We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Short Break”
Review of Murphy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Tubbercurry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant Short Break”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just spent last weekend at Murphys Hotel. We had a family room with two double beds and a single bed. There was a section of the room with a small sofa and two chairs. The room was spacious and very clean and tidy.Breakfasts were great with a good selection of fruit juices, cereals, full irish cooked breakfast, toast, croissants ect. On the first night we had a wonderful steak dinner, in our group there were four steaks all cooked to different standards and we were all really pleased that they were cooked to our individual tastes. The staff were all really pleasant and couldn't have been more helpful.
The only issue was that the hotel does not serve food on a Sunday night after 6 o'clock but there is a really good sit in Chinese down the street. It has lovely food which wasn't too expensive.
Would happily recommend Murphys Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    55
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
77
110
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Family trip to Murphy's Hotel. Had a geat time here. Rooms clean and spacious with good sized en suite. Extractor fan comes on with bathroom light which is a bit loud. If you're a light sleeper you may hear room next door's fan going on. Best to use light above mirror if not using shower. Lovely big fry for breakfast. Highly recommend having dinner as it is very good. A family run hotel and all are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent one night in Murphy's Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and comfortable and both the dinner and breakfast were excellent. Paul and his staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary_MD4904HU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent a great week at this hotel with my daughter during the Old Fair Day festival . Other members of our family were also staying there at the same time and we all agreed that we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone considering a holiday or short break in Tubbercurry.The rooms were big,comfortable and spotlessly clean.The staff were very friendly and the food was great.Hope to return again next year

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Meath, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in Murphy s for a family reunion accommodation excellent spotlessly clean spacious rooms location perfect in centre of town also safe car park. Hot fresh food available all day starting with great breakfast served by friendly would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

i stayed at Murphys for 5 nights during the Old Fair Day Festival when members of my family met for The Gathering. My room was huge and very clean and comfortable. A great breakfast was provided and the fact that it was available until 11.00am was greatly appreciated given that I had some VERY late nights. I also ate in the restaurant on 3 occasions and the food was lovely. The location is perfect. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCoyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed there for the South Sligo Summer School and couldn't have picked a better spot.
We have been there a few times before and have recommended it to friends.
It is clean, comfortable, fantastic breakfast, friendly staff, great atmosphere.
Paul is a great manager
Love staying there.

Room Tip: I have had different rooms each time and liked them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaO434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tubbercurry
18.1 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
17.4 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,067 reviews
18.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
424 reviews
18.7 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
15.6 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Hotel

Property: Murphy's Hotel
Address: Main Street, Tubbercurry, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Tubbercurry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tubbercurry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Murphy's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing