We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Beach resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santo Miramare Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santo Miramare Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Perivolos
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We were diverted to Santo Miramare after booking at their sister hotel in Kamari, which got flooded by a recent storm. I was apprehentious at first, since I was unaware of this resort but as soon as we arrived, we were warmly greeted and shown to our room. We had a balcony that overlooked the large pool area and the beach. Breakfast was served every morning and although crowded, we always found a seat. The private beach of Perivolos is secluded and lovely. Not crowded at all during the week, but picked up more on the weekends with both tourists and locals from the western side od Santorini. Although a bit far out from the main attractions, the main bus does go out to Perivolos. Beware of the retunr times, they are not a late as to other places on the island. The only thing they did not have was free internet wi fi. And there was a slight mix up with them thinking we were checking out a day earlier than we really were. But once we resolved everyhting with reception, they apologized and gave us complimentary wine. Overall Santo Miramare is a very nice resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhatMickyEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    220
    63
    27
    14
See reviews for
154
297
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

The Santo Miramare Hotel is a fantastic and relaxing place to soak up the sun and enjoy the peace and quiet. We travelled to Greece in a large party as we were attending a wedding of friends from back home.....Our room overlooked the moutains and was a stunning view to wake up to, the beds and towels were changed every day and the housekeeping staff worked so hard to please. The hotel grounds, pool area and restaurant was also spotless. We booked in on a B&B package and the breakfast was delicious .... everything from sausage and bacon to continential to crossiants and melted chocolate (Heaven). All the staff were very pleasant and tended to every need. The location of the hotel was good and literally 3 steps to the private beach (free sunbeds and umbrella's). As it was the start of the season the beach was very quiet and the sea and pool were bracing (COLD!!) Ok once you got in. The nearest taverna was right night door and the neareast Euro Market was about 10 mins walk. The more livelier bars and restaurant's were about 10 mins away and there was a good selection of places to eat. We found a fantastic Restaurant called Meteroe, a full entertainment programme every night. We ate there most nights and Irene the owner was pure genius...... every time a desert came out (complete with sparkler) she would walk from the kitchen to the table shouting FIRE, FIRE, FIRE...... i really enjoyed the peace and quiet in the days, being able to relax with a book, and in the evening with locally produced wine and traditional greek food. The only bad things i had to say was not about the hotel but the number of dogs on the beach, they were verywhere, they didn't foul the beach, they just sniffed round and sat by your lounger and followed you to the sea and then back..... so much so that on 3 occasions we had to leave the beach !!! Also the roads were not well lit and were quite dusty when taking an evening stroll....... that was my only bug bear.

Room Tip: Mountain facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERICA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

My wife, 8 month old son and I stayed at the Santo Miremare in May 2011 for 1 week. We had visited before, 6 years ago when the hotel first opened and knew it would be a good option for our first holiday away with Alex. We had a great holiday and cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. I hope my comments on the various aspects of the hotel and on the resort in general are useful:

Friendliness
I’ve put this first because the level of warmth and hospitality we were shown by all the staff at the hotel was amazing. From day one, they all welcomed us and especially Alex like he was part of their family. It was genuine warmth and really was a pleasure to meet so many good-hearted people. Without missing anyone out (sorry) Yannis at breakfast service, Adonnis at the pool bar, the lovely lady at the pool bar whose name now I’m sorry escapes me but begins with a P (Paulinis?) I think and is married to Yannis, Vincent, and the young guy who does portering and maintenance were all particularly hospitably and happy to see us. Yannis would even take Alex for few mins while we ate our brekkie, which they both enjoyed equally! It’s strange in a way seeing men so happy and keen to interact with a baby. Back in the UK, most men are very standoffish in that way, especially younger men, but in Greece it must be the big family culture. Really refreshing to see. Yannis also offered to give us a lift in his car anywhere we needed once he finished his shift if we needed any items for Alex. He had heard us say we needed more baby wipes.

Cleanliness
Hotel spotless everywhere, very high standards.

Reception
Always polite, friendly and helpful. Was usually a young guy who looks like the Arsenal captain Cesc Fabregas, or a suited and booted slightly older man.

Pool facilities
This is one of the big draws of the hotel. Very spacious pool and sunbathing area, the biggest I’ve seen in all out travels to the Greek Islands and perfect if you hate crowded poolsides. There were always plenty of sunbeds and didn’t seem to be many ‘towlers’! There are two adult pools, one kids pool and a bubble pool/Jacuzzi. The water was beautiful, clean and clear and not chemically. Only thing is, they were cold – too cold for Alex unfortunately – but this was due to it being early season and no fault of the hotel. Not a problem for adults but something we’ll need to consider when planning a holiday in future as we had been looking forward to getting Alex swimming. Solution is to wait till June when they will have warmed up enough for babies. Towels for the pool are available at reception. The pool bar is great, lovely setting and as mentioned – brilliant staff. It does a nice ice cold pint of Mythos the Greek lager (great lager by the way). Food a bit pricy at the pool bar I have to say but if you want cheaper you can always stroll to a local tavern.

Room
We got room 222 on the first floor. Lovely, clean and spacious. Ours had a kitchen unit which we wanted for preparing bottles etc. I may be wrong, but it seems these family rooms are all on level 1 which means carrying the buggy up about 10 steps. Not a problem for us but just be aware if booking a family room with kitchen that if you specifically want a ground floor room then you may have to query this in advance.

Maid service
Room serviced every day, cleaned thoroughly by friendly local ladies. Leave a good tip, they deserve it.

Breakfast
You can sit indoors or outdoors which is nice to have the choice. Main staff member Yannis is a star as described above. What a happy, genuine guy. The other staff – 2 girls – were also great – very attentive and friendly in a quieter way. Choice and quality of food was excellent with cereals, fruit, cooked items, cold meat, cheese, yogurt and honey etc and regular coffee top-ups. Couldn’t fault it.

Other facilities
Internet access charged at 5 euro for 90 mins and fast connection. I used it to watch Rangers beat Celtic to the SPL on the final day of the season – most satisfying. Free sunbeds on the beach.

Other holidaymakers
Because it’s at the higher end of the market, other holidaymakers all seemed decent. Nice and quiet and friendly. A mix of British, Germans, American, Asians and Scandenavians so nice to hear the various accents and meet people from different places. Just before we left a flightload from Manchester came in and I have to say there were one or two loudmouths amongst them. You know the type – they commondeer a space by the pool like it’s their private villa and don’t limit the decibels for anyone. Not a problem though, poolside big enough to ignore them and as I say were the exception rather than the rule. We met some really nice people while we were there.

Resort
As mentioned we’ve been to the area before so knew what to expect. We were early season this time so it was quiet but still a good number of tavernas to choose from. If you like more things to do that restaurants and a few bars then you may find it too quiet. But that’s all we want on holiday. If you want Sky Sports bars and re-runs of Only Fools and Horses then head to the nightmare that is Tsilivi in Zante. The hotel is officially in Perolivos, but this merges with Perissa as you walk along the shore road. Give about 25 mins to walk the full length to the rock at the end of the strip from where you can get the boat to the more trashy Kamari. We enjoyed regular walks up until an incident detailed below. Restaurants all very high standard. Special mention to the beautiful Mary and the staff at the restaurant immediately to the right of Santo Mire Mare. Great food and brilliant people.

Incident
I wasn’t sure whether to include this as I don’t want to put people off but I do feel it’s worth sounding a note of caution. About 3 nights in to our week, we walked along the shore road as usual (to the left of the hotel) for dinner. It was dark when we finished and as we walked home we noticed up ahead a man walking along who all of a sudden was faced by two dogs barking aggressively at him. One was an Alsation and one a fierce cross bull terrier looking thing. Almost immediately after this, a man cycled past on a bike and again the dogs became aggressive, this time chasing the bike. This was enough to put my wife off walking along the road at night again. The dogs in question were clearly guard dogs as there seemed to be a man ‘controlling them’. However, they were off the lease and we did wonder what would happen if they decided they didn’t like Alex’s buggy for example. We simply couldn’t take the chance. Perhaps we overreacted but once you see that type of behaviour from a dog it unnerves you. I hope the issue is quickly addressed by local business owners and perhaps the Santo Miremare have a part they can play here, making it known to the dog owners that this is unacceptable or simply poisoning the mutts might be the simpler solution. I should say, during the day, the dogs in question seem to be tethered and out of the equation – it’s only at night they roam and I stress we didn’t see them attack anyone, it just left a questionmark in our head.

Summary
A brilliant hotel and a great place to go if you want a quiet relaxing holiday with a warm welcome. Extremely highly recommended. If you can, visit the other side of the island too to see the volcanic rocks and caldera that Santorini is famous for.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HughestheDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbaek, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel is very good. This is my first 4* hotel, so I do not have so much to compare. But nevertheless, the hotel is nice. Good service, the food is nice and they clean the rooms every day, but the often clean the rooms in the middle of the day around 1-2pm, which can be a little annoying.
The only bad thing about the hotel isn't actually about the hotel but the surroundings are boring. If you plan to stay at this hotel then you should consider renting some means of transportation, ie. an ATV or a car. Otherwise you should find a hotel in Kamari (the city north of Perissa/perivolos - north of the nearby mountain) - that city is more interesting.

PS. Sorry for my bad english.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CerealKiller1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel on the 14-21 September. We booked a junior suite, and was lovely to have the extra space. It was simply decorated, with a small kitchen area in one corner.

The room was cleaned on a daily basis to a very high standard, with the towels replaced each day.

The pool area was spacious and not crowded, with 3 lovely clear pools, and a jacuzzi pool if you want a change. The pool bar also sells drinks and snacks, but they are a little pricey.

The food was of a good standard, if a little limited in selection. You could pay €15 and eat your evening meal at the restaurant, but there is a road which runs along the back of the hotel, which takes you into Perissa is you fancy a walk.

I would recommend trying Meteoras and God's Garden for places to eat. The owner at Meteoras puts a sparkler in all the deserts, and shouts 'fire, fire, fire' when she brings it out to you!! She speaks 15 languages, so if like me you have dietary requirements, she was wonderful.

I would also recommend hiring a quad bike to get around the island, and Imerovigli and Oia are a must if your want the 'Santorini' photo. Be prepared for higher prices - I paid €3.30 for a can of Sprite!!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would like to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shrewsburygirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

staff extremely helpful, hotel clean , beach beautiful but spoilt by pumping beats from nearby music bars throughout the day these all closed at 10 thankfully so peaceful at night. You would definately need a car to explore this beautiful island from here. we also stayed at 9 muses for 3 nights before staying here this defo 4 star and for about the same nightly rate is a much more sophisticated choice if staying in perissa/ perivolos.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

You always have concerns that your internet choice of hotels will be a big disappointment.
This was certainly NOT the case for this beautiful hotel. What impressed me the most was how clean it was and how helpful the front desk staff was, especially Vicky. After seeing all of Santorini, I would stay here again, without a doubt. It is secluded, private and everyone is very helpful and courteous. Book this hotel with Mr. Zochios. He was very attentive to answering all our questions and accomodating when changes had to be made on the dates of our stay. This is THE most positive vacation experience I have had in my many many years of traveling. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.
Absolutely loved it !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JannieNorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perivolos
2.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.0 mi away
El Greco
El Greco
#17 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Aegean Plaza Hotel
#27 of 77 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Notos Therme & Spa
Notos Therme & Spa
#1 of 1 in Vlychada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 40 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santo Miramare Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo Miramare Resort

Property: Santo Miramare Resort
Address: Perivolos Emboriou, Perivolos 847 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perivolos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perivolos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Perivolos
#2 Family Hotel in Perivolos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perivolos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santo Miramare Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santo Miramare is a fine luxury resort next to the black sandy beach of Perivolos. The absolute destination for families, group of friends, honeymooners or anyone who desires a highly standard accommodation in a traditionally built resort that offers everything the world famous island of Santorini is promising for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Santo Miramare Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Miramare Hotel Perivolos
Hotel Santo Miramare
Santo Miramare Resort Santorini/Perivolos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing