We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good guest house, with comfy rooms and nice honesty bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asperion Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good guest house, with comfy rooms and nice honesty bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my wife on 28th April. Easy check in and shown to our room. We had a deluxe room which was a little small BUT was comfy, well maintained and quiet. The room was on the first floor with views to the garden.

When we returned that night we were able to get a drink in the honesty bar which was well stocked and furnished with comfy sofas.

Would stay again and would recommend.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lifeintheoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    96
    40
    12
    1
See reviews for
53
129
29
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We found the hotel a week in advance of our stay on LateRooms, but rang the hotel directly to enquire about a family room. The knowledgable receptionist honoured the LateRooms price without question. On arrival the car park was full due to an afternoon reception being held, and as the rain was hacking down I was sorry to have to park over the road. However, a parking space became available within minutes by which time my husband was inside checking-in. We were shown to our room, the friendly receptionist pointing out the facilities on the way. She described how the 'Honesty Bar' works and advised us that our room refreshments (including bottled water and Green and Black's chocolate) were complimentary, (always mildly embarrassing to have to ask...).

We were extremely impressed with the modern, but homely decor, and our 6 year old daughter loved her cosy temporary bed. The main bed was at least Queen size, but a little soft for my liking. I agree with a previous review, that the hotel has a more personal feel than a large chain, but you do not feel you are staying in someone's spare room, which actually, I find very uncomfortable, something which one should not feel when paying good money to sleep in a strange bedroom.

Whilst Reception is manned until 10pm, we accessed the hotel front door with our room key when we returned from our evening out at 10.20pm. The lounge area was deserted and my husband and I really felt that we could have sat there comfortably for a night-cap, but our daughter was feeling unwell and unfortunately we could not take advantage of the 'Honesty Bar'.

Our sleep was mildly interrupted by the intermittent noise of a generator.

I am often irritated by the smells of breakfast permeating hotel rooms in the morning, but pleasingly, we could not smell any cooking until we were away from our corridor and through a Fire Door. Breakfast was served in a delightful room overlooking a beautiful green garden. Even though the rain was still doing its best to dampen our stay, it did not. The service and food were lovely (though we did receive brown toast instead of the white that we had requested, but being typical Brits, we didn't complain!). I have never really been that interested in organic food before, but am now a convert of Heinz Organic tomato ketchup....... I suppose we thought that the cooked element of the meal could have been sllightly larger, (the one EXTREMELY TASTY mushroom was very lonely on the plate), but perhaps we should have filled up with cereal. The contemporary setting, crockery (including the fine tea and coffee pots), furniture etc made for a very comfortable eating experience.

The one complaint we would have, is that the Fire Alarm sounded 5 or 6 times whilst we were packing up to leave. On one of these occasions my husband was in the bath which could have made for an eventful escape! As we were overlooking the Fire Assembly point, I was able to see if there were any people congregating, or whether it was just a false alarm, which of course, it ended up being. Upon checking out, my husband was advised that the alarm had been triggered by someone having a shower???? I hope they relocate the smoke/heat detector in that room......

Overall, the three of us were very impressed with the Asperion Hillside. As ex-residents of Guildford and Woking, we are fairly frequent visitors to the area, and usually slum it in the Travelodge, but really feel that this hotel is worth the extra expense, expecially when booking at the last minute, when the prices are very comparable. I would definitely recommend the Asperion Hillside, and look forward to our next stay, when hopefully, we can enjoy our night-cap!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Dingy little room with tiny TV, no air conditioning, no view, small bed (Though it was comfy). Towels were downright dirty - loo seat broken.

Breakfast was actually very good despite being advertised as "organic"

Would be a better place if they got rid of the green, sustainable & organic nonsense and charged £20 a night less

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank test400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed for a Saturday night here, for a short getaway with the girlfriend. On arrival, got shown around the hotel and to our room. The hotel was clean and tidy and the honesty bar was well stocked with drink. The prices were not cheap, however not overly expensive, apart from a packet of crisps which were £2.50! The restuarant at the hotel is only open for evening meals, Monday to Thursday, however a couple of minutes walk away there was a nice Thai restaurant. Although the restaurant was fully booked, we were able to eat the pub side. The bed was comfortable and got a good night sleep, until being woken early by the sunlight shining through the light curtains. The cooked breakfast was OK, could have done with a little more on the plate, however there was also the choice of cereals, yoghurts and fruit juices. Paid £60 for the room, which overall was good value. Next day went to Hampton Court, wcih was within a 30 minute drive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stueddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Due to join a reunion of my husbands old workmates we failed to get a bed in the Travel Inn nearby.
What a stroke of luck.
We received a very warm welcome and were shown to our room on a very cold day.Minutes later we brought to the attention of the owner a bathroom radiator which was not heating up.She immediately transferred us to an alternative room.The room (2) was lovely overlooking the garden.It was extremely warm and comfortable with everything you could need.The bed was comfortable plently of hot water and the room clean.
Although we did not use it I thought the honesty bar to be agood idea and the diningroom was lovely.The breakfast was probably the best I have had in a long while.Lots of lovely fresh fruit and yoghurt with a tempting menu for the main breakfast choices .It was cooked and served to perfection. The whole stay was very comfortrable and very good value .The staff were helpful and polite .We certainly would book there first next time.

Room Tip: May be worth upgrading for extra room.Those overlooking the garden are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed here on the night of 22 January. Paid an extra £10 for a deluxe room and it was still only £65 bed and breakfast. Lovely room, high quality fixtures and fittings, eco friendly, excellent breakfast with organic ingredients and also very nice organic products in the bathroom.
Would DEFINITELY stay again. :D

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottsinthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

This was my second visit, this time in a single room which was compact but for one night more than adequate. Highlight this stay was meal in dining room which was delicious. Hoping to stay again next month if all goes as planned.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UStraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worplesdon
3.1 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
3.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#2 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
3.3 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
3.3 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asperion Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asperion Hillside Hotel

Property: Asperion Hillside Hotel
Address: Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RF, England (Formerly Hillside Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Worplesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Asperion Hillside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asperion Hillside is an independently-owned and operated four-star, multi-award winning guest house that is part of the Asperion brand. The Asperion has built a reputation on providing organic and fair trade produce and is passionate about global environmental issues. Our ethos is to be a "socially responsible, more than for profit, hospitality business." At the Asperion Hillside, our aim is to provide a friendly "home-away-from-home" atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Asperion Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Guildford
Asperion Hillside Hotel Worplesdon, Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing