We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Fantastic”
Review of Worplesdon Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Worplesdon Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wonderful service and menu. Both breakfast and dinner. The breakfast choices were amazing and freshly prepared. Dinner menu was somewhat restricted from that shown in the room. May be because it was a Sunday. It was however superbly cooked and tasting delicious. The grape ice-cream was the best ice-cream I have tasted. Finnish the refurbishment and it will be 5 green dots from me. Wonderful lakeside setting also and so close to Guildford centre.

Room Tip: just check the web site and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Really glad you enjoyed yourself. Thankyou for taking time to comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

If we hadn't been staying as a group of people then I would have turned down the room and found another hotel. Certain rooms in the main part of the hotel are very good, with spacious rooms and great views... However we got put in the "cheap" motel style rooms at the back of the hotel, right outside the open kitchen doors and rubbish bins.

I was really shocked when I saw the room, it was tiny and smelled like an old age home. There was one small window that you wouldn't want to open. The bathroom was very ugly for a hotel room, and the toilet kept running for ages after flushing. The room was also very noisy, you could hear people from the property above (not part of the hotel?) moving around all night and morning. Worst part was that we realised that the aircon wasn't working in the early hours of the morning and had a very uncomfortable night.

Would never stay here again, even if I had one of the better rooms. Worst part was that our horrible room only cost £10 less than one of the decent ones in the main part of the hotel. Rip-off.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan100KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Sorry. Being an old country house and then cheaply extended to be run as a premier inn, it has a real mixture of rooms. Some times we have also discovered the builders haven't thought through female guests needs. We have a two year renovation plan and have now done about half. Our apologies for the condition of the one you stayed in. They are getting better and will all be done to a good three star standard but some will still be quirky. ie a small bedroom with large bathroom.
Very high ceiling in a small room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were staying at Worplesdon Place with a wedding party. A few weeks before the wedding, the couple getting married contacted us (along with several others) to tell us that there had been significant mix-ups with the group bookings. They advised us to reconfirm, especially as one person had somehow ended up with seven rooms under her name. When we called the hotel, we found that they had booked two single rooms for myself and my husband, which we corrected to a double.

Arriving on the day, thankfully our room was still there and under our name. Others weren't so lucky. This included the bridegroom's grandmother and at least one couple, who ended up having to stay elsewhere because the hotel had lost the booking.

The staff in the hotel really did not seem to care. The service level was non-existent. Everyone was simply being met with a "computer says no" attitude. This is a shame, not least because the hotel is nice and the staff in the bar/ restaurant were lovely.

To put this in perspective, I got married two years ago; my husband and several family members stayed at a Premier Inn and the service there was about a hundred times better than at Worplesdon Place.

I would only advise that you stay here if you would like to play a game of chance regarding having somewhere to sleep. Thankfully the day remained unspoiled but that was no thanks to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHogben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We were very sorry we appeared to be muddled about your booking. Our investigations suggest that various members of you party booked in separately but we should have been efficient enough to work it out. We now have a new manager who will i am sure will lead our young team in a more organised way in future. Our apologies again and i do hope that it didn't spoil the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is in a great location and should be wonderful, but there are a few niggles. Admittedly it's undergoing refurbishment, but...bland food in the bar/restaurant, reception staff not very attentive, velux skylight in the room with no blind, no sockets anywhere near a mirror, that's if the hair dryer actually worked. I travel a lot and have to say this was really disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhjgyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Sorry your stay wasn't to your liking. we now have a new chef and besides already doing great things with the standard fare, he is planning an exciting new menu for September. When male builders set out rooms sometimes they don't think! There is now a mirror in a better position and an electric blind on the velux in the hall. Our apologies we hadn't done it before you came, rather than after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with parents and boyfriend as we were down for brothers passout at Pirbright Army Barracks which was handy for us as it was only a 10min drive away.

On arrival my parent's were allocated a room and when myself and boyfriend checked in we were told that we had been upgraded. Much to our surprise.
We all went to my parents room (no.9) which was huge and very very spacious. They had loads of storage space and a small tv. Shower over the bath. Their room looked directly onto the beautiful lake and the beer garden just below...... We then went to out room (no.1) . It was 1/4 of the size of my parents. Very cosy though. Very comfortable bed and plasma tv. Not as much space to move around however enough for what we needed it for. We had a bran new en suite. Walk in shower and beautiful dressing area. However only disappointment about our room was our view. Especially for being 'upgraded'. We were in a side room that looked out on to chalets that were up a side street basically. People could see right In our room. I was woke up at 6:10am with the bin lorrie as we also had the view of the back of the Kitchen area.

Breakfast was lovely. Staff were very pleasant. Great range of things for the morning sat out waiting for u. Then we were served promptly and ordered a full English each which was to die for. Faultless.

Great for walks and not far from supermarket.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Glad you and your parents had a pleasant stay. Sorry about early morning deliveries which we don't seem to be able to do much about. Thank you again for taking time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, when I got up for work there were at least 5 large bed bugs running around on the bed!

The previous night I tried the shower and ended up nearly soaking the bathroom as the shower head was split along the top and sprayed most of the water upwards and out of the bath, the shower was unusable.

The food and service was decent, and we enjoyed both evening meal and breakfast.

The men on reception in the morning were very apologetic and gave me a full refund for the room. However, from what they were saying it sounds like it is a recurring problem at the hotel and since staying I have seen other reviews which have also had problems with bed bugs.

This hotel has now been black listed by my company, we won't be using it again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Amelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Worplesdon Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Due to our low rates, we do have a high level of occupancy, and unfortunately this is a problem that can happen with so many guests coming from other places and hotels. The soft furnishings have all been removed and the room treated. Following this the room will be undergoing a refurbishment, as are many of our rooms. I do hope you try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in June. Our room was booked for two people. We arrived on the Saturday to find only 1 towel available in our room, nobody was on the reception desk to ask for another so we had to make do sharing one towel. We got up the next morning for breakfast, what a sham! No bowls, no mugs, no juice, no brown bread left, most supplies took ages to top up, with one young lad running round apologising to all guests for the chaos! Another guest we were with had a two hour wait for their cooked breakfast!! Very disorganised. We arrived back at the hotel on sat evening around 10pm for drinks at the bar. Last orders were at 11 so we got our last drinks. However other guests arrived around 11.55pm and were illegally served at the bar! We asked for another drink and we got told the bars closed..very unfair on other guests! If the bar is closed it should be closed for all guests! We headed back to our room to find the maid had not been in the room to clean, empty bins, make the bed or change our towels, Disgusting!! This hotel is very disorganised, I will never return again! I got a very meaningless apology when we checked out and charged full price for the poor service we had received!! They also used a family members milk for their baby, which they had to store in the hotel kitchen as there were no fridges in the rooms.. Leaving a 7 month old baby with no milk!!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Worplesdon Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

I am sorry to hear about your stay with us. All matters will be dealt with and reviewed and I will contact you directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worplesdon
0.2 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
389 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
743 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,978 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worplesdon Place

Address: Worplesdon Place Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England (Formerly Premier Inn Guildford)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Worplesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Price Range: £49 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Worplesdon Place 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 29 room hotel in the beautiful rural village of Worplesdon, just 3.5 Miles from Guildford town centre and 4 miles from Woking. Close to major golf courses and Bisley ranges. Set in a 19th Century manor house, Worplesdon Place combines traditional features with modern facilities. Our fresh food restaurant is set in the main old building with period features and views out onto the terrace. We are open for food every day from 8am for breakfast through to 9:30pm for evening meals. Our modern spacious bar is on the ground floor and opens up into the extensive beer garden which features a lake and its own resident family of black swans. Function room & library available for events and weddings. Enjoy live music on Tuesdays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Worplesdon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worplesdon Place Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing