We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect recharge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Royal Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palmarin
Reviewed 6 April 2008

feb 22
We spent 5 perfect nights at the Royal Lodge.
We chose the `hut` with its own swimming pool.
This worked well as there were quite a few children using the other pool. We also swam in the sea. The accommodation was spacious with seating area TV well stocked fridge ,tea/coffee and a large jaccuzi bath, seperate toilet. All extremely well maintained.

We enjoyed all our meals in the restaurant. As we like fish it was good to be able to chose the `catch of the day`. The wines were reasonable with prices 12-18 pounds. You could have just a salad or a sandwich for lunch.Room service was also available.
The owner was present most days and always greeted people at their tables on an evening.

Most of the guests were French. Some of the waiters enjoyed being able to practice their English. We quite enjoyed reviving our basic French conversation skills over a cocktail de la jour.

We wandered the beach, watching them bringing in the fishing nets. We visted a nearby hotel. We befriended one of the local lads DAVID who sold object d`art on the beach. He was extremely pleasant and informative. Not at all like the bumsters we had experienced in the Gambia. The hotel arranged a trip for us into the mangrove swamps. Bewarned it gets very hot and theres no where to get shade.

The journey to and from the Gambia was an experience. As we were accompanied the whole way and travelled in a 4 wheel drive we didnt have any probs. However as I preferred Senegal to the Gambia I would chose to fly directly to DaKar on a future visit

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2008

This is pretty much perfect if you're looking for a beach holiday that's quiet, relaxing and discreetly luxurious.

The accommodation is absolutely brilliant in superbly designed thatched lodges with circular lounge, bedroom and bathroom, really well thought out, comfortable and spacious. Ours opened onto the beach, which costs a bit more but well worth it we thought. Nice sandy beach, good swimming, souvenir touts miraculously absent.

There's a nice pool, which most days we had to ourselves. The staff are very pleasant, on the ball and friendly without being ingratiating. It helps if you know a few words in French, but you can get by without.

The restaurant's pretty good, a French-ish interpretation of local ingredients. Wine is mostly French, mostly good, and mostly not cheap (London prces). We also had some superb cocktails!

The restaurant in fact is great for a few days, but it's the same menu for lunch and dinner, with no specials of the day, and we found in our seven day holiday we were starting to get a bit bored with the food. Also one of us is vegetarian, and while the chef made a real effort to accommodate this gastronomic eccentricity, the results varied from bizarre to prettty good.

A note for vegetarians - we strolled 20 minutes down the beach to Djidjack hotel a couple of times, and had superb and cheap lunches.

The hotel organises trips, we only did one to the extrordinary and quite beautiful village of Fadiout, built on shell islands, and Joal with its stinking fish market and the medieval hell-on-earth of the fish smoking industry. Horrible but fascinating. The trip was pricey but so vivid we thought it worth the price.

The other drawback was getting there - we flew to Gambia, and the road connection was like four hours in a tumble drier. Another time we might investigate flying into Dakar.

If you're looking for a family holiday, I'm not sure this will be right for you - teenagers will be totally bored. No entertainment, no beach sports, no jet skis, no snorkeling. But if you're not a teenager and you don't care about those things, it's a relief to get away from it all.

This place is great for an intimate, romantic break, for winding down, for catching up on your reading, for strolls on a sandy beach, and for feeling very good.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhbevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2008

This is so beautiful and THE place for total relaxation.
Suites are in thatched rondells, superb bathrooms, lovely lounge areas and spacious bedroom.
Good a la carte menu and quality food.Good wine list.
Friendly French speaking staff (was not asked once for email address or if we would become 'special friends' which was a pleasant change from hotel staff in Gambia!
Pool is wonderful and beach clean.
Too good to be true, well here is the drawback......if travelling from Gambia as we did, its a hell of a journey! First a ferry crossing of 45mins from, thats OK but its the likely wait to board the ferry that can add hours to the journey! Then its 4/5 hours on fairly bumpy roads...BUT once there, its superb.
Not the cheapest place, but then you pay for quality!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayleybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Réserver la suite luxe avec picine pivee vue mer pied dans l'eau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Adrienbzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
16  Thank Djidjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lucile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Florence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmarin
0 mi away
Hotel Keur Saloum
Hotel Keur Saloum
#1 of 3 in Toubakouta
194 reviews
0 mi away
Les Paletuviers Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Neptune
Hotel Neptune
#4 of 22 in Mbour
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Royal Malango Beach
0 mi away
Les Collines De Niassam
Les Collines De Niassam
#1 of 7 in Joal Fadiouth
126 reviews
0 mi away
The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lodge

Address: Palmarin Bp 927 | Mbour, Palmarin, Senegal
Region: Senegal > Fatick Region > Palmarin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palmarin
Price Range: £177 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Palmarin
Hotel Le Royal Lodge Senegal/Palmarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing