We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday, beautiful location, very...”
other travellers have booked this property
Maison de la Grandmere in spring with the wisteria in bloom lovely sunny sitting and dining w BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maison de la Grandmere in spring with the wisteria in bloom lovely sunny sitting and dining w BBQ
Hot sunny day in July 2016 the terrace has dining table, loungers and BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Maison de la Grandmere in spring with the wisteria in bloom lovely sunny sitting and dining w BBQ
Hot sunny day in July 2016 the terrace has dining table, loungers and BBQ
Kitchen has two ovens, grill, microwave, vegetable prep sink and 5 ceramic hob burners, old chimney
Bedroom one - lovely sky lights and views of the garden, en suite double room above the living room
Green bathroom one en suite with bedroom has bath, bidet, and vanity unit
Master bedroom 2 en suite bathroom has stairs from the kitchen & opposite the twin room suit family
Pink bathroom has corner toilet behind the wall of the basin, across the landing from the twin room
Pink bedroom from window has cot and changing table
Twin bedroom suits children or you can zip the beds together for a couple, there is also a child bed
Child's bed in the twin room suitable up to 8 years; this room is across the landing from the bathrm
View of cottages from the walnut tree, M Grandmere is next door to M Doiseau our home when in France
Our local vineyard with Chateau des Couldraies our neighbouring chateau
Chateau de Chenonceau is 5 km by road and easy walk along the river
River Indre and chateau at nearby mediaeval Loches half an hour to the south, great market too
Market at nearby Montrichard on Fridays sells everything from fish and fresh fruit & veg to clothes
Montrichard market - the onion and garlic seller
Chateau de Chambord - one if the biggest and best know - half an hour away
Summer sunflowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint-Georges-sur-Cher, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable it was and the perfect location.
Liked least: Kitchen has too many utensils!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lovely cottage. It is a great place for a family as well as two couples, the third bedroom is really intended for children. We are child friendly, the garden is secure and safe for youngsters. The cottage is well equipped including dish washer and washing machine, tumble drier and a new fridge freezer. We hope you will let your friends know about us and to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Possendorf (D)
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lovely cottage. It is a good sized cottage with three bedrooms, two en suite, and a children's room. we are close to the vineyards, so great for walking or cycling, bikes are supplied, and we are within easy reach of the lovely chateau at Chenonceau. Please let your friends know about us, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
satxtrave...
San Antonio, TX
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Maison de la Grandmere”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I traveled with two other couples to France and spent four nights at Maison de la Grandmere at the end of June. It was a lovely stay. You can tell the owners have been significant investment and effort into making this a first class rental and vacation home. The home was well equipped, including laundry facilities. This was very convenient for us after having spent six nights in Paris prior to traveling to the Loire Valley. The beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of bathroom facilities both upstairs and downstairs. The owners also provided detailed instructions on the home and the local area. The location was awesome. Literally a few miles from Château de Chenonceau and some local cave wineries. It was the perfect base station for us to explore the valley. I would highly recommend this rental, especially to larger groups (there were six of us and there was PLENTY of space for all of us).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and laundry facilities
Liked least: low ceiling in upper bedroom - but it wasn't a surprise
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
Thank you, its great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. A lot of thought has gone into making this a comfortable place with everything you might require. The location on the outskirts of St Geogres sur Cher is across the river from the chateau at Chenonceau, lovely walks along the river, my favourite is to go down early in the morning and watch the sun rise behind the chateau! Thanks
Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charm and comfort
Liked least: That we could not stay longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jul 2013
We are delighted you have enjoyed our lovely cottage so much. We are on the edge of a little village just 4 minutes drive from Chenonceau the most famous chateau in the Loire Valley, there are lovely walks and bikes rides on the doorstep and a large garden to enjoy. Many thanks, hope to see you again - Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 13 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds and bedding.
Liked least: Not quite as obvious in the dark late at night as you'd think but only a minor fault!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
Thank you Meeta we are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay. We have really lovely beds with good quality mattresses and duvets, white linen and towels. We also provide synthetic bedding for anyone allergic to feathers. There is a really big garden so great for children; also we are close to the vineyards with good walks and cycle rides, we provide bikes and many of our guests use these; we are within cycle ride of Chenonceaux. Lovely in summer but great the rest of the year too as the chateaux are open all the year round.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable well equipped cottage in great location
Liked least: nothing of significance- there is a bit of a funny smell near the water heater
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
So pleased you have enjoyed your stay in our lovely cottage. Maison de la Grandmere has two large en suite bedrooms and a twin which is mainly for children but can provide a third double bed. I should add the garden is child friendly and secure. Great to hear you were so well looked after by our local shops; we are also only 4 minutes drive from Chenonceau which is really lovely, and has a great restaurant for lunchtimes. Please tell your friends about us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$145
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing