We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed 5 nights at Slow Life and left recharged and relaxed.
Nestled in the hills of Umbria away from any hustle and bustle it was a great opportunity to tune out of the digital world and tune back in to nature and the natural rhythms of life.
We stayed in the Green room with an extra bed (optional) and a private terrace area as the room was at the end. Plenty of space in the bathroom with a large walk in shower. Bed was very comfortable and I slept so well. Understated chic would sum up the room.
As the weather was great we had breakfast outside every day with yummy homemade muffins. In fact the food is great and we chose to eat dinner 3 out of the 5 evenings we were there. Wine and food were delicious. Bruno sure knows how to cook. In fact the owners were very friendly and helpful but not at all intrusive (in case that is something you might worry about).
There is a beautiful pool which the children loved. Lovely place to relax on the sun loungers and soak up the colours and scents of the nature around you, as well as the sunshine. Several large sun umbrellas offer all the shade you may require when it's really hot and sunny (which it was during our stay).
We travelled with two young children (3 and 6) and it was great to let them run free and explore, although we made it clear they could not go near the pool without an adult. The fact that there was no TV at Slow Life did not bother them in the slightest; they were too busy trying to track down the 3 kittens in between the lavender bushes.
We made daily trips out and about but the children were always itching to get back to the pool at Slow Life. If you want to be flexible you do need a car as it is a few kilometres off the tarmac road near Magione. Don't forget to take, and follow, Bruno's directions - typing the address into the sat nav lead us totally astray!

Room Tip: The Green room has a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMS05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed at Slow life for 4 nights, but could easily have stayed here longer. It is a great place to either use for a short relaxing trip, or, like we did, combine it with Firenze, Rome, or other busy places. You"ll be able to relax here, but at the same time there's lots of smaller towns within an hours driving distance to visit. It's nice to go for a hike early in the morning, before it gets too warm in the summer. There's a nice size pool to work on your tan on a lazy day as well. The place looks great and is a nice combination of the old style farms mixed with relaxed modern design. The beds are super!(which is always a pluss, since this is not the case at most places). And then there's Bruno, Carol and children who really enjoy what they're doing....and it shows. Bruno's food is great, nice healthy breakfasts with nice bread(uncommon at a lot of places), fresh juice, fruit and "eggs-on-demand" :-) Dinner is nice honest food, using mainly local produce...if you hint early in the morning what you desire, it might actually end up on your plate at night! And the views are great, if you're into photography there's lots to capture. We'll definitely come back sometime, until then I hope lots of other people will enjoy this lovely place and Bruno's food! If there's anything negative to mention; one mysterious bird sounding like a car-alarm decided to have his residence in the tree right outside our window:-) And for those that are afraid that they can't be online: in the reception-area you can hook up. Ciao!

Room Tip: Room nr.13 has a great view from the window....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plien-Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I and another couple spent 5 nights here recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is exquisitely designed and finished. Its location nestled among olive trees on the hillside makes for a thoroughly relaxing stay. Some days we spent going for walks, hanging out at the pool. Other days we were hardcore tourists going to Cortona, Assissi and Perugia, all just a short drive away. We appreciated the tips we got from the owners to find off the beaten track recommendations for hikes, sites and food. We can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Booking a really last gasp escape from the awful British weather, Slow Life was a risk, having discovered it by chance as one of Tablet's newbies. Any concerns were immediately dispelled; perhaps the accuracy of the directions, Carol's genuine, warm welcome, possibly the quality of the simple, honest accommodation, the tranquility of the setting, or maybe the potent scent of rosemary, jasmine, and genista. And then breakfast...here come the boys; Bruno's much vaunted wizardry perfectly accompanied by the antics of young Zachary, the family puppy who you'd forgive anything. Dinner was equally memorable, from the excellent aperitivos, through the outstanding food and perfectly accompanied wines, to the firefly ballet bringing each evening to a close.

In summary a fantastic discovery; the place, the people;
-the dogs.

Room Tip: No spa or fitness centre, but the pool was very well thought out; very sheltered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickeywhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Slow Life is a beautiful restoration run by a wonderful family. It is located in an incredible valley, off-the-beaten track where one can relax with only the quiet jingle of cattle bells as company. The infinity pool is gorgeous, the view immaculate.  The best part, though, is Bruno's (the owner) ability in the kitchen.  The man is a genius and the food is the best we had in Italy.  Breakfast is hearty and dinner is a culinary masterclass in the use of simple, fresh ingredients to create wonderful Umbrian dishes.  We thoroughly recommend Slow Life to anyone who wants to get away from it all and enjoy a true slice of heaven. It was a fantastic way to start our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jameschilvers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We loved our stay at Slow Life Umbria for many reasons. The comfort and luxury was superb. The hosts were lovely people who were very helpful and welcoming. The accomodations and surrounding beauty was magnifisent. The cuisine was also incredible. Freshly squeezed juices, sumptuous pastas, locally grown organic produce. It was really special. The other big thing we liked was the proximity to many historic towns which were excellent day trips. We really discovered italy!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

There are lots of beautiful places in Italy, but I haven't found many that combine the natural beauty, stylish accommodation, lovely food and gracious personality of Slow Life Umbria. We stayed for several days on the recommendation of a friend, and had a really good time. Bruno and Carol were wonderful hosts, friendly, generous, and fun to chat with. They know a lot about food, wine, and the surrounding area too. Through the stable where she keeps her own horse, Carol arranged a fantastic trail riding experience that took us through the Umbrian hills with great views of Lake Trasimeno. Another afternoon when we arrived back from sightseeing in nearby Perugia, Bruno and his friend, a local chef, showed us how to make fresh tagliatelle, incorporating the wild mushrooms we had purchased at a roadside stand into an impromptu meal. Delicious! The rooms were beautiful too, with top notch furniture and linens, and nice views. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAR604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passignano Sul Trasimeno hotels
4.4 mi away
Villa Paradiso Village
Villa Paradiso Village
#4 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
536 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Cavalieri
Hotel Cavalieri
#10 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
545 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
148 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#7 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
126 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme

Address: Loc. Castel Rigone Campagna 32, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range: £145 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slow life Umbria means to live according to the rhythm of nature, to rediscover moments of serenity and harmony with nature and within ourselves.Slow life Umbria is an antique stone house situated in the heart of Umbria surrounded by woods and olive groves. ( From the buzz of the bees to the sound of the wind touching the plants, under a sun that enhances colours and heats the skin…) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slow Life Umbria - Relais De Charme Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing