We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 stars, NO WAY!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cristallo Hotel Assisi
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“4 stars, NO WAY!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The location of the hotel is not central at all, it’s very far from the historical Assisi, and the hotel is located in an area where you need to walk at least 20 to 30 minutes to reach restaurants although many bars and small pizzerias are around. The neighborhood was so calm which promised a night with good sleeping quality but unfortunately we were shocked to find our double room hosted us and a presentable number of flies that prevented us from sleeping well! The floor of the hotel was extremely dirty in which one can’t step on the floor with bare feet or else you will end up with dirty black souls. The air conditioning didn’t work well and the night we stayed in was really hot. The staff at the reception was nice, helpful, and polite. We also enjoyed good quality of free internet access inside the tiny lobby. The breakfast was one of the poorest I got in my life in the matter of choices and quantities i.e. you have to ask for a certain items many times to get a little portion that would be consumed as soon as placed on the buffet. Every time we used the elevator it made weird noises the thing that made us not so comfortable to use it. We really doubt that it is a 4 stars hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    112
    51
    13
    9
See reviews for
80
102
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Adequate accommodations, big rooms, excellent food in restaurant. No else seemed to be staying there? Weird. Only negative comment - famiy member got bit by bed bugs - Ugh!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toongabbie, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

This is a really nice hotel with bit rooms. Our room had 2 single beds and a fold out lounge which made a double bed. The bathroom only had a shower, no bath.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol58a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks while going to a conference in Perugia. I really wanted to be staying in Perugia but the conference organisers made us pay a large non-refundable deposit then booked a large number of us in hotels in the middle of nowhere. But that aside my experiences of this hotel were mixed.

The room was nice - modern, good bathroom, balcony - some of my colleages had view of Assisi - I had view of the building next door and the people who watched TV on a deckchair in their backyard! Despite what some booking sites tell you they dont have broadband in the room - there is a dialup connection on a Win98 computer in a shared area that they seem to charge 5euro/hr to use. Not good for business travellers in the modern world.

This hotel is on the boundary between Santa Maria degli Angeli and Bastia Umbra opposite some open fields and a carwash. If you dont have your own car the public transport is just OK - there a bus every half hour that goes into S.M. d Angeli and then onto Assisi. You need to buy a 60minute bus ticket for 0.90 cents before you get on the bus. It's about a 25 minute walk to Assisi station - 15-20 minutes into the centre of the town which has a few restaurants and shops but is pretty quiet.

The dragon lady who runs the place speaks good english but it felt like we were meant to be grateful to her that we were allowed to stay there. Dont waste stomach space on the restaurant there's better food and better value in S.M. d Angeli or Assisi although lots of tourist menu places arent any better.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank swampgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria degli Angeli
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cenacolo
Hotel Cenacolo
#4 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vignola Assisi
Hotel Vignola Assisi
#14 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Frate Sole
Frate Sole
#7 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristallo Hotel Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristallo Hotel Assisi

Property: Cristallo Hotel Assisi
Address: Via Los Angeles 195, 06081 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi > Santa Maria degli Angeli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cristallo Hotel Assisi 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Cristallo is 1 km to the Porziuncola of St. Francis, the small Romanesque church that was dear to St. Francis's heart. This makes Hotel Cristallo the ideal base for touring the main cities in the region, like Perugia, Gubbio, Spoleto, Todi and more. This charming, design hotel has recently been renovated and refurbished into an extremely comfortable and inspirational modern retreat. The 52 spacious en-suite bedrooms offer every facility and amenity for the discerning visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cristallo Hotel Assisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristallo Hotel Assisi Italy/Santa Maria Degli Angeli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing