We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of serious update. Very poor quality and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A group of colleagues stayed here ahead of a business meeting. Booked based on photos on website the reality was very different. Very dated. Wood chip paper on walls. Very old beds and once white bedding. Carpets badly stained. Food very average.
However service was well organised and very friendly. Meeting room was not great with badly stained carpets.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLB288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear SLB228,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have noted your constructive criticism pertaining to your stay and your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I am glad to report that we have just had the carpets in our meeting rooms commercially shampooed.

It is great to read that you found our hospitality levels of a high standard and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a bed and breakfast basis; breakfast was a mixture of continental English. There was great choice – frit juices, tea/coffee, pastries, fruit, cereals, cooked meats, cheese, bread rolls etc; cooked ie hash browns, tomatoes, beans, bacon, sausage etc. It is ideal for us as its just a few minutes from the motorway to get back home. On the first morning my hubby was doing a sport event and needed to leave the hotel before breakfast. However the receptionist offered us a breakfast packet to take away which consisted of a couple of yogurt drinks, fruit and pastries. Dinners: good choices. I am quite fussy and don’t each much meat and fish but there was a number of meals I could still have.

Staff were friendly, polite, and just couldn’t do enough for you.

Rooms were clean and room service daily.

The room had tea and coffee making facilities, TV, Hairdryer, iron and ironing board as well as shampoo/conditioner and soap in bathroom.

There is a barrier in/out of the car park for which you need a code to get out; however the code is written on paper on the reception desk which you can take away with you. the hotel was ideally situated for us - just a few minutes from the motorway.

If I had to say anything negatively about the hotel then it is only that I found the room very warm, even with the windows wide open. However, this was our second stay to the hotel and wouldn’t hesitate to stay again. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: we had room 250 which was quiet although hot
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolphin028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Dolphin 028,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post such a beautiful review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and felt it appropriate to award us 5 stars. It is also great to read that you would recommend our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Helpful & friendly staff. Room had stained carpet and room needed redecor
ting. Bed was old and uncomfortable. Breakfast was really good but dinner not so good. Food dry and tasteless. If we hadn’t been jetlagged from 24 hour flights am sure we wouldnt have been comfortable.




  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, Front Office Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to see that on this occasion, your expectations were not met, please accept my apologies. I do hope we can welome you back to the hotel in the near future to experience a hastle free stay. Kind regards, Ryan Topper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for one night at this hotel for a wedding and the only reason we chose it was for its location - which proved to be ideal. We didn't go in with high expectations - but actually this was a very nice stay. The check-in staff were very helpful, there was ample parking. The room was large and clean - if a little dated - and the breakfast was very good. For what it cost - this was definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit-abroad-in-Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, Front Office Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. I'm pleased to see you had an enjoyable experience, and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Ryan Topper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Me and my Girlfriend came here for a 2 day trip with National Holidays and I wasn't sure at first what to expect as this was the first time I had stayed at a Hotel without family and I was amazed by the friendly staff and the facilities available. I would love to visit this Hotel again and would give this a 5/5 rating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, Front Office Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. I'm pleased to see you had an enjoyable experience, and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Ryan Topper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
Thank linny67m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelNottingham, Front Office Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night on a business trip
The check in was quick.
My room (352) was large but a bit tired looking. The breakfast selection was very good but my complaint was that the hot food was not warm enough .
It was a pity that they have closed the pool
This hotel is ok for a one stay but not for any longer

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeMrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, Front Office Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see that, overall, you enjoyed your stay. I have passed the details of your concerns regarding the breakfast to our Food and Beverage Manager. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Ryan Topper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Eaton
0.1 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,700 reviews
6.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
4.5 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#7 of 48 in Nottingham
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby

Address: Bostock Lane | M1 Junction 25, Long Eaton NG10 4EP, England (Formerly Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Long Eaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Price Range: £43 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Nottingham East Midlands is currently a AA 3 star rated hotel 8 miles from Nottingham, Derby and East Midlands Airport. Ideal for a weekend or short break exploring the Peak District, Derbyshire Dales, Alton Towers, Sherwood Forest, Donington Park and the Royal Crown Derby porcelain factory. For conference guests, we offer 11 meeting rooms for up to 220 people. Enjoy room service or a meal in our Elements restaurant. The hotel also features free onsite parking for hotel residents. Please note the outdoor swimming pool is currently closed. The hotel will be having a multi million pound refurbishment of all bedrooms/bathrooms & corridors to commence from May 2015. Once complete the final product will be of a modern 4 star standard hotel and include free high speed wifi and individually controlled air conditioning plus eco power showers in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Nottingham
Nottingham Novotel
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby Long Eaton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing