We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed by the hotel”
Review of la Croix de Savoie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
la Croix de Savoie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dissapointed by the hotel”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We looked forward to spend a couple of nights at this place, but got very disappointed, first and foremost by the attitude of the staff.

1). The owner refused to comply with conditions that were spelled in our rental contract we received from “hotels.com”. They claimed they had nothing to do with this website (!), that they have never cooperated with them and that they actually received our reservation from another vendor. Hence, they were not responsible for the conditions of reservation we received from “hotels.com”.This not obviously not true since they earlier admitted being in dialogue and cooperation with hotels.com in an e-post exchange we had prior to our arrival.

2). The hotel applied the conditions that suited them: very late check-in (5 pm), very early check out (10 am), we had to pay several dozens euro more for the type of room we booked, and they demanded payemnt for the internet although in our contract it was supposed to be free (we argued and finally received it free, but the owner made it very clear she was doing us an enormous favour – unpleasant!). Yet, their standard reservation include breakfast, but the owner insisted we had to pay for it since it was not in our “hotels.com” contract (!).

3) Breakfast: normally, it is included in the reservation, but do not get fouled. It is only a basket of bread, with butter and some jams, quite outrageous for this price (11 euros). If you want a “normal” breakfast at the hotel, you have to pay them several additional 6 euros.

4). We were promised in our contract “sound isolation”. Not true: the rooms at the 1st floor are very close to the reception and you can hear everything that is said there (and in the corridor). We were awaken several times. The “superior” room looked more like a standard room, it was clean and nice, but very little; there was no table - the quasi-table in the corner, minuscule triangle was ok to put a laptop on, but no much more, impossible to eat or write on it. Everything – eating, watching tv, etc. had to be done while sitting on the bed. The sheets were therefore soiled quickly, but they didn’t bother to change them (during 5 days), even though the stains were clearly visible.

5). The hotel does do give en option of paying in euros (except if it’scash). When paying by foreign credit card, you will pay in your country’s currency! The currency course was unfavorable and we lost additionally some 30 euros. They again claimed that it was totally not their fault, it was just the bank that gave them such a card terminal without euro option.

So, an attitude problem of the staff, maybe they have become spoiled by their guests?

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the first floor close to the reception desk - you will hear people checking in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank piotrgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Madam,

We read your comments very carefully because we attach great importance to customer satisfaction. Know that we deeply regret your experience in our home.

Indeed, you have made a booking with hotel.com which we have no direct relationship . They shall record information on their website without even ask us , it is the same for terms and conditions . Your discontent is that hotel.com sells our superior rooms with shower at the same price with the bath, but there are well in our hotel two different categories of room and therefore two different prices. This information is perfectly clear on our official website. Besides, we had informed you in your reservation. We had proposed , if you did not agree with these conditions to cancel your holiday for free. You accepted and now you disagree with these conditions. This is not fair !

You're talking about hotel services that are paid including wifi, of course. But you add that the breakfast is also. You will be surprise . But actually when booking on hotel.com you could see because there is only room without breakfast; as you know perfectly as the confirmation that we send is well recalled the terms of your reservation! Add that on our official website lacroixdesavoie.fr you will be found offers with breakfast buffet at € 9 per person instead of 17 € per person. the booking directly with the hotel often brings additional benefits.

You talk about the size of the room or it is not possible to eat ... But this is perfectly normal, this is a hotel room 17 m² without kitchen or dining room and not an apartment hotel; perhaps did not you made the right choice of accommodation considering your needs (eating in the room every evening) or then book our junior suite 28m ² with seating? It is therefore normal that it is not easy!

You end your comment by adding that the payment is done automatically in the currency of the customer; it is a choice of our bank to use this system. We regret that with the exchange rate you had € 30 ... but you have not had any other bank charges if you would have had to have made a payment in euro.

We regret that you do not tell the positives because your score on the price quality ratio is 4/5, note of the room, the cleanliness, the bedding & the location is 3/5!

We personally remain at your disposal to talk to you at +33 450 900 026 and maybe see you again in our hotel for a better experience.

Best regards,

Edwige, Jean-Marc & Gaëtan
La Famille

And all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    84
    13
    14
    7
See reviews for
55
93
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester, uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Have stayed here twice now and love the hotel. The family are all great and really look after you. Rooms are modern and nicely appointed. I would only say two things to improve. Room 106 is a premium room, being classed as a suite. It's not really but more of a larger room for disabled access plus it is right next to, literally on top of reception which means you get a bit of noise. No balcony and no view. I would recommend the balcony rooms or the junior suite. Also, small point but it became frustrating, the sheets didn't fit the bed so it meant you woke up in the night with an elasticated sheet wrapped around you.

Breakfast is great and the location perfect as only a short 5-8 minute walk into town and it's a nice walk after a day skiing.

Room Tip: avoid room 106 - it's not a suite really and is very close to reception so you get noise as peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattflukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valence, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on two occasions now. The hotel itself is in a beautiful location in the pretty village of Les Carroz-dÁraches - ideal for skiing in the Grand Massif! The hotel rooms are very clean with very modern Italian style showers with lovely hot water - just what you need after a hard day on the slopes. The owners of the hotel go out of their way to make you feel very welcome and any request is no trouble at all. The À la Carte restaurant serves superb meals, however, do not take half board thinking you will receive the same level of catering, whilst half board is still acceptable it isn't a patch on their à la carte menu. For this reason on our last night we up-graded.

Room Tip: Choose the front of the building with superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonVonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Madame & Monsieur,

We are very happy to see you this year again with your friends. We had the lovely times with you.

We hope to see you next year for a new skiing time.

Best regards,

Edwige, Jean-Marc & Gaëtan
La Famille

And all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had stayed at this hotel before its makeover as an 'environmental' 3 star hotel it was a simple place fine for a ski weekend. We support 'green' products/services and this was part of the reason for choosing this hotel again, despite the relatively high rate for half board. We have stayed at many Logis in the past (mostly 2 star) and found the standard pretty good. We expected 3 star service facilities accommodation and food.

We had booked for 3 nights. We arrived at 7.30 pm after a 12 hours drive, the staff ignored us for about 20 minutes, we eventually got some attention at reception and were shown a room which resembled an Ibis Budget. The lighting was like a hospital room - strip lights above the bed, the shower cubicle had no door/screen/curtain or any shelf for soap etc, the basin had no plug making it difficult to wash/shave except in running water - so much for the environment! The electrically controlled blinds did not block out the exterior lighting.

My partner was ignored for 15 minutes at the bar while trying to order a pre dinner beer, the hotel had no sitting area for pre/after dinner drinks.

The 'dining room' was very small and the design was suitable for a budget hotel breakfast room. At dinner we were served by untrained staff, the menu was scrawled on a blackboard and was unreadable, there was no choice offered. We were given lukewarm tasteless soup poured from a jug followed by a lukewarm main course with no vegetables. We requested vegetables which arrived half way through the main course and were clearly some leftovers. The beer I had to order twice arrived well into the main course.

The WIFI was not free and difficult to use, (all the other hotels on this trip provided free and easy access) we were charged 3 Euros, in fact we only needed WIFI access that night in order to immediately look for another hotel!

In the morning we advised the staff we were leaving and explained why. The proprietor initially insisted we pay for all 3 nights, he dismissed our comments as 'trivial' and said we should contact the architect if we did not like the hotel design. The proprietor then clearly had a change of mind and issued a bill for one nights half board plus extras including the WIFI charge, this was a large cost for a very poor experience but we needed to cut our losses and get out.

In addition to its 3 star rating, Logis rate this as 3 Fireplaces and 3 pots, (their rating for high quality of accommodation and food), this hotel falls far short of that standard from our experience of other Logis. We were deeply disappointed by poor facilities, design, food, service, lack of management, negative attitude, and we will be contacting Logis to make them aware of the situation.

Room Tip: We did not see the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Madame Janet S,

Thank you for your review about your short stay in our hotel. We deeply regret your bad expérience in our family hotel. We would like to clarify a few things to review so that other travelers can make their own mind.

You said you waited 20 minutes, which is strange because after checking, one member of our team was at the entrance when you arrive and you accompanied to the reception wearing your luggage.

The assessment that you make the room is your personal opinion. However we may add that the room is modern, zen and without unnecessary thing, she is 17m2 and with a large terrace and garden table, very open to enjoy nature, that is the concept ... maybe do you not understand that. Actually this is not a typical Savoyard room but maybe did you not take the time to read the information available on our website or in the room, for example, you said, "it is not possible to closed the blinds completely" but is it possible to obscure the room and if you need information we were at your disposal.

The half-board meal is served in the Brasserie Restaurant and we read with amazement review dinner because it's not your opinion during your visit ... but perhaps you find some arguments for your review!

Finally you say that there is no lounge in the hotel but there are one lounge ... we do a lot of entertainment during the winter with the broadcasting of major events on the big screen, projection film for our guests hotel. We invite all travelers to visit our website to see photos of our lounge.

We also regret that you did not mention the positive points that you said on your departure as the quality of the bedding, the friendliness of our staff, the quality of the breakfast ...
You have booked our hotel at the last minute and perhaps it was not the hotel you want, perhaps you are looking for more Savoyard style. Upon arrival you were already upset about your trip and absolutely not happy to be here before entry home, in our small family hotel. Finally, in order not to create more problems we offered a cancellation fee.

Note that the price of our house reflect the quality of service and products in a 3-star hotel where 15 employees ensure the comfort and satisfaction of our guests but also in a hotel of high quality both at the point of service, on equipments, breakfast or a environmental point of view.

Maybe for the price you might expect to benefits applicable in 4 or 5 star hotel but the prices in these hotels are very different!

Finally we believe your comment is intended solely to harm our house and absolutely no inform other travelers objectively! Quality and customer satisfaction is a priority for our family ... We regret review!

We hope to see you again in our hotel for another more positive experience.

Edwige, Jean-Marc & Gaëtan
La Famille

And all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in early March for skiing. Very nice hotel with friendly staff. Everything you need is at hand.
We had the half board option and although the breakfast was good soem of the vening meals were not what we expected having had the same option in other French hotels; there was no cheese course and soem of the measl appeasred to be at the cheap end i.e. meat balls. However, some were good too.

Room Tip: ASk for a front room with a balcony. The back has no view if on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Theresa,

Many thanks for your comment about our house La croix de Savoie on TripAdvisor.

You had a good time with us and we are happy with that. You stay with us with the half-board option and we note your remarks, although all meals was good you wish you had a choice and more cheese. it may be a line of work for weeks futures, thank you for that.

So we hope to see you another time with us,

Best regards,

Edwige, Jean-Marc & Gaëtan
La Famille

And all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farum, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed at the La Croix de Savoie and enjoyed it very much. Super friendly staff, excellent and hearty breakfast and both the Brasserie and Restaurant was excellent with Mummy in kitchen and the food was clearly prepared with love :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Madame, Monsieur,

Many thanks for your lovely comment about our hôtel La Croix de Savoie.

We are very happy for you because you had a good holidays, good dinner on both Restaurant and also the good breakfast and staff.

We hope to see you another time with us,

Best Regards,

Edwige, Jean-Marc & Gaëtan
La Famille

And all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here in January for a ski holiday. The hotel is lovely, quiet and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the centre, but the ski bus passes every 40 minutes or so which helps get all the gear around. We also found lockers at the telecabin, which make a difference. Great choice if you want a mid week ski trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Rachel,

We would like to said to you thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor.

Your comment are very important for the next travelers and we are happy to see your satisfaction about our family hotel.

We hoppe to see you for a next ski trip,

Best regards,

Edwige, Jean-Marc & Gaëtan
La Famille

And all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Carroz-d'Araches
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
#1 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
112 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
138 reviews
6.0 mi away
La Ferme du Lac
La Ferme du Lac
#1 of 1 in Thyez
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Airelles
Les Airelles
#6 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
47 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
12.6 mi away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#1 of 20 in La Clusaz
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to la Croix de Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about la Croix de Savoie

Property: la Croix de Savoie
Address: 768 route du Pernand, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Les Carroz-d'Araches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — la Croix de Savoie 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & restaurant La Croix de Savoie bids you welcome to the 1st BioClimatic hotel & restaurant of the Rhone-Alps region and the 3rd new hotel of this type in France (opened on 24 December 2010). This highly comfortable hotel provides the opportunity to really get close to nature and to enjoy healthy living in an eco-friendly bioclimatic environment, just 800m from the village of Carroz d'Arâches and 500m from the ski slopes of Flaine. Spacious, bright bedrooms, suites and family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your la Croix de Savoie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Croix De Savoie France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing