We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place to Stay - Not set up for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Paradiso Village
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks while in town for business. I found the buffet style breakfast and dinner convienent. I thought the food was good (for buffet style) with a lot of variety available. The dining service was also good (quick plate removal, friendly staff, etc).
This hotel is packed with vacationing families. Don't stay here if you don't like seeing/hearing kids. They do have activities for them throughout the day/night which is a good thing.
The hotel is laid out on a few different levels (due to building additions). Both rooms I stayed in were on the floor which was not accessible by an elevator, so I had to drag all my luggage up 1.5 flights of stairs and there was no porter to help me. With no AC in the hallway areas, this was a very sweaty and frustrating endeavor.
The AC in the rooms was very unpredictable. It would never stay on for a consistent time. Sometimes it would shut off after 2 minutes and sometimes it would shut off in the middle of the night or stay on all night. I was never able to figure it out. The shower was TINY, but the bathroom was clean. Each room has a mini-fridge which is convienent for keeping water, etc. The TV in my room was TINY and mounted up in the corner, so some things (like text on the screen) were very hard to see.
Being a business traveler it was very annoying for me to not have internet access in my room. Access is only available in the lobby and a small price is charged. Some type of fitness center/treadmill, would have been very nice. I don't think it would be difficult to have some type of fitness room esp. in a "4 star" hotel.

Overall a decent hotel with good service, but definitely a couple annoying things.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjl153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2010

Booked an Inghams break through Voyage Prive at £1,000 for two flying from Manchester.
Flight with Jet2.com was an hour delayed in both directions.
At Rome airport it was slightly chaotic but eventually met up with Ingham's rep Federica.
Coach trip to Passignano was fine, good careful driver (Carlo) and a comfort stop for a snack at a pizza fast food joint.
Check in uneventful

Location - an easy walk to the railway station and town.

The room - partial lake views, smallish room with one easy chair. safe, old style TV (did not use it)
Bathroom, shower only, thin plastic cups.

Hotel facilities are limited unless you lie around the pool with the families.
Hotel is very popular with Belgian families (Walloon and Flemish)

The food - In the coach the rep promised us fresh local food and great wines. Not in this hotel where it is generally pretty poor. Virtually no local fresh produce. Common denominator buffet fodder. No fresh coffee or juice at breakfast. Packed lunch is inedible. After one day we chose to eat lunch in restaurants and nibble in the evenings. Wine, beer and soft drinks on tap. Red wine was OKish.

As a base for visiting the region (we hired a car in Perugia) the hotel is fine. As a hotel experience, avoid it. Pay a bit more somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinTurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We have just returned from a very enjoyable two week stay. All the staff without exeption were polite and eager to please. The food was absolutely fine. Three pasta dishes, two meat dishes and a fish dish every day, as well as a huge buffet of salads, cheeses and meats. I drank the white wine with my meals and was perfectly happy with it. Clean sheets every three days and towels every day if needed. The pool had plenty of sun loungers and although some people 'booked' theirs with a towel I did see a staff member collect all the towels up one day so this is discouraged. There were a number of pool activities particularly for young people which was good if that is your thing. We used the beds by the childrens pool which was quieter. Evenings were quiet but it was pleasant to sit outside and the walk to town is easy and short. Bring mosquito spray though. We had a car with us and travelled around, driving was easy and there were really beautiful places to see. For a reasonabley priced relaxed holiday I would definitely reccommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The weather was beautifull, the rep Fedrica was very helpfull and entertaining.
Unfortunately guests from a certain country ( I think you will guess) just took all the food from the buffet and main course displays,on several occaisons we saw things like 12 pork chops on one plate at their table. when the good mannered people went for their food it had all gone !! their children took plates full and left most of it so wastefull !
It was exactly the same for deserts we lost count of times we had no food to eat at 8pm , the dinning room opened at 7.30 until 9.30pm, the hotel will not make a profit from these greedy inconsiderate guests and guess what happened to the sun beds ? thats right no sunbeds for the well mannered guests.
It was such a shame the staff tried very hard to please everyone.
To solve the problem the food neads to be monitored or served at the table.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amusedDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Just returned from trip. The hotel is carefully managed by an omnipresent manager. The gardens are beautifully maintained. The rooms and restaurants are spotless. The food is local, fresh and seasonal - good and varied. The family room for two adults and children: 8yrs and 11yrs was a little small. A bath would have been nicer than just a shower. Staff helpful but English is limited. Excellent location with easy public transport to many sites well worth a visit: Isola Maggiore, Castiglione, Assissi and Sienna. Beautiful area. Free bike hire loan possible, good routes to explore even if signposting a little erratic. Quiet in the evenings, but easy access into town where bars and restaurants are good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_UKAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

What a nightmare 3 hour transfer -no one to meet us -Transport arrived 20 minutes later due to horrendous rome traffic - food bland - luke warm inedible congealed pasta - trays empty and slow to be refilled - Free wine and beer - tasted very weak - Tea and cake -help yourself tea bag and water from coffee machine - milk in cup not a jug and inch pieces of stale cake oh what joy. Dont forget insect repellant as will be bitten by midges by lake
Ate out at local restaurants Lucianos great nice hot food and Mayfair bar. Local bar Italia on way down to town great all Italians very helpful and decent drinks
Made to buy 1 euro hat for swimming pool. Typical English all moaning about food choice but too gutless to complain. Enjoyable if your 70 year olds who have a sad life at home and think their local carvery is fine dining
Good Old Inghams didnt disappoint return coach didnt arrive so nearly missed flight home

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Essexcouple55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Anyone looking for a quiet and peaceful retreat from everyday life would absolutely love it here at the Paradiso, though it's certainly not somewhere I'd receommend for families with young children. The hotel itself is just stunning with two beautiful pools surrounded by gardens and shaded under olive trees. All meals are included when you consider the packed lunch as well, which to be fair wasn't something we had often although it's worth picking up for the bottled water. The breakfast and dinner however were excellent with a variety of choices. Breakfast was either hot or cold with both scrambled and bolied eggs always available. The bacon and sausage was as you'd expect typically European and not cooked as in the UK but nevertheless tasty. Apart from that the variety of continental style options was wide and should suit most peoples tastes. The only complaint was that there was no fresh fruit juices, although there was still plenty of choice otherwise. Dinner also covered a wise choice each evening with 3 meat/fish choices and 3 pasta each night as well as soups and salads if you preferred. A good choice of sweets and ice creams was also available afterwards so there should be no food problems. As stated there is flowing white and red wine as well as a very drinkable beer during dinner.

The hotel rooms are not large but have everything in them, excellent showers and good working aircon, which was just as well as it was in the low to mid thirties each day and very, very hot with lovely warm evenings and we were consequently grateful for the free soft drinks, water and tea/coffee on tap all day in the bar. The staff are very friendly though don't speak any English. This is also true of the town itself as it is a very uncommercialised area of Italy with mainly Italian visitors, which I actually prefer.

The town of Passignano itself is a delight, particularly the old town with it's plethora of lovely bars and cafe's. The ice creams are obviously excellent but with meals included we obviously didn't get much chance to sample much more, although the crepes and toasted sandwiches are excellent for lunch. Both food and drinks are excellent value and much cheaper than elsewhwere in Italy at around 1 euro for a much better cappuchino than you'll get here, plus the ambiance thrown in for free. Sit at a lakeside bar sipping one and feel the relaxation. Priceless.

All in all the holiday there with Inghams was first class and we will definately go back. We didn't do many trips, preferring to lie by the pool, but with trains and buses so close to the surrounding larger towns of Assisi, Perugia etc it's no problem. One trip I would advise is to the Island of Maggiore which takes about 25 minutes on the ferry and is absolutely stunning for a morning out. You can go to other venues around the lake but if you're lazy like us, it's 12 euros return for both well spent. In fact you'll find it hard to spend anything anyway unless you travel out because you have everything you need at the hotel and in the town. It's absolutely blissfully peaceful so why not give it a try, I don't think you'll be disappointed at all.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankie069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Passignano Sul Trasimeno
3.2 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#2 of 6 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
672 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#6 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
147 reviews
5.8 mi away
Relais Parco Fiorito
Relais Parco Fiorito
#2 of 2 in Piazzano
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradiso Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradiso Village

Address: Via Fratelli Rosselli 5, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range: £44 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Paradiso Village 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Paradiso Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paradiso Village Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing