We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski in and out!”
Review of Milkhotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Milkhotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great location, bottom of red run and short green down to bubble.
Fantastic management and staff, great bar, good food
Our 8th year here. Skiing in the trees or higher in Flaine. Beginners to off piste monsters, all are catered for!
We'll be back next year
Mike & June Jobson

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrebleOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

Our family of 4 spent the end of January enjoying the delights of skiing at Les Carroz d'Araches with Milk Hotel as our base. We selected the 1/2 board option, which always gives me a bit of trepidation: will the hotel see the food as overhead and try to skimp on quality or will it use the dining experience as a selling point? At Milk, the approach is definitely the latter. The food is an updated, fresh version of French mountain cuisine. The ingredients were fresh, inventive and delicious. The hotel's staff were excellent, for example, the first night when our 11 year old was suffering from jet lag and almost falling asleep over his dinner, as we were sending him off to his room to sleep, the waiter offered to make him a ham sandwich in case he woke up hungry. Christophe, the owner, is always on-site, quietly and graciously attending to his guests needs. He booked our lift tickets and his arrangement with Abondance Ski Rentals, which will deliver and pick up skis at the hotel, eliminates the hassle of that part of a ski vacation. The cozy lounge was an welcoming place for an aperitif and card game before dinner. French friends with a house in the village came to visit for dinner one night and were favorably impressed by the meal and ambiance of the hotel. Altogether, a fab experience and Les Carroz itself is a marvelous little village with a large collection of excellent ski runs to enjoy. An excellent place for a family ski holiday.

Room Tip: On the weekends, the noise level in the bar can be a bit high, so if you're not one for late nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liyamei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We booked this hotel without knowing much about it besides the fact that it was on a mountain so easy access to and from the slopes.

Booking
I had direct contact with the manager, Christophe, via email. He answered every single of my hundred questions and the booking went quite smoothly.

Transfer
Christophe arranged the transfer to and from Geneva Airport to the hotel. Upon arrival a gentleman was waiting for us holding a sign with my name on it. We were escorted to his executive car with leather seating and were driven to the hotel within one hour. On our way up the mountain, the taxi driver stopped at the ski shop so we could hire our equipment right away and ski on the same day. At the end of our stay we left our gear at the hotel for the ski shop to pick up.

Hotel
The hotel reception is a great, cosy, warm and inviting living room with amazing views. Our room on the second floor was slightly small (we had a lot of luggage because of the ski clothing etc) but newly renovated with a lovely shower (which wasn't kitted well hence bathroom floor wet after showering) and fantastic view.
The ski gear room was also situated on the second floor which was very practical.

Restaurant
The breakfast was amazing, lots of organic stuff but also french pastries etc. The dinner (a changing 3 course meal daily) was also great although they didn't have much (spure of the moment) non-pork alternatives. My boyfriend eats pork and his food was fantastic! It might have been my own fault for not mentioning this with the booking but I wasn't aware of the fact that there would be a set menu. Nevertheless, what I could eat was delish!

Conclusion: If you're looking for easy access to the slopes, cosy hotel, comfortable beds, great food and amazing views, book this hotel. I would definitely go again but would probably book a bigger room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZappyLula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

If your looking for an excellent quality hotel that does'nt break the bank, a place where you can clip your ski's on 3 meters from the bar and a place you really look forward to coming back to at the end of the day, then this is the place to stay.

Torn between keeping this little piece of paradise a secret or shouting about it from the rooftops i have chosen the latter as it is just so good. Everything the website shows in its images and descriptions are exactly what you see and get.

That said, first impressions are not what they seem: Strangely when you arrive you are greeted with the previous hotel name sign (Bois de la Char ) which starts sending out little alarm bells. You then head up in a very dated old lift where momentarily you would be forgiven for thinking "this doesnt look anything like the website'. However your fears will be swept aside as soon as the doors open on the third floor where the reception and louge areas are occupied. We instantly felt we had been transported to an exclusive chalet. In fact we were amazed and therefore sceptical before arriving that no reviews had been posted any where on the web about this little gem.

The MilkHotel can be best described as a boutique chalet style hotel, small enough to care and provide all the finishing homely touches yet big enough to have some soul.

The interior decoration in the public areas is a fusion between contemporary scandinavian style and warm, homely Alpine charm. A lovely log burner glows warmly in the lounge area that overlooks the pretty village below with a number of different comfy sofas from which to rest your weary legs and side tables hewn out of local timber on which to put your well deserved drink.

The Main restaurant serves modern style French cuisine and although there was only one chioce of main we were delighted to be offered a Fillet steak on the first night! There is a lovely warm ambience with individual lamps on each of the tables that give a really nice touch. The wine list is fairly extensive and covers most tastes but as with all places in the French Alps a little on the pricey side. The slightly abrupt but helpful waitor provided some amusement as he and his side kick traded frustrations with each other as they served dinner but this all added to the charm of the dining experience.

Breakfast is served in a seperate area downstairs where the million dollar view doesnt get any better as you sip fresh orange juice and fill up for the day on fresh bread, pastries, fruit and cereals and unlike many French hotels there is more than enough choice and qty for the largest of appetites.

There is also a bar and seperate restaurant for non guests and this is used extensively for day time dining out on the patio that is filled with deckchairs and tables and also serves as a great place for some apre ski as you watch the sun sink behind the mountains.

The rooms that we stayed in had fantastic views, either over the village and across the valley or directly looking up the red run that cascades down in front of the hotel. The hotel has obviously had an extensive redecoration and all of the fixtures fittings and bedding appear to be brand new including 32 inch flat screen televisions pinned to the walls. The bathrooms have all the latest in smart contemporary fittings and were absolutely spotless. Not a sign of lime scale or chipped tiles / dirty grouting. We had a bath big enough for two in our room with taps and shower in the middle with a lovely trough style basin complete with devine smelling toiletries. Our friends had a rainforest shower room that looked like something out of a conran design book.

There are a few minor negatives but even these should'nt put of the most discerning customer:

- The main corridors to the rooms are painted brown with huge 2 ft high yellow numbers painted on the doors which just didnt seem to reflect the styling of the chic rooms behind them.
- No afternoon tea or cake. For very little extra cost this would have completed the end of the day experience when you have kicked of your ski's and boots and sink into the sofas next to the log burner and recount your days activities.
- Its a steep 10 minute uphill climb from the village but given the homely and relaxed atmosphere its almost nicer to stay in and enjoy everything that you have paid for.
- The French think we love a traditional Reclette while we holiday in the Alps and although this is universally not the case it was nicely presented and varied compared to most we had experienced although it would have been nice to have been given a choice on this particular evening.

Given that this year has seen well below average snowfall, the pistes in Les Carroz have been well looked after and were a 100% skiable right down to the hotel and then on towards the village and the lift system that serves the main ski area. I would imagine that this hotel has ski in ski out for the duration of season whatever the conditions.

All in all this is a lovely and charming hotel with an understated level of luxury that would be hard to beat for the money and i would have no fear in recommending it to like minded travellers who are looking for a cosy home from home experience with the benefit of a no hastle location that allows you to maximise your time on the slopes.

We will definately be going back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChicRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank mathjoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Éviter absolument les chambres du 2eme étage qui donne sur le local à ski
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maudinette1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Carroz-d'Araches
0.3 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#1 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
#2 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Airelles
Les Airelles
#5 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Terminal Neige - Totem
6.1 mi away
Hotel La Ferme du Lac
4.6 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkhotel

Address: Route des Servages, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Les Carroz-d'Araches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Milkhotel, a hotel and restaurant at the foot of the slopes of Les Carroz. The idea of creating something different, less hectic and more responsible, and the quest for quality, simplicity and the satisfaction of your expectations and those of your children has today given birth to the MILKHOTEL. The new, resolutely contemporary setting has still kept the atmosphere and warmth of a mountain chalet. And it's just like being in a true chalet: on the slopes, at the foot of the slopes, skis on the feet, ski in ski out... all that you could possibly want from a ski resort. In the heart of an extraordinary ski area, you and your children are just a hop and a skip away from the world of mountains and skiing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milkhotel France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing