We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, family run hotel”
Review of La Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Vela
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Great, friendly, family run hotel, with a short, easy walk to the waterfront or the train. The rooms and the hotel common areas were very clean. Our 4th floor room had a balcony with a limited view of the lake. There was a small refrigerator in the room. The shower in the bathroom is not an enclosed structure, just a curtain to pull around yourself. The complimentary breakfast had a limited selection and the bakery items were pre-packaged. There was free parking. There was a restaurant attached to the hotel, Il Passo di Giano, that served excellent food at reasonable prices. Overall, this hotel was a great value for the price!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ztheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for La Vela
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2007

Our stay at the 3 *** La Vela hotel in August was very enjoyable. The family-run hotel is excellent value for money: quiet, yet central location in town, large rooms, good beds, good continental buffet breakfast (juice, yoghurts, fresh fruit, cereal, muesli, bread, rolls and croissants, cheese, ham, marmelade and of course your choice of tea, capucino, latte, espresso or american coffee...) and very friendly service. We were given excellent info on the local attractions, and we really felt welcome. The restaurant serves excellent food (lunch and dinner) at very reasonable prices.
Only drawback is the rather small and old-fashioned bathroom ( it floods everytime) This is however only a small discomfort considering the rest of the hotel services. We are seasoned travelers and we really want to recommend this hotel - no hesitations.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mouske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2007

Very friendly family run hotel. Clean and cheap. Good sized rooms. We have stayed here a few times. Free internet downstairs.

We getting married in Cortona 10 May 2007 and will be staying here till our villa is ready.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank melvingreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Staffordshire, UK
212
Reviewed 19 August 2005

We have just returned from a trip to Italy. We stayed for 5 nights in La Vela which is a clean friendly -run hotel. We went to a wedding in Cortona and the hotel owner gave us our own key in order that we could return to the hotel late at night after the Wedding reception. The Hotel has its own restaurant which is open to the public next door,the food is good especially the pizza.Passignano itself reminded us a bit of the Lake District (uk). It's a small place with a few shops, restaurants, cafe's and bars. There is a ferry to take you out to visit the islands. We found that it was a very relaxing place to stay and would visit there again and stay at the same hotel, perhaps we should suggest to our friends that we all return there next year to celebrate their wedding anniversary !

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ornella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank maria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: neem het 1ste verdiep met groot terras en, 2 ligzetels, tafel en 2 stoelen en parasol!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 985ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passignano Sul Trasimeno hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#6 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Gabbiano
Il Gabbiano
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalieri
Hotel Cavalieri
#10 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trasimeno
Hotel Trasimeno
#5 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
#3 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vela

Address: Via della Rinascita 2 | Umbria, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range: £43 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vela 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Vela" hotel is situated just a short walk away from the lake and the town's historical center. The Family run hotel offers the opportunity of enjoying a varied Holiday, being either a relaxing day at the lake or a visit to one of the many nerbay important hostorical towns or museums in Tuscany and Umbria. A holyday to be enjoyed at any time of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vela Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing