We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little hotel in Umbria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Raffaello Park Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best little hotel in Umbria”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Cannot say enough about this place and indeed the owners of the hotel who are superb hosts. If you are visiting the Assisi area this is the place to stay.
We arrived via Perugia airport at 11am, just hoping to drop of our bags but were shown to our room. It was as we had hoped, Room 24, (a previous visit some 4 years ago). Spacious with ample room for clothes, a spotless bathroom and a 5.5m X 7.5m balcony complete with a cane sofa and 2 chairs, what can be better as this balcony gets the sun all afternoon.
Breakfast is typically Italian, any sort of coffee with rolls, cakes, ham and cheese etc. The hosts cannot do enough to assist, print off your boarding card, give directions, advise on eating places, look up the internet for you, ( note there is free Wi Fi in the hotel), the list goes on.
The hotel is 5 minutes from local buses and 10 minutes from the Station where there are trains to all the local villages as well as Rome and Florence.
Already planning next years visit

Room Tip: Rooms 21 and 24 are the only 2 with a balcony, 5.5m X 7.5m a serious space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    56
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
75
91
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plattsburgh, ny
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The rooms are large by italian standards and the location could not have been better. It is about 1km from autostrada and the bus stop to assisi and the rest of perugia is across the street. Unless you are a serious walker, I wouldn't try walking back from assisi. It is located about 2 blocks from the major piazza in Santa Maria degliAngeli and shops and restaurants. It is a family run hotel and the owners are very helpful. Breakfast is included and was typical of italian fare served by the owners them selves. It was great to stay in an untouristy area outside assisi as that has become very american (mcdonald's located not too far from old town) Other people there at the same time were mainly couples and there did not appear to be much for children. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmelarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We read many rave reviews about this hotel here so we made a reservation 2 months in advance through Booking.com. But when we were about to leave for Italy, just 2 days before our actual stay, we were told that our reservation was cancelled due to overbooking.

What have they been doing for the entire two months ?

At least, we were given an alternate hotel at the same price. (But its service turned out to be disppointing and not worth the price.)

I don't really know who and what was to blame for our reservation, but I sincerely hope that the same thing will never happen to anyone else in future.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank N_Danshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in a room with a big balcony and loved it! the hotel is a renewed old house and the rooms are big with high ceilings.
The hotel has a free parking and it's very close to Assisi - you can get there by bus and walk your way back downhill. Assisi is very touristic and can become very busy on the high season, so this place keeps you close but on a quiet and relaxed environment. There are also some nice restaurants within a walking distance from the hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is quite simple but good and we didn't feel we needed more.
We recommend this place and it's a great value for your money!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was our second visit to Villa Raffaello, but it will not be our last. We stayed for one night in 2012 and this time spent 2 nights. It is the perfect place from which to explore Assisi and the surrounding area, including Perugia, without feeling like you are in the midst of a very touristy area. This family run hotel gives one the feeling of being part of the family. The staff, Sonia, Oriana, and Virginia are all very helpful and very very sweet. They have suggestions for restaurants and easy ways to get around. We stayed in rooms 21 and 24 and a balcony where we could enjoy an apperitivo before going out for supper. The rooms are quite spacious and very comfortably appointed. There is air conditioning and heating if required. Thanks to the owners Luca and Tamara for making our stay so enjoyable - ci vediamo!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrovere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had stayed here in 2010 and in 2011 and now in September 2013. The rooms are large and clean. The owners and staff are extremely pleasant and friendly (it is almost like visiting family when we go back). The breakfast (which is included) is great. The location is a short walk to nice restaurants and an easy bus ride up the hill to Assisi (best way to go because parking is expensive). Take the bus to the last stop in Assisi then walk thru the town going downhill and take the bus from the first stop in Assisi back down to the hotel. Again, I must mention that the hotel has ample parking and is a great base for exploring Umbria towns and Lake Trasemino. You won't be sorry you stayed here.

Room Tip: There are two rooms with a large terrace (we stayed in them on each of our 3 visits).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitey35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Do not make the mistake of staying less than two nights in Assisi. Villa Raffaelo Park Hotel, located down the hill , just 15 min bus ride from the corner of the hotel with a previous 3 min ride to stop at Assisi train station is absolutely heavenly!!!!! We had a room with a terrace wich was absolutely delightfull. We ralized we made a mistake by arriving early in themorning a leaving next early morning. It is so comfortably and cozy, it was a shame not to spend some delightful morning or afternoon sunny hours in that great terrace overlooking the woods that sorround the property.

Then Assisi is so absolutely charming. I am a Giotto fan, but besides all the artwork and architecture just the shear beauty of the umbrian contryside with the greenest fields and brightest sky is just worth the trip.

Do take your time, every stone of medieval Assisi, enhances the beauty of the twirling little streets. Do take you time, it is acsolutely worthed!!!!!

The couple who run the bed and breakfast TAMARA AND LUCCA are absolutely adorable and go out of their way to please you, They allowed is to check inn very early.

ENJOY YOUR STAY

PATRICIA PEREZ WALTERS
MEXICO

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria degli Angeli
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
2.0 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Frate Sole
Frate Sole
#8 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cenacolo
Hotel Cenacolo
#3 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
608 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 71 in Assisi
341 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#5 of 71 in Assisi
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Raffaello Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Raffaello Park Hotel

Property: Villa Raffaello Park Hotel
Address: Via Diaz 6, 06081 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi > Santa Maria degli Angeli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Raffaello Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Raffaello Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raffaello Park
Villa Raffaello Park Hotel Italy/Santa Maria Degli Angeli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing