We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes du Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes du Soleil
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed for a week at Easter with Grandma, a teenager and a 4 year old. Although the season was dawing to a close and the weather very warm, the snow was still good with excellent Spring ski-ing condtions in the mornings

The Apartment had 2 bedrooms, a double with shower and and a twin. They were compact but perfectly adequate in size. There were 3 big wardrobes and plenty of hooks etc for ski stuff

The kitchen had everything we required to self cater most of the time. Fridge was huge with freezer and microwave was very useful. More pots and equipment than we could use including a filter coffee maker. The living area had a sofa ( under which the little one slept perfectly on a pull out bed) and a table, chairs, TV and loads of storage

We had a lovely big, sunny balcony overkooking the town which we used a lot given the hot sunny weather. We were 3 minutes walk from the town centre

Reception were very helpful and friendly. The pool, jacuzzis, saunas and steam rooms were excellent - we used them every day after ski-ing

The town is great for families, a few small bars and restaurants, lots of little shops for Grandma to wander round in the day. A great kids park and some low key entertainment in the square - clown, vin chaud, games etc

Ski-ing is accessed by telecabine quickly from just above the town ( free bus from the apartments) We skied with children happily all week on Massif lift pass and didn't need to go to Flaine at all ( Grand Massif pass )

The ESF Jardin de Neige was absolutely fantastic. What wonderful people - looking after tiny children and instilling in them a love of skiing . My daughter at just 4 loved every minute and there were younger children than her. Can't praise them enough. The other ski school were not set up to deal with non ski-ing tinies at all . The lessons are 3 hours the beginning and end of which are spend in a heated club house ( and there is toilet on the slope for emergencies!)

It is 40 minutes from Geneva ( make sure you turn the right way onto the A40 as we didn't !) Really easy drive. The car was invaluable but it would have been perfectly possible using the ski bus

A great family holiday with a 4 years to 80 years age span. Would definitely return

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxxyxxyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    214
    61
    22
    6
See reviews for
370
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Bring plenty of towls, and a bath robe to get from your room to the pool. The rooms do not hold as many people as they claim comfortably. So I reccomend seeing the room
first. Once all that is sorted out theyhave a great location, and their is even an onsite
grocery store with a grat selection of French wine. The spa was great to but the massage was more like a rubbing because they only have one girl from 9am to 9pm
doing all the massages. They are over worked. We overall enjoyed the skiing, food,
and facility, and will come back. FYI the hot tub was very dangerous my husband slipped
and fell no bar to hold on to, and its all tile so be careful!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fireflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Les Fermes du Soleil Site Manager at Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes du Soleil, responded to this review, 1 May 2009
Dear Fireflys.
We'd like to thank you for your recent review and would like to apologise for any inconvenience which was caused by your previous points.
I'm pleased to say, you can find exact measurements and layouts of our rooms on our official website, and can also see a virtual tour of rooms before you book.
The concept behind Residences MGM, is to keep costs as affordable as possible by offering customers a series of product or services choices, which can be added on to the cost of the room if they require them. This includes towels. Again, a full comprehensive list of what is included during your stay can be found on our website.
Thank you kindly for your comments about our spa- these have been passed onto head office for review.
I sincerely hope you choose to stay at one of our apartments in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2008

We stayed Feb 08 in an apartment for 5 chalet D for a week. It had snowed loads and we used the underground car park at cost of 60 euros and we fit in even with a roof box on. The car park led directly into chalet block. 2 bedrooms were comfortable and had lots of space for luggage. Spa complex was great, treatments too expensive. Kitchen area small but had all you need - we self catered all week no probs, had a combi-oven that did loads plus fridge, hob etc. Extractors didn't work though! Quiet and comfortable - though sofa not good for spending much time! We had 2 kids aged 11 and 7 and managed to dry stuff easily on heated rails.

  • Liked — Lots on offer
  • Disliked — Wires exposed in apartment and extractors faulty
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frostyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2008

We stayed at Les Fermes du Soleil over New year 07/08 . Les Carroz is a lovely French skiing resort, with a lively buzz about it, plenty of little bars and restaurants, great ski shops, plenty of ski equipment hire shops, and a couple of wonderful cheese/ mountain meats shops.
The reception area was welcoming, as were the staff. Nice indoor pool and hot-tubs, great for end of day swimming /relaxing with children. There are 5 CHALET appartment blocks - recommend if you are in Chalet E you avoid the ground floor as it looks directly onto the ice rink and accross to the Spar supermarket . Ice rink closed early (7pm) and was not particularly noisy, but did play music and was fairly busy so may annoy if you can't escape it.
The appartment we had supposedly slept 5/6 people - DO NOT BE FOOLED !! It was TINY . We were a party of 4 with 2 children under 10, and it was fine for us, but there was no room to manouevre and if there had been more of us it would have been a nightmare. Our double bedroom was fine, simply but cosily furnished, with a closet size walk in shower/ basin ensuite. 1 separate toilet for the appartment. The 2nd room with 2 small size single beds was very small, to the extent that one of the single beds blocked 2/3 of the doorway. There was no window ( except an internal one onto the corridor and lift(with shutters over)- not sure what the point of that was. There was no storage space in this room except for a small head-height cupboard. No drawers or wardrobe. Not suitable for adults, or possibly teenagers.
Kitchen/dining lounge area all in one, very small . Microwave combi oven and hob but no proper oven.Nice wooden chalet style furniture, but an incredibly uncomfortable sofa , which doubled as a 1/2 size single pull-out bed, which thankfully we didn't need. Choice to sit was the hard wooden dining chairs or rock hard upright sofa, so don't pick these appartments if you plan to spend a lot of time relaxing in them! Nice family feel to Les Fermes du Soleil, and would go back but think their description of 4* is pushing it a little based on appartment size. Think the photos on their website must be for 8 + people and with very wide angled lens.
Snow was good, as was the skiing, with a good number of runs. Excellent for intermediates.recommend you pay the extra and get the ski lift pass covering the Grand massif area rather than just the local area,so you can go up to Flaine ( hideously characterless but good runs ) and across to Samoens . Free Ski buses, but busy, and you can wait up to 20 minutes. If you are skiing in the morning it's worth driving up instead and parking in the free car park by the telecabine.

  • Liked — friendliness and efficiency of staff . Nice resort
  • Disliked — Tiny appartment. Hideously uncomfortable sofa !
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pc-37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Carroz-d'Araches
0.7 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#3 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
#1 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Airelles
Les Airelles
#6 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residence les Servages
Hotel Residence les Servages
#4 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
3.1 mi away
Terminal Neige - Totem
0.1 mi away
Residence Odalys Sunotel
Residence Odalys Sunotel
#7 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes du Soleil

Property: Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes du Soleil
Address: 172 Rue du Val Renand, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France (Formerly Pierre & Vacances Premium Résidence Fermes Soleil)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Les Carroz-d'Araches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes du Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic village resort in the heart of the Grand MassifA residence in the traditional architectural style, located in the centre of the lively villageA residence offering relaxation areas and ‘Deep Nature Spa' by Algotherm services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes Du Soleil Hotel
Pierre And Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes Du Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes Du Soleil France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing