We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very best of Irish hospitality found!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coill Dara House B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Coill Dara House B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Tubbercurry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The very best of Irish hospitality found!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Coill Dara's rating should be 5 stars, not three! This was by far the very best B&B we have ever been a guest at in either Ireland or Northern Ireland. The McCorrick family was so hospitable and welcoming, a true representation of what you could imagine Irish hospitality to be. Their home is absolutely gorgeous and enormous. My husband and I were encouraged to explore and use their conservatory and equivalent of a family room, both absolutely tastefully decorated and comfortable. Their location is just outside the little town of Tubbercurrie and within walking distance, too. Patricia and Roger were so friendly and helpful. Roger joined us for breakfast before leaving for his work, a very friendly gesture, just like we were part of the family. Do not hesitate to stay here. We only wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the family and home longer. Maybe next trip to Ireland.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect. The house is huge and well equipped with any amenities you could need or desire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

It was great! It’s in a gorgeous house right on the edge of town, an easy walk to town for supper. The bedroom was beautiful, the best bed of the 15 bed and breakfasts we stayed in. We felt truly at ease in the sunroom looking onto the garden and peaceful pastures. Breakfast was one of the best we had in our three weeks in Ireland. But what really set this B and B apart was the hosts. They missed absolutely nothing in the experience they provided and their knowledge of the area and its residents past and present let us find the houses of ancestors who left the area 150 years ago for Canada. Staying with Patricia and Roger was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredandMarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just back from a wonderful few days at Coill Dara. Over the moon with our room, beautiful views, immaculate and luxurious feel. Patricia is amazing as were the rest of her family at making us feel so tremendously welcome. A great spot to travel out to so many beautiful places no further than half an hour really. This B+B is such a gem and can't wait to go back. The sunroom and living rooms were so relaxing and a beautiful haven to view the stunning surroundings. The breakfast was so very tasty and a perfect choice available for anyone. Nothing was too much trouble in this family, homely feeling wonderful B+B. Thanks Patricia

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were driving through late night trying to find a quick place to stay and found a quaint town, went down a random road and pulled into their driveway without warning. This was way back in May but I remember the owner (and husband) were so friendly and fun to hang out with, it was just the 4 of us and we sat drinking wine and eating cake. It felt like home like I was at my mother's. If I ever go back I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Very clean. Felt like staying at a 4 star hotel. Highly recommend. This review is way overdue and had promised to write when we had left but better late than never.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcbake01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed for one night(Friday 8th of November) but I wish it was more!
Although we arrived late on the evening we were welcomed by Patricia,
who offered us a lovely cake in the sun lounge/room. We were told of the
options for our breakfast next morning and there was a great choice on the menu.
The main problem is what to choose- the traditional Irish breakfast or continental or
scrambled egg and smocked salmon. The room we stayed in was tastefully decorated
and suitably furnished. Our beds were very comfortable indeed and the Television was well placed on the wall and was good quality .There were nice considerate touches that some so-called 5 star hotels would not provide such as toothpaste and a shower cap.
I really love to return again. I would gladly recommend it to anyone who
wishes to impress anyone, be they a business or other partners!

Room Tip: Look up the kind of room you like to on the Internet . All I know is that our room was excellent. Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed in Coill Dara with our little daughter for just one night and it was a very memorable stay. Patricia gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived and treated us to tea and cake in the sun room. During our short stay she made sure that we had everything we needed and helped us orientate ourselves for our journey into Sligo Town that evening.
The house itself is absolutely gorgeous and our room was very comfortable and extremely well appointed. The breakfast was a special treat and had lots of variety. After breakfast the next morning we were able to take a stroll in the fields and in the forest around the house, and saw some of the farm animals.
It happened that there were other small children in the house that day also, and our little one had a great time playing with them. Patricia and all of the family were very friendly and welcoming throughout our stay. This is defintely one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachaeldh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed for a few nights and there was 7 of us. We were stunned by the accomodation and the hospitality. Patricia and her family and staff were lovely and very friendly. This part of Ireland is stunning and still undersold so visit before it becomes a hotspot.
The property is a one off and is far better than the photos here suggest with veiws accross to the mountains of Cloonacool and surrounding fields, stunning!

Room Tip: The family room is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tubbercurry
16.1 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
24.6 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cawleys Guest House
Cawleys Guest House
#1 of 6 in Tubbercurry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Murphy's Hotel
Murphy's Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tubbercurry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
11.3 mi away
Deerpark Manor Bed & Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Haggart Lodge B&B
Haggart Lodge B&B
#1 of 1 in Aclare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coill Dara House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coill Dara House B&B

Property: Coill Dara House B&B
Address: Ballina Rd., Tubbercurry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Tubbercurry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tubbercurry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coill Dara House is a beautiful modern, period style home of character, located on a small farm on the edge of Tubbercurry (Tobercurry), Co. Sligo. Depending on seasons, you can meet sheep, lambs and donkeys in fields around the house. Located just off the R294 (Tubbercurry-Ballina Road) and N17 (Sligo-Galway), 12 miles from Knock Airport, Tubbercurry is very accessible and an ideal centre for exploring Counties Sligo and Mayo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coill Dara House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing