We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern convent”
Review of Hotel Cenacolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cenacolo
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern convent”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Modern and clean hotel with a touch of history. Lovely views of the country side. Not right in the centre of Assisi, but there is a public bus. We stayed there as part of a tour group, so the dinner and breakfast buffet was average, but it's probably better for private guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinibambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    241
    68
    17
    20
See reviews for
127
239
10
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

IThe Hotel Cenacolo is a completely renovated former Franciscan convent and pilgrims hostel in tSanta Mariria degli Angeli, the "lower town" of Assisi. It is the town that enshirines the little chapel where St. Francis died inside a larger basilica. As part of a group of 50 on pilgrimage, we found the Cenacolo an ideal stop. The rooms were modern, simple and will all the amenities of a 4 start hotel. They have a restaurant that serves meals and great breakfasts for groups, a bar and even a very lovely chapel - which suited us perfectly. As it is new, there were a few little blips that could use attention - the Wifi isn't free (5 euro per day) but as one of the staff said, "I won't charge you for it". Why? "Because it isn't working". Also my phone never did work well enough to call another room but I was able to get thru via the switchboard. And the brand new bathroom toilet ran all night. Minor details that can be fixed easily. It is actually within 10 walking distance of both the lower town (S. Maria) which has a charming older centre as well as Assisi which is about a leisurely 30 mins away (mind you, it's uphill! - better when you come dow). The bar is located on the second (first) floor looking out over a beautiful farmer's field. And it has a lovely cloister with chairs and umbrellas if you want to relax outside. We'll be going there again. Clean, simple, elegant and modern - wonderful.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, you can request rooms on the ground floor. And there are elevators for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMSantarossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I really liked this hotel. It was modern and had a great shower. Our room faced the courtyard so it was very quiet. The supper that was included in our Trafalgar tour was OK, but the meat was a mystery. We thought it was pork and found out it was turkey? The breakfast was good, but the room has bad acoustics and was very loud with two tour groups in it at a time.
We did walk into town and had a late night drink at a small gelato/bar.
The only con is that it is not right in the old town of Assisi, but it was only a short distance on the bus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelLovesCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
231 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour group and it was the smallest room of the hotels we've stayed in Italy but it was very nice. The room had a tv, safe, towel warmer, and comfy beds, however, I wished we had some blankets as the room became very cold at night and I had to sleep with my jacket on. We tried adjusting the temperature on the thermostat but it didn't help. You need to
pay 5 euros for Internet and it was not free in the lobby.

Assisi is a beautiful town and I wished we had more time to explore.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank crazy_cat_sab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice place with an excellent staff. My thanks to the staff for scanning in and emailing over 40 documents in a manner of minutes...for free! This solved a MAJOR problem for us. The food service was also excellent as well as the room service. This is also a university setting. There are lot of musicians. Athletes and day tours that came through the 10 days we were there. This meant daily serenades with classical music and also a few noisy evenings as kids celebrated the completion of their stay. It's vey ell located at the bottom of the hill that goes up to Assisi historical piazzas, but also walking distanc from Main Street Assisi wih the huge chapels and restaurants. All in all a great place in a great location. Only down side is no gym and no pool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This gentrified hotel (former convent) is a welcome and peaceful retreat. It is modern and clean with old time touches of charm in the indoor garden architecture of original stone. Rooms are well appointed with a smaller open concept closet. The food was amazingly fresh and warm chocolate croissant with selectiono of teas, fruit, yoghurt and coffee; since my significant other is on a sodium free diet, he was the most pleased with this fare and the 3 course dinner!

The servers were efficient and friendly even with few trained with English; I studied up and was able to communicate somewhat in Italian with some incomplete but totally understandable hand gestured sentences. The rooms are sleek and big windows open unto a serene setting with ours having a distant view of St. Francis of Assisi church and surrounding fields. It was a walkable 45mins by Via Francesca to Giovanni di Savoia with a side trekk Santa Maria.

There are only showers but have rarely taken a sit down bath on vacation unless it was opening night for the hotel!!

The technology worked well for the most part and would highly recommend a stay here and will return if standards are maintained.

They were very aware of our "solo" daughter traveller and accommodated her in a well located room.

Anticipating Acclamation!

Room Tip: Enjoy the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This hotel is very modern and clean, We really enjoyed the decor as it was very stylish. Good sized room, very quiet and peaceful location. Assisi and the Basilica of Saint Francis were half an hour walking distance, which was great for us as we are keen walkers.It is a lovely walk through nice country side with view to the Basilica. There are also buses leaving right in front of the hotel. Breakfast is complimentary and was great. In front of the hotel is a complimentary car park, which is a big plus if you have a car. Anywhere else in Assisi would be difficult to park and cost you money. The only somewhat disappointing thing was the bar, we had drinks a couple of times, and each time the TV was on as the Bar attendant was keen to watch soccer. We would have preferred to listen to nice music.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beat5rixSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria degli Angeli
1.3 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.5 mi away
Dal Moro Gallery Hotel
Dal Moro Gallery Hotel
#5 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#4 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#5 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cenacolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cenacolo

Property: Hotel Cenacolo
Address: Via Patrono d'Italia 70, 06081 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi > Santa Maria degli Angeli
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cenacolo 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the first moment, entering the Hotel Cenacolo Assisi, the atmosphere is a world apart, made of simple and precious things, where hospitality meets the Franciscan tradition in this wonderful city of peace, Assisi, to experience strong emotions. The Hotel Cenacolo Assisi is the Franciscan Hotel of Santa Maria degli Angeli, where a skilful restoration has allowed us to maintain the original structure, respecting its suggestions and connotations as convent. The architectural elements and materials used, such as the stone of Assisi, along with steel and glass, are a masterful blend of ancient and modern. At Hotel Cenacolo Assisi you will enjoy some wonderful days in Assisi. Stay in one of our comfortable guestrooms including classic, superior rooms and junior suites, perfect for getaways with your partner or with friends. Likewise, you will enjoy great moments with yours in our beautiful cloister, a very special venue to celebrate your wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cenacolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Hotels Cenacolo Hotel Santa Maria Degli Angeli
Hotel Cenacolo Italy/Santa Maria Degli Angeli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing