We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I regularly need to spend a night on business in this area and this hotel was great for a solo business traveller. Not soulless like a chain, nor did you feel you were staying in someones house; just the right balance. Loved the dinner, the honesty bar, the comfy bed and pillows, the coffee at breakfast the free wifi and choice of telly channels. Minor gripe was shower water pressure and the fact that my radiator was stuck on full blast but to be fair the lady in charge sorted this for me just before I passed out! Cute hotel, spotlessly clean, will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

Nice spacious room and friendly staff. Honesty bar is a nice touch and lovely decoration throught out. The hotel has an eco policy with all orgnic products. Great value for money.Breakfast was well cooked and there was a good selection!! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grela898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is a review of 2 halves, one good half, one bad.

On line reviews stated some of the rooms small but we thought we would only sleep there so we could put up with that. This proved to be a mistake. We were put into room 4, ground floor at the rear so this meant no road noise.

1st Half:
The building appeared clean and well maintained. There was obviously a decorating theme running throughout. The breakfast room had modern furniture, A nice sitting room come honesty bar. Idiosyncratic art work in line with decorating theme. Even the cutlery felt heavy and expensive and good to use. Things such as the teapots showed an overall concept & attention to detail.

Half Time:
To eat we were directed a few minutes walk up the hill. We ate at a premier Inn pub. Not that good. A 1 mile drive down the hill at Fox’s Corner was a good pub with nice food.

2nd Half
The views on the web site bear no resemblance to the room we had. The decorating theme continued but with a lack of attention to detail i.e. loops of wire hanging down from the wall mounted TV.

The room was very small with less than 2 foot of room down one side of the bed and at the foot. The room had almost no furniture apart from the bed, two bedside cupboards (one a small chest of drawers). There was also a built-in 2 foot wide wardrobe. There was no room for chairs or a table. You had to sit on the bed or the floor.

The bathroom. Day 1 - no toiletries. I was going to call the review “bring your own soap”. We actually bought soap while out but on day 2 the soap reappeared. What disappeared day 2 was the toilet paper. That could have been messy! What was going on? They claim to be passionate about their business, when they can remember to be bothered.

Elsewhere in the bathroom there was a hole in the laminate flooring, the toilet seat was of cheap MDF covered in veneer. It was swollen and delaminating from prolonged exposure to water, one suspects urine. Then there was the mold in the shower, some on the grouting and then when you got in and closed the door a complete garden around the hinge area. My wife had to get out of the shower as she felt unsafe, the water would not drain fast enough and she feared slipping & falling. Marks out of 10 for the bathroom –urrchh

Breakfast
One of the best breakfasts I’ve had in a B&B. Unfortunately on day 1 the English was almost cold. Day 2 it arrived hot. Like the toiletries and toilet paper standards swing from one extreme to the other.

All Night Opera
The honesty bar was put to extensive use on the 1st night when some Scots drank and sang, loudly and badly, until after 5 in the morning. It was evident from remarks heard at breakfast that we were not the only people who had been kept awake.

That there are drunk Scots is an immutable law of the universe, but the total failure of the on-site staff to deal with it is totally unacceptable.

On leaving we told the receptionist it was not what we had come to expect from a 4 star – she let out a small moan but did not ask why. Now she can read why. Service that was all over the place, a disgusting toilet, a room fit for midgets. Organic sausages, hot or cold, do not in any way compensate.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nisem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We have just returned home from a one night stay at the Asperion Hillside Hotel. It exceeded all expectations. The deluxe room was lovely, spacious, clean and the bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and served in the dining room overlooking the garden. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. It was worth every penny.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear and it was very quiet. The deluxe room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed for 1 night in a single room. The room was small but clean and modern. No bath just a shower, but thats fine as a shower suits me when I stay away. My only grip was the mold on the tiles and in the corners of the shower tray. The dining room is lovely with a veiw of the garden, the food was good and well cooked, breakfast was wonderfull the bacon wow!! The staff were all very friendly. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed at the Premier Inn in Worplesdon in April and while the service wasn't that great, I was overall happy with our stay.

As we were going to another wedding in Guildford we thought we'd stay at the Asperion Hillside which is just down the road from the Premier Inn. It was a bit more expensive but this time it was just the two of us.

We were greeted at the door and someone offered to take our bags. Shown around the dining room and small lounge where we could help ourself to drinks, putting money in the honest box and writing down what we had had. (One look at the prices put us off!)

Our room was very well decorated but a little small, there was hardly any room between the end of the bed and the sliding door into the bathroom. We had a view out to the garden which was lovely.

Staff were attentive at all times.

The next morning we came down to breakfast and into the pleasant dining room. So far so good.

The breakfast was beautifully cooked but there wasn't enough of it. I would normally expect to see a choice of bacon, eggs, sausage - all provided but only one button mushroom, yes just the one, no beans, no black pudding. I like to eat a good hearty breakfast that sets me up for the day and this was barely adequate.

I would have rated the hotel as 5 star if it wasn't for this one thing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pengy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We booked this hotel for our wedding reception and were really impressed with every aspect of our stay there - the rooms were clean and comfortable, the food was great, and best of all the staff were exceptionally friendly, welcoming and accommodating. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. You won't be disappointed if you stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worplesdon
3.1 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
605 reviews
3.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,990 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Worplesdon Place
Worplesdon Place
#2 of 2 in Worplesdon
404 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asperion Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asperion Hillside Hotel

Address: Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RF, England (Formerly Hillside Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Worplesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Price Range: £56 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Asperion Hillside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asperion Hillside is a 4* deluxe boutique hotel situated in the village of Worplesdon, just 10 minutes from the centre of Guildford and 15 minutes to Woking. The Hotel offers guests a luxury home away from home with personal service making you feel like a regular from your first visit. Having recently been fully refurbished guests can relax in our intimate bar and lounge area enjoying premium drinks from our Honesty Bar or freshly prepared meals from our Restaurant; whilst enjoying complimentary internet access throughout and car parking. In addition guest can enjoy our extensive gardens with koi pond and summer seating area, making Asperion Hillside the perfect venue for exclusive functions for up to 60 guests. The Asperion Hillside is perfectly located offering convenient access to both Guildford, Woking, Heathrow and Gatwick Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Asperion Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Guildford
Asperion Hillside Hotel Worplesdon, Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing