We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish i had read the reviews before booking”
Review of Worplesdon Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Worplesdon Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I booked this as a Premier Inn paying £40. per night . I was later contacted by Premier inns and told it had been sold to Bespoke Hotels, Premier inns would pay the additional £40 making it £80 per nigh room only. I looked on their website and saw that they had only Luxury Hotels. . Well I can honestly say it is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in . Not even an easy chair to sit in. The windows would not open and we had to have a fan brought to our room. I can confirm all that the previous reviewers has said. This hotel needs an awful lot of money spending on it to even become a 2 star hotel. I am so disappointed it spoilt what was to be a wonderful break. for me and my wife

Room Tip: Sorry I do not think any of the rooms would be good until a complete upgrade is completed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northamptonpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Made 2 bookings and paid in advance for June. 1st booking for 7 nights - 2nd for 4 nights.
Hotel tired and very dated. Room overlooking patio area, which is used by staff during their break periods. Very noisy at night! Mentioned noise to reception on day 2. Night 2 - noisy yet again. Mentioned this again to reception on day 3. Very noisy on night 3 - had to shout out of window to staff to tell them we were trying to sleep! Spoke to reception on day 4, and told receptionist that we would like to claim under the 'good night' scheme. She apologised and said she would sort this for us.
Go back to day 2.......emailed and phoned by hotel, to tell us that the hotel would be closing, and would no longer be a Premier Inn, therefore they needed to cancel booking for 2nd booking of 4 nights! They would,book is into another Premier Inn of our choice. Mmmmm...as on business in Guildford, needed to stay local, so they have transferred booking to The Parkway, in Guildford. Lucky us.... They are even going to honour the rate we had already paid in advance! Have not had any feedback on refund for noisy nights.
Booked into The Oak at Petersfield for 1 night....see that review... Will also place review after stay at The Parkway next week.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitzhamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Although the young lady on Reception was pleasant and helpful this is no way compensated for the very grubby state of this hotel... absolutely filthy carpets in the corridor to our room, overwhelming smells from the adjacent restaurant kitchen, noisey fan in the bathroom, noise from the adjacent room and from children running alon the corridor at 3am. The beds were the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in and the view of the garden from our room was spoilt by the broken fence and picnic tables strewn across the lawn and the plastic catering bucket discarded in the bushes. Because the walls are paper thin, our noisy neighbours could be heard until after 3am and then again just before As we left the following morning the same polite Receptionist asked how our stay had been and when I said it had been dreadful she offered to refund us. Of course I graciously accepted! Oh, I forgot to mention that the rooms in this hotel are all upstairs and there isn't a lift - you have to go up one flight of stairs then down a few, across a landing then up a few more before going down the final few steps to the corridor off which the rooms are located. What a nightmare when you have heavy cases with you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonnie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

However pleasant the desk, some places just rub you the wrong way. The Premier Inn in Guildford is one such place.

At the cost, being served soap out of dispensers and toilet paper by the square is just wrong. As is doing everything in the bathroom accompanied by the deafening roar of a fan. No ironing board or iron (borrow at desk), no laundry services (that I noticed at least), no nothing really. Being on a long business trip, choosing this place as a base was in retrospect a mistake.

On the upside I thought I would get more ambient noises from the road but it was fairly quiet. The restaurant was alright but while the 'big/warm' breakfast part was made to order (nice) the kitchen failed in execution (not so nice); can't tell if it was the cook or the materials.

Located at the outskirts, the town center was a short walk away mainly through residential areas.

To reiterate for that ££ I would have expected more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antispin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed at worplesdon place a couple of weeks ago and the staff are fantastic- the building is a bit worn but the staff more than made up for it. I was checked in by kayleigh who was chatty and friendly and couldnt' do enough for me! definitely be back!

Restarant was great too- delicious and good prices

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just the one night at the Worplesden Place, and had no complaints. The bed was comfortable, and breakfast up to the usual Premier Inn standard - the restaurant manager was very efficient in ensuring we were served as quickly as possible in spite of a large influx of guests at the same time. The hotel is looking a little tired though, not surprising for an old property, but a refresh is needed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devon_Commuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for one night over a weekend, nice and quiet rooms even though they face a road. Comfortable beds and a great breakfast.
Exactly what you need for a quick stop overnight. No real personality there though.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matttrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worplesdon
0.2 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
388 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
743 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,977 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worplesdon Place

Address: Worplesdon Place Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England (Formerly Premier Inn Guildford)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Worplesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Price Range: £49 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Worplesdon Place 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 29 room hotel in the beautiful rural village of Worplesdon, just 3.5 Miles from Guildford town centre and 4 miles from Woking. Close to major golf courses and Bisley ranges. Set in a 19th Century manor house, Worplesdon Place combines traditional features with modern facilities. Our fresh food restaurant is set in the main old building with period features and views out onto the terrace. We are open for food every day from 8am for breakfast through to 9:30pm for evening meals. Our modern spacious bar is on the ground floor and opens up into the extensive beer garden which features a lake and its own resident family of black swans. Function room & library available for events and weddings. Enjoy live music on Tuesdays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Worplesdon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worplesdon Place Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing