We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I SAVED A GOOD FEW QUID”
Review of Sefton Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sefton Express
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballasalla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Being a Yorkshireman I didn't want to spend a fortune as we stopped for 2 weeks and this place was £55 per night .....we could have spent £70 for a B/B and a sightly better breakfast
1.The rooms are fine comfortable and warm and bedding changed daily
2.The staff are friendly and attentive
3.Wifi at £5 for as long as you stay ...not cheap for 1 night but ok for 14 nights
4.You need a car if you want to eat out ....never tried the in house evening meals as plenty elsewhere.
5.Very handy for airport and fine for getting to Douglas and Peel and of course the South end and we didn't clock many miles each day which was a change.
6.A safe in the room was very useful.
7.Railway Halt only 300 metres away.....but ask where it is as not obvious.
8.Will be back
You get what you pay for (budget) and we had no complaints whatsover and I would definitely recommend "Sefton Express"

Room Tip: end of the corridor is the quietest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

Very easy to find, signposted from the Airport. Plenty of parking and good welcome at reception. Ample seating in reception with T.V and canned alcohol to purchase.

Rooms where very small, especially the twin rooms, very little space at all, but comfy beds and T.V. Lovely clean bathroom. And very well soundproofed, hardly any noise at all from the Airport just over the road.

Continental breakfast was fine, nothing more than was needed. Only real downside was there was not a great deal food wise in the afternoons or evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaomiRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This was my first visit to the Isle of Man and as we were staying for 6 nights we chose the Sefton Express as a cheap & cheerful hotel to use as a base. First impressions were good. There was plenty of parking and the hotel was bright and clean with friendly and welcoming staff. The room was much nicer than expected with a superkingsize bed and powerful shower. The only criticism was that there wasn't anywhere else to sit 2 people other than the bed, but that is only a minor point as I suspect most people would use the hotel for short stays before a flight as the airport was within walking distance. The breakfast wasn't anything special just a continental breakfast, but was more than adequate. The hotel did basic food in the evening, but allowed you to order take-aways if you wanted and provided local menus in the rooms. Overall I would recommend the Sefton Express if you just want a good, clean & pleasant base from which to explore the island. I will most definitely book in here for my next trip!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at the beginning of September for 6 nights and where very impressed. Good place to tour the Isle of Man with very friendly and helpfull staff. Breakfast was limited and a hot option would be a great benefit, even at an extra charge. Overall a good clean hotel at budget price with comfortable rooms. Would definatey stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a25marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is a good modern purpose built budget hotel located near the Isle of Man airport, in fact it is within walking distance with your luggage. The rooms are clean, the staff pleasant and an adequate continental breakfast is included within the price. Wi-fi whilst available in the bedrooms is the subject of a one off charge of £5, a little steep if you are there for one night only, though not so bad if you stay for four nights like we did. Really wi-fi in the bedroom should now be free, even if free use is time limited. There is plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Short break to Isle of Man to see the many and varied sights and sample some of the hospitality, Hotel Sefton express was chosen because of location and plenty of safe free parking at Hotel rather than on street parking in cities/towns.Rooms very comfortable and warm, breakfast is continental, not the largest of choice of food but I found it enough to start the day.If there is one fault it is with the chamber maids ie they don't clean and tidy up each day in fact glass in bathroom was left unwashed for 2 days.

Room Tip: All rooms appear pretty much same no room would appear any better than any other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimpaler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

With our hotel of choice being full on arrival on the Isle of Man, we opted for the Sefton Express to carry us over for one night.
It was comfortable, clean and tidy and the rooms, whilst 'compact' were well equipped. Even though it is right next to the airport, we were not troubled at all by noise. The member of staff on duty was polite, friendly and very helpful, even ringing ahead to our longterm hotel to ensure we could drop our bags off early.

The reception area of the hotel also doubles as the bar and breakfast room. Breakfast offered is only Continental style which is a problem for those needing follow a gluten free diet. Make sure you take your own gluten free rolls to accompany the ham and cheese!

Otherwise, a perfectly respectable hotel as a one-nighter or for a weekend. Perhaps rather too limited with the facilities for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballasalla
8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
667 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#2 of 15 in Douglas
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
19.7 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
318 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Express

Address: Ronaldsway, Ballasalla IM9 2SE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Ballasalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballasalla
Price Range: £57 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sefton Express 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the Isle of Man Airport and close to historic Castletown in the south of the Island, Sefton Express is a modern, well-appointed budget hotel sharing the Sefton Group’s commitment to the highest standards of customer service. A perfect base from which to explore the beautiful Isle of Man. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sefton Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Express Ballasalla
Sefton Express Isle Of Man/Ballasalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing