh fruits, and an egg bake that was simply divine. Since we were new to visiting the area, we wanted to try the local restaurants, so we did not try any of Lucinda's prepared dishes, however, after tasting her cooking at breakfast, we would not hesitate to recommend them.
I have been fortunate to have enjoyed many fine B&B's over the years, (Yes, and a few that were, shall we say, less than fine?), but my experience at Lucinda's was among the best. Terrific host and hostess, beautiful appointments, wonderful location and 'just right' amenities, (local wines and snacks served late afternoon-early evening), all dovetailed perfectly to make our visit most memorable. In fact, before we left we booked the same room, same weekend, for next year, not wanting to leave anything to chance.

  • Liked — The Host and Hostess
  • Disliked — Hilly area, can be a challenge driving in winter
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Reno_Trainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

Lucinda and Daryl have conceived and realized a charming country inn. The suites are spacious and warm. The great room and adjoining deck are great places to hang out. Breakfast each morning was sumptuous and plentiful.

Thanks Lucinda and Daryl!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jmaczip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fair Play
10.2 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
236 reviews
16.1 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
552 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Grey Gables Inn
Grey Gables Inn
#2 of 6 in Sutter Creek
276 reviews
16.6 mi away
Eden Vale Inn
Eden Vale Inn
#1 of 7 in Placerville
261 reviews
16.5 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucinda's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucinda's Country Inn

Property: Lucinda's Country Inn
Address: 6701 Perry Creek Rd., Fair Play, CA 95684
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fair Play
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fair Play
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lucinda's Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR ONLINE reservation system will get you a suite at Lucinda's Country Inn that provides a special quiet seductively secluded splendor experience. Nestled in the woods of the California Gold Country in the Fair Play Wine Region, Lucinda's is a perfect spot for your getaway. Plan your next trip for a relaxing stay in the country. We offer four exquisite suites and a cottage for your enjoyment. We have private decks, a front and rear deck and a great room for you and your friends to gather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lucinda's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Fair Play
Fair Play Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing