We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CHARMING HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kursaal Umbria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Certificate of Excellence
verbier
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“CHARMING HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

we stayed in the hotel for one night on our journey, to cut our journey's time. We picked the hotel at a minute's thought because of the high ratings it received in Booking.com it definitely justifies its high ratings.
The hotel grounds run into the lake. It is a converted old villa. It caters for caravans as well as cyclists but as the grounds are full of trees and the caravans are parked under the trees it is certainly not obtrusive. Instead it enables the hotel to have a good, popular and successful restaurant with a lively atmosphere.
the rooms are comfortable ( we had 2) the beds are good, the showers have the correct pressure. the staff are very helpful. The view of the lake is beautiful.
It is a very good 3* hotel which I would definitely recommend and would not hesitate staying here again.
I complimented the manager and I was offered a bottle of their wine as a gift

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurs2010, Proprietario at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review...it was a pleasure for us to receive it! We hope to meet you again in the future!

With our best regards!
Bruno, Sharon and all the Kursaal Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    105
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
117
236
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
216 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Loved this hotel's location. If you are a fisherman or tow your own boat around it could not be bettered. Our room had stylish decor, a very comfortable bed and was located on the 2nd Floor. The small balcony overlooking Lake Trasimeno was the icing on the cake when it came to unwinding and indulging in a home made gin and tonic whilst watching the sun disappear behind the green rolling Umbrian hills in the distance. The ample breakfast was certainly sufficient to see us through the day no problem.

The staff were all helpful and attentive. The restaurant offered fresh local ingredients in all their dishes and dinner we enjoyed on sadly one and evening there was to be highly recommended. A 3 course meat or fish selection was the choice my wife and myself decided to go for and both of us agreed that it was one of the highlight meals of our 15 day tour of central Italy. Pork loin carpaccio with celery, Pecorino cheese and broad bean ravioli with cherry tomatoes and basil, Roast suckling pig with rosemary potatoes was the servings for the meat menu. I opted for the Fried whiting,Potatoes gnocchi with smoked tench and finished with Lake caught perch fillets in Sangiovese sauce accompanied by a vegetable pie. At this was washed down at the highly efficient and knowledgeable maitre d' Bruno's suggestion, of a a local Magione produced red wine and it proved to be the ideal accompaniment. One very large portion dessert of a fruits of the forest meringue, drlzzled with fresh cream and ice cream on the side which had to be shared between us as it was all we could manage at this stage before finishing with the liquor coffee. Total price for a 1st class dining experience was €76 including 2 large bottle of water and IVA tax. We consider this to be great value for money and would recommend anyone in the vicinity of Lake Trasimeno to seek out this restaurant. Tables were limited on the evening we dined because of all the caravan owners dining there, that tells you something about self catering holidays if nothing else!

Room Tip: Request top floor lake view room. Book dinner in lake restaurant before you arrive if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurs2010, Proprietario at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Guest,

It was an amazing surprise for us to receive your review...words cannot express our thanks! Our proposal is to do the best for our guests, and knowing that everything for you was perfect, make us very happy!
We really, really hope to meet you again in the future!

Meanwhile, we send you our best regards!
Bruno and all the Kursaal staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel, and Passignano, and could not have enjoyed our stay more. We thoroughly enjoyed our bright and spacious bedroom in the attic. The staff, especially Bruno, Carlo, Sara and Sharon were extremely friendly and helpful. We ate every evening in the restaurant, enjoying the food, wine tasting and view of the lake. The surrounding campsite seemed a little odd at first, but the warmth and comfort of the hotel and its staff quickly compensated. Hiking in the surrounding hills is excellent and the lakeside bike path is worth exploring. We really appreciated being picked up and dropped off at the train station (hotel is fair ways away), and to the start ok a hiking trail .... staff went above and beyond our expectations in this regard.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rothar-gorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurs2010, Responsabile reception at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for all your kind and gentle words! It makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here at the Kursaal! We really hope to meet you again in the future!

With our best regards!
Sharon, Bruno and all the Kursaal Staff!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
den haag
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

After 5 years with our camper on the campingsite with the spectacular view on the lake Trasimeno and the perfect sanitairy, we stayed for the first time in the hotel, because we have sold our camper. These 5 days were more then exceptional!!!!!
Room, food, every evening 4 courses choice between fish or meat, every evening different regional wines, breakfast, a very heartly service, view on the lake, and last but not least at a price in spring which is elsewhere in Europe not to achive with this quality. And the presence of a small nice village, which you can reach by car or by bike, or even in 20 minutes by foot along the lake.
In the neighbourhood are known historical cities such as Cortona, Perugia, Assisi, all within 1/2 our by car or by train [max 1 h].
And with nice weather you can make a trip with the boat on the lake.
Or just enjoy the terrace with the swimmingpool [open from half may] and the beautiful garden.
Thank you Bruno, Carlo and all the others!!!!!

Room Tip: most of the rooms have lake-view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isaac v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurs2010, Responsabile reception at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your review! It makes us happy to know that everything was perfect for you!

We wish you all the best and we hope to see you again next year!
Kind Regards!

Bruno, Carlo and all the Kursaal staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed in Kursaal Hotel four days in April 2013 and enjoyed a lot.
Very good place for journey around Umbria and south Toscana. It’s situated not far from the autostrada, but the place is peaceful and picturesque.
We have absolutely no problem, everything was good. The Rooms was big enough, tidy and comfortable. Very friendly staff. They gave us some good advices about sightseeing. The restaurant Kursaal is very, very delicious!! Strictly recommended :)!
It was a perfect start our trip in Umbria and Toscana.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaElpidinskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This campingsite on the Hotel grounds was recommended to us and we decided to give it a try.
We stayed with our oldtimer caravan the first two weeks of september and had a nice location near the lake. The plots are big enough.
The plots near the lake are a lot smaller but you have a spectaculair view on the lake. With bad weather however you are not protected from storm or wind there.

The combination of campingsite and Hotel works well for us. It was like camping in a park with good facilities nearby. The restauarant was excellent although not cheap. Free WiFi around the hotel was a big Plus for us and certainly extended our stay.
Many Italian hotels or campings ask 2 Euro for one hour and 3 Euro for two hours WiFi use.
We select campingsites, restaurants etc on free WiFi.

Acros the street is a Pizzeria with great Pizza's, also for take away. When we ate there, lots of things were added to the bill, like using knife and fork and bread we did not ask for or touched.
Take away is the cheapest and again, it is very good food!

There is a beach, but we did not swim in the lake because of the many plants and the muddy bottom. We preferred the swimming pool where we could swim without the silly caps that are mandatory in many italian swimming pools. plenty of lounge chairs, benches and places to relax are available on the Hotel grounds.

The staff is very friendly and kind and appreciate it when you try your best to speak italian.
A small market is available for day to day items, a supermarket is not very far away in the village.
We visited Perugia (park below and take the elevators or escalators to the center on top of then hill) and a lot of small pittoresk villages. They are all great!

The frequently passing train did not bother us and the sound was not disturbing. We slept well.

Room Tip: Plots near the hotel are within the WiFi range. Plots near the water have great views but no prote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damme, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

If a hotel manager stands out in kindness and hospitality, and you can feel the same attitude in every staff member from the room maid to the restaurant waiter and the breakfast lady, then you know that your in a very well run place. Over many years we have stayed in hunderds of hotels. This place stands out in every aspect (in it's own class). Rooms are nice and clean, restaurant is very good, service (owner and all staff member) is outstanding!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philippe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Passignano Sul Trasimeno
0.5 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.9 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
#3 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trasimeno
Hotel Trasimeno
#5 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#6 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kursaal Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kursaal Umbria

Property: Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Address: Via Europa 24, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kursaal Umbria 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kursaal is your opportunity for a pleasant holiday on the shores of Lake Trasimeno, surrounded by green hills, enjoying a warm welcome and delicious cuisine, a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque village of Passignano and close to the most important heritage cities of Umbria and Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kursaal Umbria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kursaal Umbria Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing