We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kariri Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kariri Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cumbuco
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I prefer the smaller pousadas but this place was close to the center with a nice pool right on the beach. Breakfast is included and is average. No phone or safe in standard rooms. Sewer smells in the North wing. Frozen food at the pool bar. A bit overpriced and too big for security (I saw none in the daytime) to account for any non-guests who might wander onto the property.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    97
    56
    35
    13
See reviews for
68
99
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

The rooms were at most a 3 star euro rating if you are staying on the nicer end of the hotel, but if you get stuck with the room we had on the first floor it was poorly kept. The furniture needs updating, the couch was gross, the rooms felt like a motel, the beds were uncomfortable and the bathroom was bit scary. The kitchen in the suites are pointless because they take up space in the room, and serve no purpuse, refrigerator in ours didn't even work. They made a hot mess of our reservation, and had to change rooms. The service is nothing to be desired, you need to be patient, if they say it will be right out, expect to wait a minum of 45 mins to an hour best case for your food. The pool service is better, our waiter Carlos took great care of us and worked his butt off to get us our order quickly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melladrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We were there for new year's eve celebration and the place is abandoned and very dirty. The beach was even worse!!! . My intention was to stay a week, but when we got there it was a deception. The manager made us pay in advance, so we stayed for 3 nights then decided to move to another place. They did not return the money we pay more! Near the hotel there is a village that looks like a slum so dirty and stinking with garbage everywhere, and people who live there do not seem to bother with the whole situation. You can find a much better deal at Vila Gale Resort (all included), which is a couple os miles ahead, on the same beach but far away from all that!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helio Marcos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cumbuco hotels

Lodz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Kariri Beach hotel is very nice situated, close to the center of Cumbuco, (5 min. on foot), with splendid pool and beautifull ocean view from most of the rooms. I agree that it gives the impression that its high class hotel, but its europeans 3 stars not more. The swimming pool is very large with clean water , the bar close to the pool is almost never opened so you cant use it. The restaurant is pleasand and nice with quite good food, fresh fruits and juices are the best. Generally is various but the same every day.
there is constant problem with opening the doors in your room. The keycards are not working almost once a day and you have to go to the front desk for help every time. Standard rooms are not spacious but its very clean with 3 tv chanells.The worst thing is the service. The most important inconvenience is that staff is not speaking English so the comunication is very restricted. you have to rather use your hands to gesture what you want to explain.In 4 stars hotel its unacceptable they should send the staff for a basic English lessons. On the other hand I must admit that they try to be helpfull if you ask them. Generally I liked the hotel besides the bad points because the atmosphere of Brazil recompense you for all the inconveniences.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izunia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Kariri Beach a beautiful hotel with a splendid pool facing the sea and nice rooms, but the overall experience is - unfortunately - no good. When you look at the hotel you get impressed and you expect the best service ever, which doesnt happen. It seems to me that the employees are not prepared to deal with public, specially if you are one that demands a GOOD service. On my first day at the hotel I had an argue with a really RUDE waitress at the breakfast saloon ( breakfast was OK, not excellente and not bad either ) over an order that simply didnt get to may table ( altough other people at my table ordered much later than me and got theirs).
If you don´t care much about service and just like to enjoy a great pool and the beach, maybe this hotel is cool for you. Next time I´ll try other one.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The main point is the horrible service - the front desk service is not acceptable! We (myself and my wife) stayed for 4 days in the Kariri Beach Hotel while we were on a trip to the North-East of Brazil and we have chosen this hotel because it is a brand new hotel. Unfortunatelly, the point that the hotel is new leads to the fact that the service employees are not used to deal with customer wishes, customer complaints, customer requets as one would expect from such a hotel. Any complaint is understood as a direct criticism regarding the individual employee to whom the complaint is made, e.g. if you complain about the fact that during the day an dnight hours there are parties ongoing in the pool area which make it impossible to get any sleep during the night, then such a complaint is understood by the front desk employees and the service manager as a direct complaint that they are not stopping such parties and request to turn down music volume.
In addition, the service manager does not understand that someone who pays a lot of money to stay in the hotel is expecting that the main selling points listed in the hotel brochure are something which the customer is indeed expecting.
Another example is the way how the service employees and managment do not care if there are obscene pool parties in the pool area happening with a lot of drinking games and a lot of obscene articulations by the party people. Despite the fact that families with small children are using the pool area to relax and enjoy the scenery, the service management did not care that in such parties obscene wordings and drinking songs are used. Even a complaint at the front desk and the hotel management was not taken into consideradation - the response was that this is Brazil and in Brazil people have to expect even obscene drinking songs and games directly next to the Infant Swimming Pool - and if this is something which the customer does not like then the customer should better not make vacation in Brazil.

in summary, I would not recommend this hotel for a family vacation or for relaxing vacations. The hotel is pretty loud, mainly due to the fact that the pool area is in the middle of the hotel and even during night hours there are regular parties (especially from groups attending corporate events).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mun_trip_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Kariri Beach is a brand new, modern hotel in Cumbuco.
Location is great, with direct acess to the beach and a 2 minute walk from Cumbuco centre.
There's also big swimming pool facing the beach. The breakfast was lovely with a lot of variety including some brazilian specialties.
Room were not very big but were tastefully decorated and very clean. Wi-fi was free of charge.
If want to stay near Cumbuco centre and right on the beach this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbuco
0.3 mi away
Duro Beach Hotel
Duro Beach Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cumbuco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golfinho Hotel
Golfinho Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cumbuco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windtown Beach Hotel
Windtown Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cumbuco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Carmel Cumbuco Resort
Carmel Cumbuco Resort
#1 of 8 in Caucaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cumbuco
Vila Gale Cumbuco
#2 of 8 in Caucaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousada Vila Coqueiros
Pousada Vila Coqueiros
#1 of 41 in Cumbuco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariri Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariri Beach Hotel

Property: Kariri Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida dos Coqueiros 2340, Cumbuco, Caucaia, State of Ceara, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Caucaia > Cumbuco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cumbuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kariri Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Kariri Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariri Beach Hotel Cumbuco, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing