We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently improved and ideally located for a ski holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Odalys Sunotel
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I stayed in the Sunotel in January 2013. I have stayed there a few times in the past and whilst conveniently located the apartments were always pretty scruffy and poorly equipped. It seems that (some of) the apartments have recently been done up and both the apartment in which we stayed and another that I visited were greatly improved.

I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with a separate room rather than bunks in the corridor; don't worry too muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Had front room on second floor. Apartment was for four, but was very, very cramped: bunks in hallway; foldaway bed in living/dining/kitchen room. Typical for France, but on the small side of typical. Very basic kitchen, but we did cook regularly. Horrible smell in bathroom from drain in shower. Suspect the stacks are not vented properly. After a few days (we were there for a week), I covered the drain, bought some air fresheners, and we coped. But the smell was unbelievable. Everything tired, but serviceable. Some lightbulbs were out, but I'm afraid I have never been to a ski resort where that hasn't been the case. Good location. No amenities in hotel, apart from ski lockers. Was a bit noisy, but actually not that bad, even in the front. Staff were not horribly accommodating: had to wait hours to check in because their hours are not coordinated with tour operators (even though staff were actually there). When they were available, the staff were friendly enough and seemed to appreciate being spoken to in French. My two youngest kids love this resort, though I'd prefer somewhere closer to more challenging skiing. We chose it for price: if that's your basic criterion, then go for it. If you can find something more expensive but close in price, I'd be tempted to go for that....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We've stayed here for winter holidays. Standard appartment for 4/6 people, well equipped. Close to the free bus stop to ski lift. The staff is friendly, everything was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maxim_mos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed from Christmas eve for a week, with 2 young children. The location is brilliant, right in the corner of the town square, over the Christmas period there is plenty of entertainment put on by the town, which was right outside our window. They were very considerate though and they were all done by 8pm or so.
The intersport ski rental shop was part of the bottom floor of the building, the staff of which were superb.

Whilst it is true that on some nights we were awoken by people outside, these were very isolated events, and it was the festive season! There was no noise from any bars or clubs etc. The children were not woken.

The apartments could do with some tlc and look dated, but they were warm, had hot water all the time and comfortable enough for the time spent in them. The kids were happy as they had bunk beds to sleep in! For the price we paid they were very reasonable.

This was our 2nd trip away skiing, the resort as a whole was very good, we bought the grand massif lift pass, but never went outside smaller massif zone. The green run 'Marvel' over the other side of the ridge into Morillon was superb, some of the blues were steep in places so make sure you are back in the groove before nailing it down them!

I would love to return, if the price was right for the sunotel i would stay there again too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Although the location was excellent for access to the ski bus, we found our stay very restless being woken throughout each night by noise from passers-by who had been drinking through till about 4am. We were at the front of the building and think a rear apartment would have been much better. The apartments have tiled floors which allowed noise to transmit through the building in all directions. The building would benefit from updates and maintenance to bathrooms (mouldy ceiling), no mixer taps in shower making temp' control worryingly difficult and poor ventilation. Owners were pleasant people.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iceniwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank axelfoler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisy0259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Carroz-d'Araches
0.6 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#2 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Airelles
Les Airelles
#6 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
48 reviews
4.3 mi away
Residence Odalys Le Buet
Residence Odalys Le Buet
#4 of 6 in Morillon
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
#1 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence les Servages
Hotel Residence les Servages
#4 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Odalys Sunotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Odalys Sunotel

Address: 13 Rue des Moulins, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Les Carroz-d'Araches
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Price Range: £33 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Odalys Sunotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ski Planet, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Odalys Sunotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odalys Residence Sunotel Hotel Les Carroz-d`Araches
Residence Odalys Sunotel France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing