We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough”
Review of Worplesdon Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Worplesdon Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked a family room and were pleased with the room size - even with a double bed and two singles, it was very spacious. Slightly odd layout, with one of the single in the bay window area, and lacking bedside tables and lamps for the singles, but otherwise ok.

The place has a feeling of Premier Inn - either it was previously a Premier or it's a massive coincidence - colour schemes, signage, standard of fittings/ furniture.

The place is being refurbished, so they're probably addressing some of these comments, but the hotel felt a little 'tired'. The building's a lovely old place, with lots of original features, but with high ceilings and large windows, some of these aspects are not being cleaned effectively - tops of window frames had visible dust.

For such a large room, it was slightly annoying that the plug sockets were only on one side of the room - none near the beds, which is a problem when needing to charge a mobile phone when it's also acting as an alarm clock.

Breakfast was good - lots of fresh foods. We went for the continental, which was included in the price. The muffins were obviously home-baked and very tasty! Not a massive range, but enough and good quality.

We would probably stay there again if we're in the area.

Room Tip: The family room was massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel used to be a premier inn, but is now run independently. And you should avoid it at all cost !!!

Where to start, the outside of the hotel has been decorated and the walls inside painted (without taking the mirrors and pictures off the wall),same carpet as when a premier, the whole building is in need of big money !!

The rooms (17,18 & 21) were clean but as I say are in need of a face lift, the shower (17) only ran cold, the taps had to be virtually un-screwed before the water came out and the room had a stale smell about. One good thing (probably the only good thing) was the bed was comfortable.

The restaurant was a complete joke, we (3 of us) ordered starters and waited 20 mins, there was only 9 people eating, we then ordered the main course which took 50 mins to arrive !! only for the waitress to give the wrong meal to 2 of us, we all ordered steak which can with half cooked chips, a burnt mushroom and a tomato cut in half with 1 half grilled and the other not grilled !!!

Unfortunately we had 2 nights due to working local, the 2 morning the breakfast was not ready at 7am and all the guests were kept waiting for nearly 20 mins whilst the inadequate staff laid out the breakfast things. half of the items in the continental breakfast menu were not available.

Due to the delay we only had cereal, but 3 guests had a cooked breakfast (out of 9 people) and when it arrived all 3 did not get all they ordered!!! the only thing missing was Basil Faulty himself.

Finally when I went to pay the bill the credit card payment was taken, then I was told I could not have a receipt as the lad who took the payment did not have computer access to issue the receipt.

Don't be fooled by the website, as it looks very nice, but its easy to have a great looking website !!!

The whole operation is a joke - BE WARNED !!!!

Room Tip: Don't there aren't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haircut100golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Worplesdon Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Sorry to hear about your stay with us. You are correct in saying that extensive money needs to be spent. As you may have noticed from the building works taking place, that this money is being spent and at a rapid rate. Our pricing structure is set to reflect these works happening. Therefore the cheaper price banded rooms are the old premier inn stock out of the main building. Unfortunately these are the rooms you were in and are soon to be under going major changes. I can only apologise for the delay in your food. Our chef had been involved in a road accident and we did struggle to cover for this at short notice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I was a little disappointed with the quality of the decor given the price. Needs a bit of a face lift. Clean and tidy with pleasant staff. Good pillows! Didn't eat there but good range of room service and food if you arrive later in the evening.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank ffordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Worplesdon Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your review. As you saw whilst here we are refurbishing and trying to improve daily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We chose this hotel as we were dropping our daughter of to the local ATC which was only five mins drive away. A triple room B & B was a good price together with its location was the main reasons for choosing this hotel. The room was small and in need of decoration, The bathroom smelt of urine. The facilities were simple but not adequate for the number the room was set up for. i.e only two cups eve though it was a triple, not enough coat hangers etc. I know that they are in the middle of redevelopment and this was probably on the list of rooms to complete, an excuse, maybe. The staff was of a high calibre so there is some hope. The bed was really comfortable and clean. The breakfast was a mixture of good and bad, Good the cooked breakfast was very good, tasty and hot. The beans were dished in a small dish and the hash browns was a tasty mix of mash potato and fried outing and was ordered via the waiting staff. The not so good: Tea and coffee supplied via flasks, no lables and stewed which meant even the coffee was not drinkable. No hot water was readily available and this really let the hotel down. Overall not a hotel I would readily return to - sorry

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Worplesdon Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing us. As you stated not everthing was right. As you can see we are undergoing extensive refurbishment and changes. We hope that all issues will be resolved soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked a 'superior room with dinner an breakfast'. As with a previous reviewer we were offered a room (no.3) that had a double bed pushed against a wall in a room decorated like a basic B&B room, that looked over the car park. This could no way be described as superior room. I immediately complained, politely, and we were moved to an excellent room on the ground floor that had a door leading to the garden.
The hotel and location are excellent. The staff on the other hand are either too inexperienced or not bothered. There was no manager present during the day that I saw. I witnessed 3 complaints made by customers during our time in the bar area.
In the evening I went to check on how busy the restaurant was and was told it shut at 8, and it was few minutes past 8 so I couldn't go in. I went straight to reception and was seen my a young lady, who I believe may have been a manager. She said that there was a mistake and we could go in, .....................................sorry now run out of time to continue this. But there is more. Shame as nice place, could be so much better with little effort from the staff.

Room Tip: avoid room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Second time we've stayed here as close to family - when it was a premier inn it was bad, now its bespoke hotel its awful. Room had no cold water whatsoever, tap didnt even work. Hot water tap worked, however was no hot water for tap or shower - great! Told the guy at the front desk to which he simply nodded and pretty much ignored us. Floor was filthy under the bed, normally wouldn't care however as it was a raised bed you can see clearly underneath it!

Breakfast staff were nice, however the food was lacking so say the very best.

Such a shame as the grounds are lovely, let down by a terribly maintained hotel.

Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Never thought I would say it but stayed here many times when it was owned by premier inns now the new owners appear to be struggling, inexperienced staff a restaurant that shuts at 7pm on a Saturday night and kitchen staff that are short staffed. We booked a table for 7 at 8.20 the food finally arrived our 2 and and 5 year old were tired and not amused. We returned the vegetable Wellington as it looked like a pasty with a piece of cauliflower embedded inside. The manager was good enough not to charge us for the dish and the kids meal but by then it was all too late. As regular visitors we will be looking elsewhere unless they can convince us things have improved.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pjones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worplesdon
0.2 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
388 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
743 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,977 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worplesdon Place

Address: Worplesdon Place Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England (Formerly Premier Inn Guildford)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Worplesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Price Range: £49 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Worplesdon Place 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 29 room hotel in the beautiful rural village of Worplesdon, just 3.5 Miles from Guildford town centre and 4 miles from Woking. Close to major golf courses and Bisley ranges. Set in a 19th Century manor house, Worplesdon Place combines traditional features with modern facilities. Our fresh food restaurant is set in the main old building with period features and views out onto the terrace. We are open for food every day from 8am for breakfast through to 9:30pm for evening meals. Our modern spacious bar is on the ground floor and opens up into the extensive beer garden which features a lake and its own resident family of black swans. Function room & library available for events and weddings. Enjoy live music on Tuesdays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Worplesdon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worplesdon Place Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing