We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rooms Mary

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rooms Mary
Ranked #10 of 15 Perivolos B&B and Inns
Peristerona, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Okay I'm not going to beat around the bush here...I don't understand why other people have written about good experiences, because I can assure you ours was anything but. We arrived to our hotel after paying 20 euro as there wasn't a transfer provided. It was boiling hot but the owner did not offer us to our room but rather lectured us on the various tours and told us firmly to not book with anyone else except the people that they recommended (we later did our research and booked the same tour at a much cheaper price. We of course kept it a secret when they asked, as the lady that booked us the tour assured as that we would be treated unfairly during our stay if they knew we didn't listen to them). After listening for 20 mins, he then went to grab the key..only he had lost it so we waited another 20 minutes as he had to get the spare key. Upon entering our room, it was discovered that the room was already occupied. Embarrassed, the owner then told us to come back to reception and we waited another 10 minutes for him to find another available room. He assured us we would be "upgraded". We eventually got to a room and were pleasantly suprised..the room was reasonably nice. The toilet however wouldn't flush-so multiple times we had to call reception at tell them the toilet wouldn't work. You would think after screwing us over they would do anything to make sure we enjoyed their hotel however each time the toilet wouldn't work we would have to wait approx. 30 minutes for someone to come up and fix it. The aircon also was temperamental and would not consistently work. We are three young, polite and friendly girls, and all speak fluent greek so there was definitely no language barrier..We just couldn't understand their unprofessionalism and the audacity of the owner when he turned around and informed us to pay 25 euro to get to the port upon our departure (he told us this was the cheapest, when infact we had called up the other guy and he had said he would drive us for 20). By the end of it all, we were so drained and angry that we paid the 25 euro and got the hell out of there. Lucky Santorini is so beautiful, that during the day we would forget what we had to come back to each night! Just be careful and make sure you do your research when hiring quads, booking tours etc. as they basically just want to make profit from your booking too. We had pre booked and paid for all accom in Australia, so it was just easier to stick it out rather than ask for a refund!! Still had an amazing time..the islands are beautiful:

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikos s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    22
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stenloese, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had a great stay here. Perfect location about a three minute walk from the beach, where there were dozens of restaurants and bars. The owner constantly bent over backwards to help us out. Drove us back from the airport at about 5 am, and drove us down that ridiculous cliff face drive to the ferry port when we left. The four-man rooms were very nice, the two man rooms a tad spartan but we were using them just for sleeping (had one of each). Wifi a bit iffy but who had a problem with sitting by the pool to get decent reception? Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had actually booked two of the twin rooms. When we got there he gave us a choice of that or one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The owner collected us form the port and informed us that his rooms were full and he had booked us in a neighbouring hotel instead. We were given a basic but comfortable room with a balcony but no fridge or kettle and no facilities in the building to provide even basic refreshment.

The room was clean with air conditioning and there was a lovely pool equipped with terrace and sun loungers at the back of the building which was also very clean and pleasant..

the location was very convenient for the beach and restaurants.

He also took us to the airport and showed us where he lived in case of any problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel is situated just metres from Perissa Beach (the black sand beach) and only a short walk from atms, grocers etc. The hotel has a beautiful pool area with free sunbeds and W.Cs.
The Hotel itself is very clean, the rooms are airconditioned, the water temperature is constant (which we found was a luxury throughout greece), rooms are equipt with fridges and the beds are comfortable.
However it really is the owners of this hotel that make it stand out. Upon booking the hotel, the owners emailed us and offered to collect us from the port. And sure enough when we arrived Nikos was waiting for us with a sign. On the drive back he gave is a very informative run down of The Island and its history as well as sharing some useful tips. Local knowledge is always the best. Check out was at 11:30pm the day we departed, however our ferry was not until 1:30am the following morning. They offered to hold our baggage for us in reception all day and then drive us to the port at midnight. In the mean time they told us to swim and enjoy the hotels pool and wifi. Restaurants and cafes are only are short walk so it did not feel as though we were stranded at all!! Where else can you get that kind of service!! I would recomend staying here to anyone!! Enjoy it as we did!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Really lovely. Took us in after we left our dreadful package holiday accommodation. Stayed with my two girls aged 10 and 7. The owners Nico and Eva were fantastic. They were so kind and friendly. The room was quiet, cleaned every day, air-conditioned, really nice. Stayed on the upstairs floor. The swimming pool was lovely Fantastic location two minutes from the beach. Nico took us to the airport too, completely free of charge. Am looking forward to coming back here next year. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Recently back from another lovely stay at Rooms Mary, we stayed for 3 nights en route to and from Paros, we had an upstairs studio with sea and mountain views,in a peaceful quiet location, it was immaculately clean, a lovely swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols, very near the beach where there are many tavernas along the beach road in to Perissa, Nikos and his family were very friendly and helpful,with Nikos providing port and airport transfers which is a big help when visiting other islands, we can recommend Rooms Mary as a friendly, quiet clean place to stay.
Jack and Pat

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Getting off the ferry we were looking for somewhere to stay, checked out several agents/owners and settled on Rooms Mary, which is on Perissa beach (we hoped) on the Southeast coast around the mountain from Kamari which is where we originally intended to stay.

Always check on a map exactly where you are staying when looking around for a likly spot as you could end up anywhere but what you expected.

Anyway Rooms Mary turned out quite good, there was 2 blocks of rooms, one block of simple rooms and one 2 story block of studios with two double beds each, shower and kitchen, theres a swimming pool and only a short walk to the black sand beach, we took 2 studios although there was enough room for 4 with 2 double beds in each.

Was not expensive after some negotiation, It was early in the season so it’s easier to get a good price.

Throw the bags in and off to explore, nice clean beach and a few restaurants, could see which would be the noisy ones and decided to come back later for dinner at the Meteora Restaurant although a tourist area looked sufficiently Greek to serve up some good food and were not disappointed later good local food at sensible prices.

We are not beach lovers but the location was fine for us, found a car rental at the junction with the main road to Kamari which had a good range of cars with which to explore every nook and cranny of Santorini.

Rooms Mary suited us exactly, quite and simple, we never saw the owner very much and were left to our own devices.

Rooms were spotless, beds were comfortable, kitchen was adequate to cook a full meal, Greek tomatoes make a great pasta sauce, laundry we did ourselves and just hung in the rear patio which studio has.

I would recommend Rooms Mary to anyone that is not expecting a hotel or hotel facilities, plain and simple is always the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Papandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perivolos
0.0 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.0 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.0 mi away
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.0 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Mary

Property: Rooms Mary
Address: Perivolos 84703, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perivolos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Perivolos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooms Mary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary Rooms were built with unique traditional Cycladian architecture, and they combine the beauty of the island with the charm of small hotels, which provides all the modern facilities. They are located only 50 m from the famous black beach Perivolos of Santorini. The familial atmosphere, the organisation and the particularly friendly and irreproachable service make Rooms Mary your own house in Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Rooms Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Mary Santorini/Perivolos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing