We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel at a great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hotel at a great price.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I've recently spent a lot of time in the area staying at many hotels and for the room rate nowhere exceeds it. I stayed in room 5 which was a decent size with good facilities and a very comfortable bed. The hotel is well looked after with a stunning garden area which is in full view from the restaurant. The food is another good reason for staying, is as equally excellent as the hotel and makes a nice change from the usual types of food served at hotels and pubs. I would like to say thanks to all of the staff who made it a pleasant and relaxing stay, nothing was too much trouble and they were very helpful even when I deviated from the menu. My only criticism was that with it being an old building you can hear the wooden floor creaking at night as people walk by which sometimes get's in the way of getting to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on this website.

We are delighted that you found the Asperion Hillside to be competitive in price and good value for money; and that you found your room to be of a good size and the bed very comfortable.

We take great pride in offering a healthy and well balanced menu with something for everyone and are always willing to accommodate guests who have special requests and dietary requirements.

It pleases us greatly that you enjoyed our beautiful garden and found the Asperion Hillside to be a relaxing and peaceful environment for your stay.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Asperion Hillside should you ever have the occasion to stay with us again!

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    101
    41
    13
    1
See reviews for
56
134
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
bruxelles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Considering the obvious efforts to make the place nice, I would have liked to say something good about the hotel.

However, our room (n°10):
Was rather small;
Overlooked a busy road with a lot of noise until late evening;
Had tainted glass windows, not allowing to see anything outside when closed;
Had a dirty carpet (stained);
Was strongly smelling of something like a desinfectant;

For all this nearly 100 pounds B&B. Maybe other rooms, overlooking the garden (which is nice) are worth the price, but not that one.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the road and in any case room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candide-de-bruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

We are of course disappointed that you feel let down by the room you were booked in to. We are sorry that you felt your room was on the small side; you will appreciate that this is a restored old building, and hence the size of some of our rooms may be found restrictive. They have however been designed to make the most efficient use of the space available.

Regretfully we are not always able accommodate guests in rear-facing rooms due to our high occupancy rate over the University commencement period. The front facing rooms have windows that are frosted in order to preserve the privacy of the guests; regretfully this does restrict the view.

We are still in the process of upgrading some of our rooms and hope to complete this in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton & Hove
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A small b&b rather than a hotel, we had a very small room with a small dated bathroom, but the cleanliness, view of the garden and quietness were excellent. A particular highlight was the 'honesty' bar, a well-stocked residents' lounge. Dinner and breakfast were average but fine, and the two staff we saw during our stay worked tirelessly to make everyone's stay successful.
We were a bit put off by the guest book in the room which had a price list for fines if you broke something, and a rule that no food or drink was to be brought onto the premises or there would be a charge. The mini Green & Blacks chocolate bars did help with this though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pentatonictherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com

We are delighted that you found the Asperion Hillside to be clean, quiet and took pleasure in the views of the garden. The honesty bar and lounge area provide a comfortable home from home feeling for our guests. We take great pride in being able to provide our guests with the best possible experience throughout their stay.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of your room; you will appreciate that this is a restored old building, and hence the size of some of our rooms may be found restrictive. Our double rooms all have double beds due to their size. However, they have been designed to make the most efficient use of the space available.

We will be upgrading the bathrooms in our double rooms in the near future and hope that should you stay with us again we will be able to meet your expectations on that occasion.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I thought from the size it would be a glorified b&b. Totally wrong! When we arrived, we were given a tour and shown to our room.
The room was spotless and very well decorated, nice neutral colours with a view of the garden.
Breakfast was well cooked and the staff (especially the South African lady) were extremely nice and willing.
Even after my husband (accidentally) broke one of the table lamps they were absolutely fine with it and said not to worry.
Overall, same price as a travel lodge, but better views, better staff and a decent organic breakfast.
Couldn't of asked for more. Thank you!
Oh and sorry again about the lamp! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Asperion Hillside. All of our rooms are individually decorated and we take great pride in making the guests stay as pleasurable as possible.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our freshly cooked to order organic breakfast and found the staff to be pleasant and willing.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Asperion Hillside on another occasion.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Loved everything about this hotel. Rooms were beautiful. Fabulous bathrooms. Breakfast was excellent.
Lovely garden. Pubs within walking distance. Free wi Fi and fabulous staff. Needed this location for a wedding.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on this website.

We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Asperion Hillside to be all you wanted.

Many thanks for your kind words with regards to our staff, we take great pride in providing quality service with a home from home feel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hillside in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for one night for our daughter's graduation. Our room was on the small side but nicely decorated with good bed and bedding. The bathroom was very dated and the shower had no power. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. Nice garden at the back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 843CJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased that you found the room to be nicely decorated and comfortable. It also please us that you found the staff to be friendly and the breakfast good; and are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful garden.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Asperion Hillside on another occasion.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We only stayed for four days, but in that short time found the hotel very peaceful ,relaxing, and restful. There were one or two things needed improvement,in the room , i.e.the shower was awkward to manage, with nowhere to put the soap etc. and the light was poor. The garden was peaceful and secluded, just the place to relax. Being from North Yorkshire, we were rather shocked at the impatience of some motorists in the south, and found that they cannot hold a candle to the behaviour of motorists in this area. We will be happy to stay at the Asperion Hillside again when next visiting our son.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your thoughts on your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor, it is greatly appreciated.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Asperion Hillside and found it peaceful, relaxing and restful.

We will definitely look into options for somewhere to put toiletries as well as alternatives to the lighting in the room in which you stayed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Asperion Hillside when you next come down to visit your son.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worplesdon
3.1 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#2 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Worplesdon Place
Worplesdon Place
#2 of 2 in Worplesdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.2 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
3.3 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asperion Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asperion Hillside Hotel

Property: Asperion Hillside Hotel
Address: Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RF, England (Formerly Hillside Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Worplesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Asperion Hillside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asperion Hillside is a 4* deluxe boutique hotel situated in the village of Worplesdon, just 10 minutes from the centre of Guildford and 15 minutes to Woking. The Hotel offers guests a luxury home away from home with personal service making you feel like a regular from your first visit. Having recently been fully refurbished guests can relax in our intimate bar and lounge area enjoying premium drinks from our Honesty Bar or freshly prepared meals from our Restaurant; whilst enjoying complimentary internet access throughout and car parking. In addition guest can enjoy our extensive gardens with koi pond and summer seating area, making Asperion Hillside the perfect venue for exclusive functions for up to 60 guests. The Asperion Hillside is perfectly located offering convenient access to both Guildford, Woking, Heathrow and Gatwick Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Asperion Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Guildford
Asperion Hillside Hotel Worplesdon, Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing