We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Vela
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The hotel as a building is a bit tired and could do with some updating, but it's central, spotlessly clean and so perfectly managed. Breakfast could be improved too, with fresh juices & croissants and more fruit choice, but it's plentyful nevertheless. The owner, Silvia, makes the place a very welcoming one. She is friendly, professional, efficient and ever present, so much so that we felt like an extension of her family. Her enthusiasm is contageous, always happy to help and offer even more. As clients and tourists, we can only recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17Trudy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    91
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
105
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed at La Vela for three nights before a wedding in Cortona. The rooms are modest but incredibly clean, and the owner and her family are unforgettable. We have never received such friendly, heartfelt service, even in the most upscale hotels in the U.S. Before we left, she gave us a wedding gift of local treats, like olive oil and truffles. We still talk about her, two years later. Highly recommend for an affordable stay in Passignano.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Really a nice place and the location is perfect.
Good things:
- Cleaning;
- Location;
- Price;
- No extra things to pay or hidden taxes;
- Really nice people;
- Nice restaurant;

Bad things:
- On summer, the mosquito's;

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Simply the best hotel in this area if not all Italy. Cannot speak highly enough of the incredible service. Silvia and her family treat you like you were their best friend. This place is really special. A simple spotlessly clean well managed hotel with excellent rooms and good food at a great price - what more can you ask for ? If travelling to Passignano for weddings at the nearby villas or just touring around this lovely area, this is THE place to stay. Book in advance because it is justifiiably popular.

Room Tip: A room on the 1st floor has the largest balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We were not originally booked into this hote but thankfully, found it after arriving at one that was dreadfu in the areal and already feeling our holiday was ruined. The welcome we recieved was fantastic and the service we received whilst at the hotel was second to none. We stayed here as a friend was staying at a local villa for her wedding, although there isnt a a great deal in the way of facilities, the service and friendliness made for a really relaxing break. The rooms were really clean and the restaurant attached to the hotel was really reasonably priced and the food was lovely. Two minutes from the lakeside and parks, boat trips etc. Close to the train station and town centre, good rail links to major places of interest. We had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstyt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

The family who run this hotel are exceptionally welcoming. The food in the restaurant is really good and great value for money. Marco and Sylvia couldn't be more friendly - they work hard and deserve success.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Minnie12359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Great, friendly, family run hotel, with a short, easy walk to the waterfront or the train. The rooms and the hotel common areas were very clean. Our 4th floor room had a balcony with a limited view of the lake. There was a small refrigerator in the room. The shower in the bathroom is not an enclosed structure, just a curtain to pull around yourself. The complimentary breakfast had a limited selection and the bakery items were pre-packaged. There was free parking. There was a restaurant attached to the hotel, Il Passo di Giano, that served excellent food at reasonable prices. Overall, this hotel was a great value for the price!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ztheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passignano Sul Trasimeno hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
430 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
#3 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trasimeno
Hotel Trasimeno
#5 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#6 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalieri
Hotel Cavalieri
#10 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vela

Property: La Vela
Address: Via della Rinascita 2 | Umbria, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vela 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Vela" hotel is situated just a short walk away from the lake and the town's historical center. The Family run hotel offers the opportunity of enjoying a varied Holiday, being either a relaxing day at the lake or a visit to one of the many nerbay important hostorical towns or museums in Tuscany and Umbria. A holyday to be enjoyed at any time of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vela Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing