We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Beatrice a very welcoming hostess.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Clos de la Chesneraie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos de la Chesneraie
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant Beatrice a very welcoming hostess.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our second visit and just as lovely as last year. We had a relaxing few days at Le Clos de la chesneraie in June as part of a two week holiday touring France by car. The facilities and food are first class and we would recommend the place to anyone. There are lots of tourist attractions in the area. We will return when next in France. We met another couple staying there, from England, who had chosen the b and b because of a trip advisor review they had read. We were all amazed to discover that it was the review that I had written last year, what a coincidence!. We all enjoyed a great evening meal with Beatrice and her family and friends, we had an hilarious evening with excellent food, wine and good company. Thank you Beatrice for your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lachesneraie, Propriétaire at Le Clos de la Chesneraie, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
My Dear Pam and Phil
Many thanks for your kindness, it will be always a pleasure to welcome you at home.
We also had a great time and often think about it, as one of the best evening meals we had with many Laurent's stories...
Love sinerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
80
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed in this beautiful property as part of our cycle tour of this glorious area. Beatrice was friendly and helpful giving suggestions for sightseeing and recommending a really lovely restaurant. We enjoyed the company of the other guests over atmospheric dinners provided by Beatrice and particularly appreciated the selection of local wines served in beautiful decanters.We would definitely stay in this B&B if we were ever lucky enough to be in this area again. Thank you Beatrice for your hospitality and kindness.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lachesneraie, Propriétaire at Le Clos de la Chesneraie, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
It will be with a great pleasure..!... when you will decide to return.
it was a pleasure to welcome you and to provide good adresses and lovely place where to go and visit during your stay here
We are very happy if you enjoyed your stay in our house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a wonderful 4 night stay here. The owners, Beatrice and her husband, have worked so hard on the property to provide lovely accommodations for visitors to the Loire Valley. She provided our first night's dinner in her home which we enjoyed with a French speaking couple who, thankfully, also spoke English. For the other three evenings, she recommended outstanding restaurants in the surrounding countryside. It was so convenient to make day trips to the various chateaux in the area and then return home to a pastoral and quiet setting. We hightly recommend this B & B.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PDXer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lachesneraie, Propriétaire at Le Clos de la Chesneraie, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for your kind review . We are satisfied to have been able to offer you a pleasant place during your stay in the Loire valley ! In another time, maybe , we'd loved to have the pleasure to receive you again at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay at this place. It's in a small quiet village and has a great countryside charm to it. The room was in a renovated farmhouse with a decor reflecting the "royal" style of the whole region. The owners were very friendly and made us feel at home. On the first night, we arrived quite late but they made sure we could check in quickly into the room (it was quite cold outside, so getting inside was a priority :-). I totally recommend Le Clos.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank weeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lachesneraie, Propriétaire at Le Clos de la Chesneraie, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Many thanks for this kind review about our home , it was a pleasure to welcome you.
Hoping to see you again in our beautiful Touraine...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

It was a lovely place, separate guesthouse, lovely room, good parking, etc, etc. All rooms are decorated like you can see in some Home decor magazine under French chic style. It is good location to go also to wineries.Too bad we could not stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reesepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lachesneraie, Propriétaire at Le Clos de la Chesneraie, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Reene, many thanks for your very nice review about our guest house, we are very glad that you appreciated so much.
Your comment is so funny, in fact we will have a report in the famous magazine "MAISON CHIC" special edition about romantics houses next month and in "VIVERE COUNTRY" in ITALY this month.
Hope to see you again with more time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We spent two nights in this lovely B&B in the heart of the Loire. Beatrice is a welcoming and thoughtful host ensuring our family had everything we needed for a pleasant stay. The B&Bs location makes it a good choice as a base for visiting chateaux and castles in the area and the surrounding villages offer a variety of excellent dining options should you choose to eat out.

We made good use of the outdoor furniture in front of our unit in the evenings. The gardens are beautiful and provide a relaxing space to enjoy some local wine, bread and cheeses from the market close by.

The accommodation was of a high standard offering comfortable beds, excellent bathrooms, a communal guest kitchen and WiFi. The typically french style breakfast was also excellent and included a variety of home-made breads, cakes and jams.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stingg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lachesneraie, Propriétaire at Le Clos de la Chesneraie, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated all commodities and had a good time in our Loire valley
We are satisfied to have been able to please you
It was for us a pleasure to meet you
Thank you for taking some time to write this nice review
You will always be welcome here...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed for 1 night in the annex. The place was easy to find, beautiful and welcoming. Bedrooms looked very fresh, spacious and clutter free. The annex has a nice outside space for those who'd wish to enjoy a longer stay. The B&B is well located for visiting Loire valley and chateaux.
There are couple of good local restaurants to choose from and Beatrice helped us with selection and booking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monusad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lachesneraie, Propriétaire at Le Clos de la Chesneraie, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
We gratefully thank you for saying you enjoyed the setting and you loved the confort of our home
We hope to see you again and to have much more time in our lovely Touraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
2.9 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
8.9 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Clair Cottage
Clair Cottage
#1 of 1 in Chisseaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
10.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de la Chesneraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de la Chesneraie

Property: Le Clos de la Chesneraie
Address: Beatrice CHRETIEN | 107, Rue Gilbert Michel, Saint-Georges-sur-Cher, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely traditional 19th century Touraine longère is situated in the green hills of the Cher in the Loire valley, not far from the famous châteaux Chenonceaux, set in a leafy walled garden. The charming rooms are located in one of the converted outhouses, very comfortable and stylishly decorated. Hearty breakfasts with homemade cakes and jams. The local wines are an excellent accompaniment to the guest meals prepared with garden and local products. Warm, enthusiastic welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos de la Chesneraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos De La Chesneraie France/Saint-Georges-Sur-Cher, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing