We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true slice of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Slow Life is a beautiful restoration run by a wonderful family. It is located in an incredible valley, off-the-beaten track where one can relax with only the quiet jingle of cattle bells as company. The infinity pool is gorgeous, the view immaculate.  The best part, though, is Bruno's (the owner) ability in the kitchen.  The man is a genius and the food is the best we had in Italy.  Breakfast is hearty and dinner is a culinary masterclass in the use of simple, fresh ingredients to create wonderful Umbrian dishes.  We thoroughly recommend Slow Life to anyone who wants to get away from it all and enjoy a true slice of heaven. It was a fantastic way to start our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jameschilvers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

We loved our stay at Slow Life Umbria for many reasons. The comfort and luxury was superb. The hosts were lovely people who were very helpful and welcoming. The accomodations and surrounding beauty was magnifisent. The cuisine was also incredible. Freshly squeezed juices, sumptuous pastas, locally grown organic produce. It was really special. The other big thing we liked was the proximity to many historic towns which were excellent day trips. We really discovered italy!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

There are lots of beautiful places in Italy, but I haven't found many that combine the natural beauty, stylish accommodation, lovely food and gracious personality of Slow Life Umbria. We stayed for several days on the recommendation of a friend, and had a really good time. Bruno and Carol were wonderful hosts, friendly, generous, and fun to chat with. They know a lot about food, wine, and the surrounding area too. Through the stable where she keeps her own horse, Carol arranged a fantastic trail riding experience that took us through the Umbrian hills with great views of Lake Trasimeno. Another afternoon when we arrived back from sightseeing in nearby Perugia, Bruno and his friend, a local chef, showed us how to make fresh tagliatelle, incorporating the wild mushrooms we had purchased at a roadside stand into an impromptu meal. Delicious! The rooms were beautiful too, with top notch furniture and linens, and nice views. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAR604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I have visited Umbria and Tuscany several times but Bruno and Carol (the folks that run this small, beautiful boutique hotel) really opened my eyes to this place like never before. In addition to providing a luxury hotel experience, nestled among olive groves, they helped us find experiences that I'm sure most tourists miss out on.

One day, Bruno took us to a bustling lunch spot near San Savino that was filled with locals, several of whom greeted him warmly. Another day it was sort of street fair in one of the nearby villages where local families and their kids were playing games, local artists displayed their work and all sorts of home cooking/baking was available. Again, thanks to Bruno, we had interesting conversations with folks that live there.

Until he told us about it, I had missed an amazing Franciscan monestary, quite litterly hidden for hundreds of years in the in a canyon, in the nearby hills. Its a gem.

Being a lover of great food, I can't say enough good things about the hotel resturant. Bruno is a fantastic chef but he also invite local chefs to make meals in the local cusine. I even was able to get one of these local chefs to teach me how she prepares wild boar. We don't have much opportunity to prepare wild board here in Seattle but it was a great memory.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that has a portch where one of Carol's cats suns herself in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our review is a bit late but better late than never

The people are fantastic (all members of the family even the dogs) , if they can do something to help or improve your stay they will do

The rooms are clean and how they should be

The surrounding is fantastic , if you're used to living in a city it's like you're on another planet

Food is great , if you can go searching for the truffles , they can organize a tour with a local guy and then you can have a dinner with the found truffles... yummie!

Just have a look at the pictures , i believe they say more than a thousand words

Enjoy!

Dominique & Céline
From BELGIUM

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DominiqueDevelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is quite a late review. We stayed at Slow Life back in July 2011 during our Honeymoon trip through Spain and Italy. Initially we hadn't booked anywhere for the middle part of our trip and were looking for a peaceful, relaxing place to stay for a few nights after the hustle and bustle of staying in larger cities. We stumbled across Slow Life online, loved the images and description from the website and made our way there. It was remote and our GPS did struggle to get us there initially, but we did find it in the end. Probably best to follow Bruno's instructions rather than your GPS. Anyway...once we got there we couldn't have been more impressed. The place was perfect. Beautiful old farmhouses were converted into luxurious rooms, and the owners had designed a warm, modern and comfortable communal space where your could eat meals, have a drink and read a book, or just take in the scenery. The mantra here to "slow down and relax". There was no mobile phone reception and no wi-fi. This was a blesssing as it really does allow you to slow right down.

Bruno and his family are the warmest of hosts, attending to any of your needs, providing great local recommendations and best of all cooking the most amazing meals using fresh organic, ingredients (many from their own garden).

We recommend this property very highly if you are travelling to the area near Lago Trasimeno.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Slow Life was the best part of our trip to Italy. The hotel is lovely, very peaceful, in a wonderful country setting, yet still in a very handy location. Our room was spacious and elegantly simple. Our hosts made us feel like we were old friends and the food that they prepared for us, exquisite. Truely a wonderful experience. We will be back.....
Michael & Jan

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passignano Sul Trasimeno hotels
4.4 mi away
Villa Paradiso Village
Villa Paradiso Village
#4 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
536 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
470 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Cavalieri
Hotel Cavalieri
#10 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
148 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
236 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#7 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme

Address: Loc. Castel Rigone Campagna 32, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range: £145 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slow life Umbria means to live according to the rhythm of nature, to rediscover moments of serenity and harmony with nature and within ourselves.Slow life Umbria is an antique stone house situated in the heart of Umbria surrounded by woods and olive groves. ( From the buzz of the bees to the sound of the wind touching the plants, under a sun that enhances colours and heats the skin…) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slow Life Umbria - Relais De Charme Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing