We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different but quirkey !”

Bistro Grill du Gron
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$54
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Northants
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Different but quirkey !”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Have been going to the Gron for many years since it opened having lived in les Carroz for 12 years as a regular visitor. Run by Philippe and Beatrice who speak good English and now assisted by their son. We've never seen anything like it anywhere in Europe as basically it is like someone opening a restaurant in their chalet living room and cooking using a bloomin great wood fire place right in the middle. Food menu is simple but based around red meat...but they do offer vegetarian and fish / chicken. The duck is amazing. Basic side salad, jacket potatoes and lots of meat ! The cote de beouf is "huge" thankfully for min 2 people to share.
In the winter the fire is great for warming you while you wait for the meat to cook over the embers and in the summer you can go outside.
Remember there is just a cook and a waitress so dont expect 5 star service and speed - but hey good food should be a long drawn out affair, go to McD's in the valley if you want fast food.
The gormet coffee with small side desserts is my favourite for pudding or the raspberry coulis with white creme fraiche. If at the end, Philippe likes you , you might get his home made apricot genepy....it's strong stuff so down in one.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank parovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    24
    7
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One place to eat”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a small restaurant with quirky charm. If you don't like meat its probably not the place for you. The steaks are excellent and you get to watch them being cooked on a open stove, along with the baked potatoes. The starters are okay and desserts are good. If you go, ask for the owners cousins wine. There is a good red and wine to choose from. During six weeks I ate here four times, If you are here for a week it should be on your list, and the steak is definitely the best option. Prices are fair and the owners friendly and engaging but occasionally overrun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyDerbyshire681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly & Welcoming”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Went to this little restaurant last week, absolutely superb!! "the cote de beef " well recommended by our friends gav & sue who live local,a little expensive but well worth it, properly the best cut of beef iv had.. If you want a very good meal this is the place to go. followed by the owners home made brew! this is guaranteed to warm the chest… will definitely return again.. reservation needed

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome and excellent food”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked Gron for Christmas Day on the recommendation of a local, and were delighted we had.

We had a warm welcome from the very hard-working couple that run the restaurant, and simple but superb food. We had heeded previous reviewers and dressed in layers so that we didn't overheat!

We visited again during our stay and will definitely have it top of our list to visit next time we are in Les Carroz.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimeToTravelAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A meal to linger over”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The owner cooks the meal on an open fire.
Large slabs of meat, very nice salmon and sea food, salad, potatoes.
This is a unique restauramt and quite a treat.
But it takes a while to prepare ao don't arrive hungry!
The atmosphere is super. Lovely setting, pretty indoors.
The only drawback is the size of the tables, they ar small. Also the high stools aren't really very comfortable.
That said, this is a real treat.
Book early. They fill up fast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank liketOtravel00742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Grill du Gron also viewed

Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
 
Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
 

Been to Bistro Grill du Gron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing