We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed even longer”
Review of Le Moulin du Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Moulin du Port
Certificate of Excellence
East Hampton, CT
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed even longer”
Reviewed 31 July 2010

2 nights at the Moulin was not enough! Isabelle & Thierry have a beautiful property and made us feel very welcome. Our room, the Arabesque, was very large and they added 2 cots for our 2 small children. The room was spotless as was the very modern bathroom, which had a tub (a rare treat on our month-long trip!) It also had a lovely view of the Cher River - very relaxing. Breakfasts in the conservatory were a chance to meet other travelers and make new friends. The food was very good: a fresh fruit salad, pastries, bread & jams & honey, really interesting juices, homemade breads, and big bowls of coffee! We definitely lingered over breakfasts.

Our kids were thrilled with the swimming pool, as well as with the swing set and ping pong table in the garden. We sat in the garden one evening with a picnic-style dinner and a bottle of wine. It's really lovely. The living room area has a computer with Internet for guests to use, and some comfy seating with lots of good magazines and a chess set, which my 6 year old played with a little French boy. Upstairs outside of our room was another living area with a library (including kids books) and a TV and a very friendly little cat.

Location is great - we limited ourselves to 2 chateau (Chenonceau & Amboise) which were both close and very enjoyable. Our son was very impressed with Amboise since we found the tomb of Leonardo da Vinci there.

Gracious hosts, beautiful setting, comfy & clean room, delicious breakfasts....a lovely stay. Merci Isabelle et Thierry!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easthamptontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    61
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
138
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed for 6 nights in the cottage located close to the main house. It was very comfortable and practical for us as the cottage is self contained. The position was great as you could walk/ride to Chenonceaux and drive very easily to all the other chateaux in the area. Isabelle was very helpful and friendly and the children loved the use of the bikes. The Loire Valley was just gorgeous and we hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calfrarichness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Our stay in le Moulin du Port was comfortable and the owners are helpfull. However, the rooms are overpriced (we payed 115 euro a nigt) compared to the other B&B' s we visited in this region and France and the interiour of the "shared areas" may have an update.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther_Pasja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

A break in our journey from the South to home selected because of its location, close to Chenonceau. Our hosts seemed unprepared for our visit.We had booked 2 nights with evening meals but were told that there was no meal on the first night. We had confirmed by email. However we went to a local restaurant recommended by our hosts and its was excellent. On our return at 21.30 we found the main gates locked and chained! Called on our mobile and were let in. Apparently our hostess should have told us to use another side entrance which was always open. We did enjoy the rest of our stay and the breakfast and the evening meal were first class.
The recommended walk to the Chateau is easy although it is not worth the detour on the south of the river to view the Chateau from that side. We did pass a spot where someone was living rough and it was not very attractive. After crossing the bridge to the north side of the river after 3kms, it looked possible to walk along the north side towards the Chateau and then cut inland around the park thus avoiding the roads. Late September was a great time to visit Chenonceau as it was very quiet. Try the restaurant Auberge du Cheval Rouge at nearby Chisseaux. We had the 28 euro menu which was great with lots of free dishes courtesy of the lady owner.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We recently stayed three nights at the Moulin du Port. This is a lovely and quiet B&B on the banks of the Cher River, close to Chenonceaux. We stayed in the room "Cotes du Jardin," which overlooks the front of the house -- i.e., we did not have a river view. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious, equipped with a firm, comfortable king size bed, and a generous sized stall shower (but no bath tub, which was our preference -- other rooms have tubs).

We were delighted by the quality of the food as well. Each morning, breakfast included croissants and bread, a home-baked quick bread, and goat cheese served with home-made raspberry preserves. We enjoyed the Table d'Hote dinner 2 of the 3 nights that we were there. Not only was the food delicious, but it was an interesting opportunity to mingle with other guests, who during our stay were a mix of French and Americans.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable room, excellent value, delicious food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MBA60302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

This is a rare find... fabulous hosts, great food, quiet room with nice views of the river, short drive to chateaux, longer drive to wine caves, etc. Their breakfasts were well-prepared and the food was plentiful. The optional dinner was a real bargain. After a long day of driving, simply staying at the b and b for a fabulous, quiet, relaxing dinner with conversation with the host was a real treat. We wish we had more time to just hang out.

  • Liked — the innkeepers!
  • Disliked — no problems at all
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JandMherst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Hey done the backpacker bit and now as a family of 4 ((2 young teenagers) we have now moved to being comfortable with more the 3 to 5 star - We messed up the booking by not confirming, but luckily for us they still had two rooms availble for us with a 4 star lift/evevator to boot.. What a lovely place, rooms are GREAT, beautifullly decorated in a modern but chic way, and above all, very clean. Easily enough space for an extra bed or two in the double room. Serene water views of the river out all windows . Thierry and Isabell were lovely, recommended a terrific restaurant in town for dinner, which we went to and enjoyed very much , we got lost on the return and without us knowing Thierry waited up for us for an hour or two , rang the restaurant to see if we had been caught up, was very concerned we had yet to return, truely caring owners it was unexpected but very much appreciated. Breakfast is in a glassed attrium with veiws over the adjoining lush paddock spotted with trees and was a great way to start the day , very proud of their home made jams and cups/bowls of coffee and chocolate, croissants etc. They gave us great information on local sights . Our kids (10 and 13yrs) so relieved to find such a lovely place on our first night of touring the french countryside .Ruby, their Cav. King Charles (super friendly dog). made the kids feel at home ... same as our aussie variety back in Sydney ... WANT A SUPER CLEAN, SUPER FRIENDLY STAY, RIVER VIEWS AND SO CLOSE TO THE CHEVERNEY AND CHAMBORD .... WHAT A FIND !! CAN'T RECOMMEND IT HIGHER ...travel half way around the world and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Loire !! If we can help with any tips feel free to contact us at david@strongproperty.com.au

  • Liked — Clean, fresh, location and friendly
  • Disliked — not having a sat. nav at night to get home
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidGSydAust_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
0.5 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
357 reviews
2.9 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
848 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clair Cottage
Clair Cottage
#1 of 1 in Chisseaux
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
619 reviews
6.5 mi away
Le Cheval Blanc
Le Cheval Blanc
#1 of 1 in Blere
115 reviews
8.0 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#10 of 25 in Amboise
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin du Port

Property: Le Moulin du Port
Address: 26 rue du Gue de l Arche, 41400 Saint-Georges-sur-Cher, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast and cottage in Loire Valley near Chenonceau and Amboise in an old mill along the Cher river. Wooded ground, heated swimming pool, fishing place and a lot of activities and visits in the heart of the Loire Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Le Moulin du Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin Du Port France/Saint-Georges-Sur-Cher, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing