We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting - perfect break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Royal Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palmarin
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Just returned from a week at The Royal Lodge and only have good / great things to say about the place. The transfer from Dakar takes three and half to four hours with the last hour on a dirt road - the transfer from the airport was in a Ford Transit which is not a particularly good off-road vehicle! whereas our return journey was in a 4 x 4 which soften the jolts and bumps big-time.
The standard of accommodation can not be faulted but would certainly recommend you pay that bit extra for a sea view rondavel. The standard of French influenced cuisine is excellent and the service is attentive without being intrusive.
The design of the pool area is both innovative and impressive and yes the photos on the website are a real reflection of the hotel.
In the week were there we did not see anybody swim in the sea as the shoreline is caked in seaweed.
In order to get the best out of this holiday you need to be willing to attempt to communicate en francais - it doesn't matter how bad your French is but showing willing goes a long way.
If you are looking for a relaxing five star break at a reasonable price Royal Lodge is an option well worth considering.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pipples1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2009

Royal Lodge is an unique place for a totally relaxing winter break.
It is 3 to 4 hours from Dakar by car (including one hour on dust roads).
Bungalows - I strongly advise to opt for a seaview - are large, finely and soberly decorated; they offer all comfort, including airco, separate sitting room, ample space to put your clothes, safe, king size jacuzzi bath, satellite TV.
Premises are perfectly well kept with a very fine tropical garden; the place is incredibly quiet; all you hear are the birds (many) and the sea.
The food is of good quality; reasonable choice for breakfast, fine menu for lunch / dinner, with lot of fresh seafood; also, for meat lovers, the zebu fillet. Service is not 100 percent efficient at all times but very kind. The wine list is perfectible, but there are a few good things.
Let us not forget we are in Africa and in the middle of nowhere; keeping such high standards is remarkable.
The large swimming pool is perfect.
Good to know : excursions and transfer arranged by the hotel are to be paid cash to the supplier; hence, think of taking some euros with you (transfer two ways was 280 EUR; 1/2 day in the mangroves is around 70 EUR).

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulklib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

The royal lodge is a peaceful heaven for travellers that want to stay awasy from the crowd. It is next to the natural reserve of siné saloum and allows you to explore the real sénégal. The suites are hudge and make you feel at home. the bathroom is just a dream !. the staff is very nice and would do anything to be nice although in the restaurant some staff appears to lack experience, but this is compensated by smiles.

I would recomend this hotel fand if you can combine it with a shorter stay in collines de nissiam which is very close and provides a different but very special experience.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BrusselsCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2008

Gorgeous, tranquil, luxurious (without being pretentious) and so relaxing! Such a beautiful location. The villas are huge - we had one of the sea view ones but I think they're all about the same size. Bedroom, with adjoining lounge area, big bathroom with tiled, stand-up shower area, massive jacuzzi looking out over the beach (probably best to keep the blinds down though when you're in it!). The beds were huge with a massive mosquito net - the only place we've stayed where we've not had to worry about my husband's feet poking through the end of the net and getting bitten! There's also a terrace which looks out over the sea and gets the sun in the afternoon. The beach is practically deserted. Each sea view villa has its own sunbeds and (thatched) umbrella. We spent most of our days there, with a visit to the pool in the afternoon to cool off. The sea is fine but there's quite a lot of seaweed to get through before you reach the nice bit, so we opted for the pool each time. Most people did but that didn't mean the pool area was crowded. Always lots of choices for sunbeds. Beautiful view of the beach and babao tree from your sunbed. You can even enjoy a cocktail in the pool bar.

For us, the best bit was meeting the group of locals who'd set up their stalls at the far end of the beach, behind the row of trees. Unlike Gambia, they really didn't bother people at all. In fact, it seemed like they weren't allowed to walk on the actual beach or come up to any of the sunbeds. If you walk along the wet sand by the sea, you would often bump into one of them and the most they'd do is shake your hand, introduce themselves, ask you how long you were staying and if it's your first time in Senegal. No pressure to see their 'shops' (shacks/rugs with carvings on!). These guys were so lovely - Olagie (or Alex as he tells the English people because it's easier to remember!) speaks the best English among them all as he spent most of his childhood in the Gambia. The rest - Adaman, David, the rastaman - speak mostly French but like to learn some English. We spent a lot of time with these guys - they invited us to lunch several times (rice/fish in a big bowl which we all squatted round and ate with our hands) which was so kind of them especially given it was their only meal of the day - but they were adamant that we stay and got offended if we didn't eat with them. We would strongly suggest spending time with these guys to see the real Senegal. They took us out for the day to an island built of oyster shells (Fadouit) which involved a trip in a banged up peugeot, a 1.5 hr ride in a pirogue across the sea, a walk around the village (strongly suggest wearing long sleeves and trousers as it felt a little intrusive walking around and it helped that we were wearing modest clothing), a short trip through the mangroves in a smaller pirogue, a trip to the fish market, a fab lunch made with the fish on coals and the whole squatting finger buffet again! And finally some very sweet tea at Ibrahim's home (very humbling). It was fantastic - a very long day but the best way to see the real Senegal. It cost probably as much as going through the hotel (about 25 Euros each) but we knew the money was going straight into the pockets of the locals rather than the hotel creaming off a significant amount.

The only things we felt it was important to let people know, as it would have been good to know...

1. The transfer - be prepared for a long journey if you're coming from Dakar airport. It's about 2-3 hrs to Saly where you drop everyone else off for the other hotels and then another 2hr journey in a jeep on very bumpy roads in the middle of nowhere. When you arrive at night, it is knackering but also a little scary if you're not aware this is normal (visions of being on the news - english couple slain!). We met some people who'd travelled from Banjul in Gambia and hadn't been warned about that journey - about 8 hours in a jeep with no air con and no stops unless they badgered the driver who often spoke no english.
2. The language - first place we've been to where the locals don't speak English at all really and our french was better than their english (which is incredible given how bad our french is!). Would definitely recommend taking a french dictionary with you and at least one of you needs to speak some french otherwise it's very tricky. There were a few couples we met who didn't speak any french and there's nothing worse than hearing an english couple speaking loudly and slowing in English "two gin and tonics"! They seemed to get by though.
3. The cost - this is obviously at the top end in terms of holidays but we were hoping the cost of food/drink would be more reflective of the local area. No such luck. About the same as in England. Cocktails about £4-5, bottles of beer about £2 each and bottles of wine from about £15. The biggest complaint was the bottled water. Given they recommend you don't drink the local water, you would hope they'd keep the cost down but these were about £2 for a large bottle and you only got one free bottle in your room on the first day. Even in England, hotels often give you one every day. So not overly impressed about that. But we just drank more cocktails to forget about it!
4. The French! - not the most friendly bunch and quite sniffy.

None of these are huge issues though - the best holiday we've had. Clean, luxurious place. Excellent and very friendly staff. Quiet and serene location with lots of lizards, pelicans, flamingoes and hornbills to see. Not somewhere to bring kids really as no entertainment or activities which suited us down to the ground!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MissyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Le Royal Lodge is not like the real world. You are pampered from arrival by a superb team. Even the gardeners greet you in a freindly fashion.

I learnt from Phillipe, the owner, that he employs 76 people but you would never know it. The room was cleaned then later made up for the night without us ever being aware of it..Alfa runs his bar effortlessly and the service and freindliness of his team was as good as we've experienced anywhere. Don't expect a top quality internet service. The connection is fragile and almost unusable for complicated Emails. The manager told me this was being addressed. You can use your mobile anytime though.

The rooms themselves are great. Lots of space and comfort and bathrooms you would want in your own house. They don't intrude on each other giving you a feeling of privacy.

We were there for 2 weeks. We saw a couple of clouds and lots of sunshine. The pool is the centre of the hotel and whoever designed it is a genius. On many days there were only half a dozen people present, all busy sleeping, reading or keeping themselves to themselves. A quick swim every hour or so cooled us down and let us feel that we were active. On one occasion the hotel had an invasion of people who had won some sort of competition. They, about 60 of them, took over for about 4 hours. We just moved down to the beach and found plenty of peace.

My wife and I jog. Most mornings at sunrise or evenings as the sun slipped into the Atlantic we would jog miles up and down the beach (if the tide was out) or on the gravel road passing the hotel. This meant we met a lot of the local population as they went to school or walked from village to village. They were, without exception, friendly and polite. The only people who asked for freebies were the very young kids and they would laugh when turned down!

In the hotel you can manage with English but a bit of French will help. Outside the hotel nobody spoke English. If you learn how to say hello in Woloof you will win smiles and respect.

For the whole 2 weeks we chose the dish of the day. Usually straight from the sea and cooked with a definite french flair. The couple of times I chose meat (I think it was lamb) I regretted it! We enjoyed stuffing ourselves at breakfast time and skipping lunch.

The bar is not cheap. We spend pounds on bottled water and had cocktails and wine most nights. The local beer is the perfect companion when watching the sun dive into the sea behind the big boabab on the beach. Prices are similar to a quality restaurant in the UK.

The only formal trip we had was a horse-drawn cart ride through the salt marshes. It was only then that we realised how remote and primitive this part of Africa really is. Extraodinary flat countryside broken up by pines and boabab trees with no hint of habitation. The only time we felt the 'awkward tourist' was on the return to the hotel as we went through the middle of the nearest village - I felt out of place and an intruder.

This holiday is close to being the best we've had, and we've been to a lot of places. However, we do not look for entertainment - there was none, we relax, read and play scrabble with our cocktails. Can't think of a better place to do it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Alaska506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

feb 22
We spent 5 perfect nights at the Royal Lodge.
We chose the `hut` with its own swimming pool.
This worked well as there were quite a few children using the other pool. We also swam in the sea. The accommodation was spacious with seating area TV well stocked fridge ,tea/coffee and a large jaccuzi bath, seperate toilet. All extremely well maintained.

We enjoyed all our meals in the restaurant. As we like fish it was good to be able to chose the `catch of the day`. The wines were reasonable with prices 12-18 pounds. You could have just a salad or a sandwich for lunch.Room service was also available.
The owner was present most days and always greeted people at their tables on an evening.

Most of the guests were French. Some of the waiters enjoyed being able to practice their English. We quite enjoyed reviving our basic French conversation skills over a cocktail de la jour.

We wandered the beach, watching them bringing in the fishing nets. We visted a nearby hotel. We befriended one of the local lads DAVID who sold object d`art on the beach. He was extremely pleasant and informative. Not at all like the bumsters we had experienced in the Gambia. The hotel arranged a trip for us into the mangrove swamps. Bewarned it gets very hot and theres no where to get shade.

The journey to and from the Gambia was an experience. As we were accompanied the whole way and travelled in a 4 wheel drive we didnt have any probs. However as I preferred Senegal to the Gambia I would chose to fly directly to DaKar on a future visit

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

This is pretty much perfect if you're looking for a beach holiday that's quiet, relaxing and discreetly luxurious.

The accommodation is absolutely brilliant in superbly designed thatched lodges with circular lounge, bedroom and bathroom, really well thought out, comfortable and spacious. Ours opened onto the beach, which costs a bit more but well worth it we thought. Nice sandy beach, good swimming, souvenir touts miraculously absent.

There's a nice pool, which most days we had to ourselves. The staff are very pleasant, on the ball and friendly without being ingratiating. It helps if you know a few words in French, but you can get by without.

The restaurant's pretty good, a French-ish interpretation of local ingredients. Wine is mostly French, mostly good, and mostly not cheap (London prces). We also had some superb cocktails!

The restaurant in fact is great for a few days, but it's the same menu for lunch and dinner, with no specials of the day, and we found in our seven day holiday we were starting to get a bit bored with the food. Also one of us is vegetarian, and while the chef made a real effort to accommodate this gastronomic eccentricity, the results varied from bizarre to prettty good.

A note for vegetarians - we strolled 20 minutes down the beach to Djidjack hotel a couple of times, and had superb and cheap lunches.

The hotel organises trips, we only did one to the extrordinary and quite beautiful village of Fadiout, built on shell islands, and Joal with its stinking fish market and the medieval hell-on-earth of the fish smoking industry. Horrible but fascinating. The trip was pricey but so vivid we thought it worth the price.

The other drawback was getting there - we flew to Gambia, and the road connection was like four hours in a tumble drier. Another time we might investigate flying into Dakar.

If you're looking for a family holiday, I'm not sure this will be right for you - teenagers will be totally bored. No entertainment, no beach sports, no jet skis, no snorkeling. But if you're not a teenager and you don't care about those things, it's a relief to get away from it all.

This place is great for an intimate, romantic break, for winding down, for catching up on your reading, for strolls on a sandy beach, and for feeling very good.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhbevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmarin
0 mi away
Les Paletuviers Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Neptune
Hotel Neptune
#4 of 22 in Mbour
601 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Royal Malango Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Keur Saloum
Hotel Keur Saloum
#1 of 3 in Toubakouta
199 reviews
0 mi away
The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Les Collines De Niassam
Les Collines De Niassam
#1 of 7 in Joal Fadiouth
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lodge

Address: Palmarin Bp 927 | Mbour, Palmarin, Senegal
Region: Senegal > Fatick Region > Palmarin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palmarin
Price Range: £177 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Palmarin
Hotel Le Royal Lodge Senegal/Palmarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing