We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”
Review of Hotel Cenacolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cenacolo
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
301 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel has a very nice restaurant and bar. It is a former monastery that has been converted to a hotel. It has a pretty courtyard in the middle of it. The staff is very pleasant and friendly. We only stayed one night due to our itinerary but we enjoyed it. The room was pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HectorFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    241
    68
    17
    20
See reviews for
127
239
10
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I was surprised when I first read it had been modernised, it looks and feels as though it has always been modern. We only stayed one night, and we were very lucky in securing a corner suite. My husband was mesmerised by the view of Assisi from the lounge suite of our room, all lit up at night we had a few windows, one overlooking fields, one some sort of walkway, the other Assisi, unfortunately our camera's pictures of the view didn't work out but we do have some others. Shame that in the courtyard there was nowhere to sit, no seats at all. It was a nice area though I imagine that in summer it would have a few functions there. Staff were efficient but not over friendly, internet not free anywhere (why do hotels still charge, just add a few euros to the cost of the room - they would get more brownie points for doing that). Anyway all was good, we did have an "incident", not the hotel's fault but a young group of people were staying there and one pulled the fire alarm so we all had to evacuate at night till we got the all clear. But the room/suite was lovely, the beds comfy, the bathroom good - although somewhere to put your things/clothes would have been nice - and we enjoyed our brief stay here a lot. Whether it is close enough to anything much is uncertain (there is a McDonalds down the road I saw) and a church but as a place to stay, very hard to fault. Very nice.

Room Tip: Corner suite or a room higher up overlooking Assisi would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank optionalextras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolivar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Neat experience to stay in a convent that had been converted to a modern hotel. We were cautioned to avoid drinking water from the bathroom faucet since it was "yellow" and had a sandy sediment in it. Staff were very friendly. Rooms had sleek, modern furnishings. Since we had a triple room, the third person had their own "privateroom" adjacent to ours. Enjoyed a delicious Christmas dinner in this hotel and we were pleased with our buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaTech1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
236 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

As part of a tour, this hotel, which is a renovated former Franciscan Convent, was a pleasant surprise. Rooms are modern and spacious offering the normal amenities one would expect from a 4* hotel. Staff were pleasant. Christmas eve dinner consisted of 7 courses (all of which were delicious) and breakfast buffet offered a wide variety. This hotel is definitely recommended for those visiting Assissi.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyM053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful setting on a hill. The staff welcomed us and made sure we had a wonderful stay. The room was clean and bed was firm. The food both for dinner and breakfast was delicious, and the wine, on draft, was very good. If you're near Assisi this a good place to stay.

Room Tip: It's quiet place with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Staff was ok and helpful, not overly friendly, but fine.
Great ground floor room, clean and modern, just enough space. We had 3 ground floor rooms for our family - a connecting door would have been nice for 2 of the rooms. One of our rooms was handicap accessible but honestly I felt the bathroom became extremely dangerous after taking a shower - water was everywhere. I had to mop the floor with towels after every shower and worried about my mom's safety as the floors were very slippery. The other two were nice rooms, desk and tv were great!
Use the safe! My son accidentally left his wallet on the desk while we were out and of course it was stolen - luckily it was only 20 euros which didn't bother him as much as the new wallet he lost.
Dry cleaning was pricy and we were overcharged by 20 euro - check your bill before you leave.
Internet was not free and was spotty at best, my husband was walking hallways and courtyards trying to find the best service for his meetings.
Food - breakfast was fine by European standards, dinner for our tour group was good - not fantastic. Bar was a fun place to relax!
Chapel with the Blessed Sacrament is a hidden gem! Ignore the swimming pool and library signs. They aren't there. Kids playground area is lacking and wasn't mowed but we played soccer anyway.
We walked to Assisi - not easy and all up hill, but amazing view of the city at night. I LOVE ASSISI! This hotel has a bus stop and is a quick walk to the church of St Mary of the Angels and the town has lots of places to eat even a McDonalds. I would prefer to be in Assisi but this was a great option and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Modern and clean hotel with a touch of history. Lovely views of the country side. Not right in the centre of Assisi, but there is a public bus. We stayed there as part of a tour group, so the dinner and breakfast buffet was average, but it's probably better for private guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinibambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria degli Angeli
1.3 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.5 mi away
Dal Moro Gallery Hotel
Dal Moro Gallery Hotel
#5 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#4 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#5 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cenacolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cenacolo

Property: Hotel Cenacolo
Address: Via Patrono d'Italia 70, 06081 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi > Santa Maria degli Angeli
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cenacolo 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the first moment, entering the Hotel Cenacolo Assisi, the atmosphere is a world apart, made of simple and precious things, where hospitality meets the Franciscan tradition in this wonderful city of peace, Assisi, to experience strong emotions. The Hotel Cenacolo Assisi is the Franciscan Hotel of Santa Maria degli Angeli, where a skilful restoration has allowed us to maintain the original structure, respecting its suggestions and connotations as convent. The architectural elements and materials used, such as the stone of Assisi, along with steel and glass, are a masterful blend of ancient and modern. At Hotel Cenacolo Assisi you will enjoy some wonderful days in Assisi. Stay in one of our comfortable guestrooms including classic, superior rooms and junior suites, perfect for getaways with your partner or with friends. Likewise, you will enjoy great moments with yours in our beautiful cloister, a very special venue to celebrate your wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cenacolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Hotels Cenacolo Hotel Santa Maria Degli Angeli
Hotel Cenacolo Italy/Santa Maria Degli Angeli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing