We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Umbrian Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kursaal Umbria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Umbrian Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Spent a week in August here in this lovely hotel set on the edge of Lake Trasimeno. It is a family run hotel with camping, motorhomes, swimming pool and a great restaurant. The whole thing works really well together. Staff are very friendly and helpful - they cannot do enough for you.

A mark of the generosity of the place is that they give free bike hire to all guests. We were given free drinks when we arrived (much too) early so that they could make up our room for us.

The hotel is in a beautiful and tranquil setting and is a short walk from the town of Passignano and all of it's restaurants. Either a hire car or the railway give access to places like Florence, Sienna, Perugia and the wonderful Cortona.

A real gem. Five stars for this three star hotel.

Room Tip: Attic rooms are roomy but the balcony rooms best although much smaller. Choose one facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurs2010, Proprietario at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Guests,

Thanks for your kind words! It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday at the Kursaal! We hope to see you again soon!

With our best regards.
Bruno and all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    105
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
117
236
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Having returned from a one one week stay at this hotel with my husband last week I can only say, we can't wait to go back.

The location of this hotel is perfectly nestled in beautiful country side right on the edge of the lake. It is a nice walking distance in to the town of Passignano where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from although you would be hard pushed to find better food than that served by the hotels restaurant. The service and staff in this hotel are fantastic. They cannot do enough for you. We stayed in room 203 and had a gorgeous view of the lake (well worth paying a few extra euros for). The hotel and grounds are spotlessly clean and well maintained. Breakfast was a nice continental selection.

If you are travelling to Italy and want to explore this beautiful area, this is the place to stay.

Thank you to the staff for making our stay so pleasurable.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view room. Room 203 has a great view and the lake view rooms on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louby1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurs2010, Proprietario at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your kind review! It's a great satisfaction for us to make our guest's holidays pleasent! Even if it has been your first time at Kursaal, we are very happy to know that you are thinking to come back next year!

In the meantime, we wish you all the best!
With our best regards,
Hotel Kursaal
Bruno, and all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Only got here yesterday evening the flight from Leeds Bradford was on time in fact it landed early one hour forty five minutes got here to early for our transfer which took two hours forty five minutes from Pisa on our arrival check in was quick and easy rooms on first floor ours was a lake view ,a table had been reserved for us all twelve people in our party sat down to eat at around ten pm ,all the food was good as you would expect the courteous staff were great ,helpfull and really friendly
families camping in the grounds it's nice to see them just chilling, having their meals in the open air all in all one of the nicest and most tranquil places I have been just love it up to press and will almost certainly return

Having been here from Saturday the earlier part of this review was first impressions and first impressions can be wrong but not in this case the hotel supposedly a 3 star goes beyond expectations all of the staff without exception were great.
The guests in the hotel and the people who were on the campsite which surrounds a superior restaurant works incredibly well.
We came here for my nieces wedding the ceremony was in the lovely town of Cortona a must see place for any traveler to this beautiful area as is Perugia both within easy reach, all in all for anyone trying Italy for the first time this has to be at the top of the list .
I will return to this beautiful part of Italy and when I do this hotel will be the one I will choose

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jimpev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurs2010, Proprietario at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review! We really hope to meet you again in the future!

With our best regards!
Hotel Kursaal
Bruno and all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Only got here yesterday evening the flight from Leeds Bradford was on time in fact it landed early one hour forty five minutes got here to early for our transfer which took two hours forty five minutes from Pisa on our arrival check in was quick and easy rooms on first floor ours was a lake view ,a table had been reserved for us all twelve people in our party sat down to eat at around ten pm ,all the food was good as you would expect the courteous staff were great ,helpfull and really friendly
families camping in the grounds it's nice to see them just chilling, having their meals in the open air all in all one of the nicest and most tranquil places I have been just love it up to press and will almost certainly return

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jimpev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I spent a great weekend at Hotel Kursaal. The location to start with is stunning: right on the border of the lake. If you prefer there is also a great pool right in front of the hotel. Hotelmanager Bruno is very friendly and helpful. Lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant was pure pleasure. Delicious regional food for really reasonable prices. Can't wait to return at Kursaal!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raoul_Olanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Located near the road from Siena to Perugia this hotel is on the shore of the Trasimeno lake. The small hotel is set in a beautiful garden that doubles as a small and luxurious campsite. A lot of people combine this fact by camping here while other family members stay in the hotel. The rooms of the hotel are good, there is a good bed, airconditioning and a small fridge. The cleaning is of a high standard and the staff of the hotel is very friendly. The whole hotel has a warm family-like atmosphere! The restaurant in the hotel is VERY good and attracts lots of local Italians at night (which to me is a good sign!)
In the garden there is a swimming pool with hot tub and there is a private beach on the lake.
I truly recommend this hotel for those that are discovering Umbria / Tuscany and surroundings.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a balcony, but a few on the first floor have a terrace overlooking the lake, these a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Remco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for a week recently and found it very enjoyable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Agree with other reports in that they cannot do enough for you. As we did not have a car we were offered the bycicles from the hotel anytime we wanted-which was good fun and convenient for going to the main town (a 20 minute walk) and to the train station (10 minutes further walk).
The setting of the hotel could not be better-right on the lake with good-size pool and garden area. I have never stayed in a hotel on a campsite before but you should not worry about this -the camping facilities are well seperated from the hotel and there is plenty of space for everyone. Our room had a large terrace and lake view and the room itself is well equipped and spotlessly clean with excellent flly/mosquito screens on the doors. Breakfast is very good and you could have this inside, in the conservatory or outside. We ate dinner a few times in the restaurant and again food and service excellent. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We will definitely come back to Passignano and to this hotel.

Room Tip: It is lovely to have a room overlooking the lake. Rooms on 1st floor have bigger balcony. The hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurs2010, Proprietario at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!
We appreciate your kind comments and also it was a real pleasure meeting you!

Kind regards,
Bruno and all the Kursaal staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Passignano Sul Trasimeno
0.5 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.9 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
#3 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trasimeno
Hotel Trasimeno
#5 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#6 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kursaal Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kursaal Umbria

Property: Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Address: Via Europa 24, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kursaal Umbria 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kursaal is your opportunity for a pleasant holiday on the shores of Lake Trasimeno, surrounded by green hills, enjoying a warm welcome and delicious cuisine, a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque village of Passignano and close to the most important heritage cities of Umbria and Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kursaal Umbria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kursaal Umbria Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing