We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best!”
Review of Cumbuco Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cumbuco Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 45 Cumbuco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Marije and I spent our first week of our Brazil holiday at Cumbuco. Their service is just phenomenal. It already started way before our trip with the super fast answering of our questions by email. The service at arrival was also great. The staff arranged a taxi that picked us up from the airport and also waited at the house to let us in and made us feel safe. Our room was great with a nice warm shower, great bed, good working safe, nice working fridge and a fan. Their breakfast is just of the chart. Great variety of foods and plenty of everything. The kitecourse we booked was also super good. The materials where brand new and our teacher was awesome. Super friendly and patient and really took the time to teach us. We would recommend this place to all our friends. The location is super close to the beach in a nice and safe environment.

Room Tip: We booked the large double room which was perfect for us.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Cumbuco Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed one week in posada Cumbuco and we were very happy with the stay. Location is great, especially for kitesurfers. Room very good quality. Great guest house, reliable internet conection.
Very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

There are a lot of single travelers staying for a long time, so it's easy to get some kite buddies here.

There are actually three different walled houses: G1, G2 & G3. All with large grass area for kites and water to wash sand of gear. G1 & G2 are more sociable, while G3 is more quiet.

Breakfast is served in G1 & G2. Breakfast is big, with eggs, omelettes, toasts, muesli, fresh fruit, yogurt, fruit juice, coffee (not my favorite) etc, It is quite social, but often there are too many Germans.

G3 is a bit smaller and you have to walk 100 m to G1 for breakfast & reception. We stayed in G3 in second floor and enjoyed the view and the constant wind. The A/C was not used our three weeks there due to the nice cooling sea breeze. Wind was great stuff for both kiting and keeping cool! The hammocks and "Brazilazy" bags outside the rooms in the shade are great for chilling after kiting. Very nice feature.

Dinner is not served, except once-a-week BBQ or shrimp buffet. Some people went hungry and the price was not good value compared to what you get in town a 5 min walk away. The food in town is excellent and varied, so you don't really need the home cooking facilities provided in the room except for the odd snack.

The cleaning is supposed to be weekly, but they forgot our room twice. We complained twice, so the owner made it good by providing a bottle of wine on the house.

The reception helped us with renting a car, but the trips and other things they organize was not done as most people sort out trips on their own. There was a lot of people who changed rooms, during their stay while we was there. Luckily we were in the same place the whole stay.

An amazing holiday here. Mostly due to kite wind every day, but also due to this nice chilled kite camp.

Room Tip: Higher floor have better view and cooling breeze.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirFireWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed for a couple of days in jeri and the guesthouse organized a Bus ticket for uns to cumbuco for only 80 Reais , that was great.
We received a wonderful Ocean View Room with a nice hot shower, tv, fridge and beanbags in the front of the room. Breakfast was Great with all what you Need ... Eggs, juice, tea, coffee, bread, cerial, Joghurt etc.
We could Not ASK for more ... We come back ...

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I have stayed in many guesthouses but The cumbuco Guesthouse was The best so far. Excellent breakfast, lange rooms , Big lawn to clean kites, free wifi, free coffee and Tea The hole Day.
All rooms have a large fridge but they sell 20 liter bottles of water for a good price so no need to carry water from the supermarket. Restaurants and beach are quite near and no car is needed.
I had a great stay and will come back ASAP.

Room Tip: Stay for a month they offer discounts !
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mykel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here for four days.

The guesthouse is actually three different properties nearby each other so you may not get exactly what you booked.

It's really clean, tidy, heaps of space for kite gear, great breakfasts etc. It's a little walk from town and the beach but no big deal.

It mainly caters for german tourists, so if you're German you'll love it!

They advertise that the staff help you organise day trips and downwinders but they don't. They're not that helpful unfortunately, which lets the place down a little.

Apart from that it's good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbucoGuesthouse11, Manager at Cumbuco Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hallo StuTM,

thanks a lot for your review.

Your words ... may not get exactly what you booked ... we like to comment ... :

Its nice that 2014 has just begun so we can tell you something ...

In 2013 we had not even 1 guest we had to rebook due to overbooking or for ANY other reason.
All guests received the room they have booked and which was confirmed. So nothing to worry about :-) !
All our staff at the reception are able to help you if you would like to do a downwinder or a daytrip and if you have any questions you can always contact the management via email using the normal guesthouse email address ! You will be surprised how quickly we help and your transportation will be ready to pick you :-) !

Happy New Year and all the best for 2014 from the CG Team !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Mario and his staff are gracious and accommodating. The breakfast was extensive and delicious. Mario arranged transport for me from and to Fortaleza airport, which was super helpful. I arrived late and someone greeted me within the complex. My room was beautiful - spacious, clean, lots of sunlight, comfortable bed and plenty of room to store gear on the deck, etc. They have free wi-fi. I was able to walk everywhere. The resort is a couple short blocks from town and some other guesthouses are closer to the beach spot where I kited and restaurants for dinner, but it was probably an extra 5 minute walk. It's quiet and peaceful. I didn't figure out the shower/hot water, but also didn't ask because the weather was so warm that a cool shower was refreshing. I've stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels around the world, but I loved this little gem. I was in the main house. I wish I was there now. The other guests were nice too and they had complimentary drinks some evenings, which made for nice social gatherings. Finally, I think this spot offers excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cumbuco hotels
0.6 mi away
Kariri Beach Hotel
Kariri Beach Hotel
#4 of 4 in Cumbuco
258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Pousada Beleza das Ondas
0.5 mi away
0031 Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Windtown Beach Hotel
Windtown Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cumbuco
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Vila Coqueiros
Pousada Vila Coqueiros
#2 of 45 in Cumbuco
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Viva Guesthouse
Casa Viva Guesthouse
#16 of 45 in Cumbuco
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbuco Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbuco Guesthouse

Address: Rua G 199, Cumbuco, Caucaia, State of Ceara 61619-220, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Caucaia > Cumbuco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cumbuco
Price Range: £28 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbuco Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guesthouse is a very cozy place for Kitesurfers and everybody who want to enjoy the beach. This will be the best vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cumbuco Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumbuco Guesthouse Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing