We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Trip”
Review of Villa Trasimeno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Trasimeno
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have traveled extensively for the past 10 years and we just had an experience we will never forget. We were extending another trip to spend a week in the Tuscany and Umbria area of Italy. We stayed at Villa Trasimeno, a bed and breakfast near Passigano Sul Trasimeno on a hillside overlooking historic Lake Trasimeno. It is within easy reach for day trips from of Florence to Orvieto and Montalcino to Assisi. The hosts, Carmelo and Luana Oppedisano, took care of our every need including breakfast each day and a special three course dinner each evening. Carmelo is a wonderful chef and Luana is a fantastic pastry chef. During the day Carmelo took us to fifteen villages all within a 1.5 hour driving radius in his very comfortable van. His knowledge of the history of all of Italy and his insights on artists, sculptures, and paintings was extraordinary. No matter where we went, he was able to recommend a restaurant for a remarkable lunch. On the last day, we asked him to take us to some villages where tourists do not go and he produced an unforgettable day. Carmelo and Luana lived in the United States for several years owning restaurants in Cleveland and their English is perfect. For seven days we dined on specialties with never a repeat item. We had met Carmelo on a tour in Rome and his knowledge of all of Rome and its history was impressive. By the end of the week we were part of the family and highly recommend Villa Trasimeno, Carmelo, and Luana.

Room Tip: Select the rooms with a Lake Trasimeno view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Fantastic experience in Umbria and Tuscany. Beautiful villa overlooking picturesque Lake Trasimeno. Hosts Carmelo and Luana and their daughter Aurora made us feel like family during our week with them. Their hospitality could not have been more gracious. Meals were a gourmet delight, with great variety, flavor, and freshness, and paired nicely with local wines.
Carmelo's tours of Florence and the beautiful hlll towns were filled with rich historical facts, and included both traditional and unique sights. His knowledge of the region and its past made each location more special and less "touristy". Each day, though busy, was filled with plenty of time for relaxation and enjoying nice lunches, shopping, coffees, wines, and an incredible, signature dinner. We plan to go back and to recommend Villa Trasimeno to all of our friends. Grazie mille, Carmelo and Luana!!

Stayed: July 2013
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the villa for 4 days, overlooking beautiful lake Trasimeno. Their hospitality was wonderful. The dinners were exceptional, gourmet, delicious wines from the area. Carmelo took us to Assissi for a tour he is very knowledgable about the area. It was nice to have someone who spoke English. Our stay was one of the highlights of our trip. Carmelo, luana and aurora could not have been better hosts.thanks for the great stay. Hope to see you in Cleveland some winter day!!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MARY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is a small guest house located far away from Passignano and
can not be reached unless you happen to be driving your car. There
are no taxis or public transportation from Passignano or Terontola.Taxis would have to be
called from Perugia and if called would charge for 30 kms which is the trip they have to make
to pick you up. Since the site is remote , it was necessary to go to Passignano for meals,
breakfast at the Trasimeno Villa was very modest.The 5/5 scores given to this hotel gave
us the impression that we shall discover a beautiful and hospitable resort in the midst of the
Umbria rolling hills. We discovered that hotels in Passignano would have been a much
better choice and offer the same scenery and access to all attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mustafa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We are very thankful that friends recommended Villa Trasimeno and the Oppedisanos to us while we were planning our trip to Italy. We spent four wonderful nights with Carmelo and Luana at their villa. This villa is in an excellent location to experience the beautiful hill towns of both Umbria and Tuscany.

We started our stay with a dinner and wine pairing prepared by Carmelo and Luana. It was an excellent meal and a lovely evening. Our daughter, a picky eater, tried truffles and loved them. Carmelo trained as a master chef in Italy and they owned a successful restaurant in the US for many years so their English is very good. We had a unique and delicious breakfast each morning with excellent, attentive service provided by Luana.

Carmelo conducted two tours for us during our stay. One to Montalcino for wine tastings which were fantastic and another to Siena and Cortona where we thoroughly enjoyed sights in these two hill towns. A skilled and knowledgeable tour guide, Carmelo gave us a wonderfully personalized experience on both tours. I wish we had planned to stay longer so we could have experienced additional tours with Carmelo as our guide.

We had a beautiful view of Lake Trasimeno from our balcony. The weather was a bit cool so we didn't spend much time sitting on the private balcony but I think in warmer weather the balcony would have been a lovely place to unwind while reading a book and sipping a great italian wine. We had two rooms, Toscana and Lake Trasimeno, and both were adequately sized, clean and nicely decorated. WiFi was easy to setup and available in our rooms.

We look forward to coming back to Umbria and Villa Trasimeno to spend more time with Carmelo and Luana. There are so many great places to explore in Italy that are readily accessible from their villa. Also, the villa would be a wonderful home away from home to just sit, read, and relax for a day or two.

Thank you, Carmelo and Luana, for your amazing hospitality and friendship! Please look us up when you are back in Ohio.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was our second stay at Villa Trasimeno and we had included it, as a must on our itinerary, for this trip.
We had never forgotten Carmello and Luana and their warmth and hospitality.
Unfortuantely ,the weather was against us, as Italy and other parts of Europe, were experiencing a freakishly cold Spring.
However, we gained great joy from the amazing meals Carmello cooked and the excellent tour we went on.
We visited Montalcino, Pienza and Montepulciano...all beautiful Tuscan towns.
The tour also included a wine tasting at Castello Romtorio, which was wonderful.
This was a long, enjoyable and very worthwhile day. I would strongly recommend organizing a tour or two, with Carmello.
As you can see by the reviews, this B&B is very popular with Americans, as Carmello and Luana ran a restaurant in the states for many years.
Lake Trasimeno is a great location for visiting both Tuscany and Umbria and Villa Trasimeno is made extra special by the effort that Luana and Carmelo make in looking after their guests.
Thank-you for a great stay, Carmello and Luana.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederiksen205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent 3 nights at Villa Trasimeno and had a wonderful time. Carmelo, Luana and Aurora were the perfect hosts. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner at the Villa all 3 days we stayed and had the pleasure of tours with Carmelo for 2 days. Carmelo drove us to San Gimignano, Siena, Cortona, Montalcino, Pienza & Montepulciano. We were able to walk around each town and see the highlights. We enjoyed a private winery tour and tasting at Castello Romitorio with Carmelo in Montalcino. If you have a chance you must have dinner at the Villa. The food was spectacular and much thought was given to each guests specific tastes. Upon arrival we were asked if we have any food aversion or allergies. One night he made salmon which is something I dislike and they were kind enough to prepare perch for me instead. If we mentioned we liked something it was on the table that day. Our only "issue" was that the wifi didn't work in our room due to the location being at the end of the house and next to the mountain. But it worked in all other locations so not a big deal. Overall, I cannot say anything negative about our stay at Villa Trasimeno. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klabens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passignano Sul Trasimeno hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
470 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
236 reviews
4 mi away
Relais Borgo Torale
Relais Borgo Torale
#1 of 7 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villa Paradiso Village
Villa Paradiso Village
#4 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
148 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Cavalieri
Hotel Cavalieri
#10 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Trasimeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Trasimeno

Address: Via San Donato 21, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range: £104 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property functions as an upscale Bed and Breakfast. Each room is beautifully decorated in a different theme. Four of the villa's rooms have breathtaking Lake views 2 facing Hill side. We offer private tours and excursions to the winery and to the nearby major cities. It's conveniently located near important cities such as: Assisi, Perugia, Gubbio, Todi, Florence, the Chianti region, Montepulciano, Rome, Siena, Montalcino, San Gimignano, Arezzo, Cortona, Orvieto. Both the immediate and surrounding areas have much to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Trasimeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Trasimeno Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing