We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed 8 nights in Spring and will return in the Summer.”
Review of Il Gabbiano

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Gabbiano
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“We stayed 8 nights in Spring and will return in the Summer.”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

If you have followed our other recommendations trust us with this one. We know this hotel complex because we have enjoyed very good meals here hundreds of times but until April 2013 we had not stayed here because we lived locally.
The point of staying at this hotel, in our opinion, is because you want to stay economically, at a family run hotel, with caring staff and which is immaculately clean. Has comfortable beds and excellent food.
You do not stay at a hotel just off the Torricella junction of the superstrada for a lake view!
When it is not the swimming pool season (October to end of April) you stay here because you want to visit beautiful places in both Umbria and Tuscany and want to get there as quickly and as stress free, as possible. The fast train service to Florence and Rome is from Terontola station about 15mins away. The superstrada that you can see from the hotel works to your advantage. At night with the room shutters down you sleep in peace perfect peace.
The room rates are excellent value. Eat a good breakfast, the choice is huge, from freshly made fruit salad and yoghurt through to eggs, ham, cheese and plain cakes baked by Mamma!
Then off out for the day returning in the early evening, shower, change of clothes and then to eat at the pizzeria, a homemade supper….not only pizza but again a huge choice of freshly made food. That is the big difference here. The family will not economise on the quality of the ingredients and they use their own produce when in season. We ate pasta and the first woodland mushrooms!
The family are naturally friendly, a small dog and children all part of the set up.
In the swimming pool season May to September we have enjoyed a leisurely afternoon by the pool. You will be surprised at how quiet it is as you swim and sunbathe despite the superstrada being so close. The hotel restaurant will also be open so there is a choice of dining. For families the pizzeria is fun but being retired we prefer the hotel restaurant in the summer as it’s more “grown up” and quiet.
We would say that there is little point asking for a room with a lake view, because that results in a superstrada view. A room at the back with no view at all is a better choice. There are quiet places to sit all around the place.
The rooms have wifi and there is a computer for the use of guests in the breakfast room.
Having lived locally we’d suggest that air conditioning is essential in the swimming season because the flies mentioned in other reviews are not mosquitoes but lake flies, rather like lacewings, they do not bite but will fill the room if lights are on and windows are open from dusk, in summer.
We stayed 8 nights. Used the lift all the time and ate and slept very well indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back. The rooms with lake and swimming pool view, have balconies but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    46
    33
    15
    4
See reviews for
45
46
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I am a returned guest to this hotel every time I happen to be vacationing in the area with my husband and kids. The hotel is very nice located at a slightly uphill location, it is easily reached from the motorway and very easily found. It's about few minutes drive to the centre of the village of Passignano. The hotel itself is equipped with a big parking space in the premise.

From the rooms at upper floor, the view of the lake Passignano is spectacular, specially in the evening. Rooms are recently renovated with modern bathroom. It's a simple room but in a very tidy and clean condition.

The swimming pool and its area are cleanly maintained also.

Breakfast area is at the area which in the evening will be used as á la carte restaurant. If the weather and temperature permits, it 's very pleasant to dine at the balcony outside the restaurant. Food is excellent!!! Their lasagna is superb and i will not leave this hotel before i have a portion of my favorite dish, spaghetti scoglio!

At the lower end of the hotel, there is another dining spot (pizzeria) which is very popular to the people of the surroundings. They serve tasty pizza's.

It could be that some of the staffs do not speak fluent english, but their kind and friendly service will substitute that little discomfort :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed with my family for two weeks @ Hotel Il Gabbiano. The entire accommodation is spacious and the appartements where clean and well furnitured.

The breakfast was oke, but I can sure recommend you to have a dinner @ the restaurant.
The food was very tastefull and they serve good.

Near the hotel, they have their own Pizzaria which is a great opportunity to eat with your kids for a low price.

Around the hotel you can do some activity's. You can play tennis, you can visit the lake, biking,sailing, visiting Perugia and lots of more things.

Room Tip: The hotel has rooms, but appartments to. If you are with your family an appartment is spacious eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croton, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

While I personally did not stay at this hotel, four persons I was recently traveling with did stay here. They have a lovely lobby and beautiful pool area. There is a restaurant and the breakfast I was told was excellent. The only problem was that the hotel does not turn the air conditioning on until 6:00 pm. My sister-in-law realized early on that her room needed to be moved out of the sun so she asked if they had another room; they did have another room and they graciously moved her. The other couple stuck it out in the hot room thinking that at 6:00 the room would cool off, but the air conditioning hardly worked so the room never got cool. After we all went to dinner, they finally asked to have their room changed and again graciously were moved. The hotel was clean. It is within a short drive to Assisi and Perugia. We also had a problem with the mosquitos.

I must say that other than the air conditioning coming on at 6:00 pm which they do tell you upon check in, the hotel is overall a good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed here from end May to June 2012. The restaurant/pizzeria was brilliant, fresh tasty food everytime and great value for money. Loved that there was gym and pool to use. No mosquitos so unsure what the other reviewer's are talking about. Worth the visit even for a meal.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lommel, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Average hotel, private parking, good restaurant, friendly spaff. Not everyone of the personal speaks english. We stayed 3 nights, despite of the mosquitos (papatacei). They are harmless according to the staff, but you don't know for sure. In the evening the terrace was full of them, in the morning they lay all dead on the ground. It was best to keep the windows closed and the lights out. We had a large room with great lake view and queen size bed. The hotel is a good location to explore this part of Italy. The small town is a few minutes drive. Nice swimming pool, but there are also a lot of mosquitos in it. Clean rooms, clean restaurant, parking partly in shade. Average in price-quality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianvittorio, Owner at Il Gabbiano, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
May we reply to Jaak L.

Three of our family speak English and we try our best to ensure that there is always an English speaker available to our guests.

Our greatest concern is that guests and potential guests, might think that the swimming pool is full of mosquitoes and that at night, mosquitoes will fill their rooms and bite them.

It is difficult for me to explain fully, but the most important thing is that the insects are not mosquitoes or “pappataci” – they are “chironomids” and they don’t bite. You can read about them on Wikipedia in English at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chironomidae or in Italian at - http://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chironomidae. They thrive in fresh water, but only if it is very clean and unpolluted.

Lago Trasimeno is a fresh water lake and it is carefully protected. At certain times in the summer, depending on the weather conditions these insects can be annoying to all those who live and have hotels etc near the lake. They will come further in land depending upon weather conditions/atmospheric conditions. Sorry I am not a biologist but yes the flies come and they can be a nuisance but they do not bite. They are not mosquitoes.

We have small children in the family and will not use toxic sprays to keep the insects away. We grow vegetables organically that we serve to guests and that is how we choose to live.

We suggest to guests that when the air conditioning is on, that they close the windows on summer nights before turning on the room lights, if it is dark, or inevitably they will be attracted to the light and come into the bedroom. Unpleasant but you will not be bitten by them. They are not mosquitoes or pappataci.

It is true that on summer mornings we can have some of these insects in the pool but we clean the pool carefully every morning too. It is something we cannot control but it lasts for only a short time depending upon the atmospheric conditions. Apparently the purer the lake water the more of these insects there are, so perhaps it is a benefit to those who enjoy swimming and watersports.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed here for a night to attend a wedding. Fairly simple rooms. Large pool. Friendly staff. Nothing to write home about but ok if you don't overpay on the rate.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passignano Sul Trasimeno hotels
0.2 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#6 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trasimeno
Hotel Trasimeno
#5 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
100 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
#3 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Il Gabbiano

Property: Il Gabbiano
Address: SR75bis km 31 | Localita San Vito, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Gabbiano 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Gabbiano offers a vary type of accommodations like hotel rooms and appartments. It has two restaurants, one with typical local kitchen and one pizzeria open till late night. Being a family business we always try to give the best to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Gabbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Gabbiano Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing