We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel made great ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good hotel made great ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

by the staff. Throughout the hotel the efficiency, friendliness and helpfulness of all those who work there stands out from the norm.
The breakfast was the best we have had in many years of staying at Novotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DakoLobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, Front Office Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and especially the breakfast. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards, Ryan Topper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    374
    199
    63
    52
See reviews for
261
233
74
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with frendly helpfull staff.
Stopped one night on business in room 444. The room itself was very large and had a good sized double bed, with tea and coffee making facilities and a big TV with a selection of satellite and radio channels, plus a range of payperview channels.

The room was clean and tidy, however some of the fittings were broken.

Only big downside was the pricing of the meals in the resturant, very good portions, but very expensive.

Breakfast was very good with a choice of hot and cold items.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, Front Office Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and I hope we can welcome you back. Kind Regards, Ryan Topper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend, and were very happy with it. The room was large and very clean, a little dated in places but it did not detract and everything worked perfectly.

The staff were all very good, friendly and efficient. We had breakfast there both days and ate in the restaurant on one occasion. We have stayed in a few Novotels lately and they all have the same menu, but the food in this one was certainly a cut above the others. A special mention must go to the waitress in the restaurant on Saturday night, she was very very good!

We chose this hotel because of the location, and the ease of access to both Nottingham & Derby. If you are wanting to travel to either of these places and sample some of the great ale houses both have to offer, you can get a bus direct to Nottingham from "Briar Gate", a street 5 minutes walk from the hotel. This runs every 20 minutes direct to Nottingham, or you can change in Long Eaton for a bus to Derby. A group ticket for all Trent Barton buses is £9 for up to 5 people.

All in all, we were impressed and will be back soon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbpian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, Front Office Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Ryan Topper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Ok, so you're stuck with a building that was built in 1974, (and lets face it, you're only sleeping and having breakfast), but the staff more than make up for it. Smiling and helpful, (Melissa on reception), they were great with the kids. The beds were very comfortable, (i should have asked for another pillow though), and the breakfast had plenty of choice from cereals, cold buffet and full English. The bar was well set out, friendly barman, wide screen TV and Kronenbourg at £3.40 a pint, bargain. A heated outdoor pool and children's play area would make this an ideal place to stay in summer if you were taking in an event at Donington Park. We got a great 2 night deal and couldn't fault this hotel for the price we paid.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here in November 2013 for a family gathering, in our opinion we could not have chosen a better place, the room was clean, tidy and well presented. Check in went like a dream and the girl on the desk was extremely helpful.
Breakfast was great, plenty of choice, good hot food and worth staying here just for the breakfast, the whole hotel had a relaxed atmosphere and we will definitely be back.
We had rooms 327-329 and these were very quite and away from the main hotel traffic.
The only bad bit was in our room 327 the right hand side of the bed was only 10" away from the wall, this made getting out of bed difficult, mind you as the bed was comfortable I would have happily stayed there all day. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms 327-329
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaKe2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This is an old hotel and you can see it when you enter the rooms. Floors and walls are all Artex which give the rooms a 'cave like' look. A family room only has 2 cups so you have to ask for more. They give you the minimum milk, tea and toilet rolls. This could be a great hotel if they just stopped being so tight on the extras

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pipcarobeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me on 0115 9465111 to discuss this further. Kind regards, Ian Dick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Eaton
0.1 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Risley Hall Hotel
Risley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Risley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
6.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby

Property: Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
Address: Bostock Lane | M1 Junction 25, Long Eaton NG10 4EP, England (Formerly Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Long Eaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Nottingham East Midlands is currently a AA 3 star rated hotel 8 miles from Nottingham, Derby and East Midlands Airport. Ideal for a weekend or short break exploring the Peak District, Derbyshire Dales, Alton Towers, Sherwood Forest, Donington Park and the Royal Crown Derby porcelain factory. For conference guests, we offer 11 meeting rooms for up to 220 people. Enjoy room service or a meal in our Elements restaurant. The hotel also features free onsite parking for hotel residents. Please note the outdoor swimming pool is currently closed. The hotel will be having a multi million pound refurbishment of all bedrooms/bathrooms & corridors to commence from May 2015. Once complete the final product will be of a modern 4 star standard hotel and include free high speed wifi and individually controlled air conditioning plus eco power showers in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Nottingham
Nottingham Novotel
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby Long Eaton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing